Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Town 2025

21 Posts
    Happy enough with George signing back. Not his fault he never got a proper chance last season.
    Definitely need another keeper, I wasn't a bit sold on Halwax 2nd half of last season, always a fear of a clanger happening.

Wixted has signed for Athlone I see, not a huge loss imo but others might disagree

851 Posts
    Wixted looked a revelation when he first arrived, very hot and cold after that. Dean George got a bad injury last year as opposed to constant niggles so he's worth another go. Kyle O'Connor just announced by Athlone, he never hit the heights of 2023 last season but will need replacing all the same.

At the moment we've no out and out striker signed up (wonder what story with Adeyemo is?) and we've got the bones of a defence. Going to have to be a flurry of activity soon or we are in trouble me thinks

21 Posts
    O'Connor still a loss, even if his 24 wasn't as good as his 23.
    Adeyamo has no club name attached to his name on FAI Connect. And I've been watching it closely last few weeks. O'Connor, Wixy and Hery were all unnattached last few weeks and they've officially changed clubs now. So I'm assuming the worst that Adeyamo is also leaving. Serdeniuk is also unnattached on the app too. Everyone else is still under LTFC, but I assume not all will be staying on.

851 Posts
    I'm probably the guiltiest of all for building Victor up into being this superstar for us, truth is he was a grand player but that's it. Lower rung of First Division is his level (I appreciate that's where we are).

The bigger concern is who are we going to replace these lads with.

21 Posts
    Well there's one I wasn't expecting. Adeyamo is off to Iceland it seems according to transfermarkt https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jord...spieler/595665

And an article https://fotbolti.net/news/02-01-2025...-aegi-stadfest

Can't say that was on my bingo card

552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MoydowMonty View Post
    Well there's one I wasn't expecting. Adeyamo is off to Iceland it seems according to transfermarkt https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jord...spieler/595665

And an article https://fotbolti.net/news/02-01-2025...-aegi-stadfest

Can't say that was on my bingo card
    Thats a huge blow to us that JA is gone. It was thanks to him that we got off bottom spot.

851 Posts
    I can't understand the ridiculous stick he got from town fans last season, was at a game in Bray last year where he was getting absolutely hammered every single touch he took. He was the only player we had in last two seasons who knew where the net was. He missed plenty of big chances to but the concern now is how you replace a proven goal scorer on a seemingly shoestring budget.

As I said in previous posts we've got a Skelton back four, one keeper and no striker. I'm worried

21 Posts
    He got stick because he could be fierce lazy at times. Many a time I'd get annoyed that he wouldn't chase a ball down. And he'd get caught at least 3 or 4 times for offside a game (often very avoidable).

But he did score 10 goals for a bottom table side so I couldn't complain much once ue was doing that. Another huge loss. I can't see George putting up those numbers, he has never done that for any previous side he has played for. Manny James I hope will stay on, but I wouldn't expect those numbers out of him yet either. So it's not clear yet where the goals will come from

851 Posts
    He was an awful man for being caught offside alright. Think he was offside 5 times one night in space of a few minutes and I didn't hear one player hammer him, can only imagine if there was someone like Stephen rice in midfield what his reaction would be

21 Posts
    I see Emre Topcu is listed under the Town on FAI Connect after leaving Drogs. I'm 95% certain his name was unattached when the season was over, so I hope I'm right that he's coming back. Thought he did quite well in that loan spell.

Only 6 players signed now with LSC starting in 10 days. We could be seeing a few trialists out for those games

21 Posts
    Emmanuel James and Fran Campbell re-signed. Happy with those (particularly Manny for the local angle) but would be good to start seeing some new faces in. We don't necessarily want the squad from last season that was scraping 2nd last

21 Posts
    And Shane Elworthy is now unattached on FAI Connect. That one would really sting if it's accurate

552 Posts
    And Shane Elworthy is now unattached on FAI Connect. That one would really sting if it's accurate
    Thats a huge blow!
    At long last we have made our first new signing.
    https://ltfc.ie/2025/01/manny-milongo-signs-for-2025/

Also on the Kerry FC forum here it was mentioned that Kerrys Andy Spain has signed for us. Whether its true is another story...

21 Posts
    Also on the Kerry FC forum here it was mentioned that Kerrys Andy Spain has signed for us. Whether its true is another story...
    I remember the name when he played for Athlone alright, but I've no real opinion of him. Would take him though, need to get more new faces in now.

Also mid January and still no jersey, I don't know what's going on there. Whether it's Macron ****ing about or not.

552 Posts
    I remember the name when he played for Athlone alright, but I've no real opinion of him. Would take him though, need to get more new faces in now.

Also mid January and still no jersey, I don't know what's going on there. Whether it's Macron ****ing about or not.
    Yeah and no word on a sponsor either. The silence from our club is rather deafening to say the least. You are afraid to make a comment publically these days withone someone hanging you.

851 Posts
    Know nothing of the new lad we signed from Drogheda yesterday but after speaking to a few people who know him they describe him as a big physical centre half. Should Spain sign as well then we certainly have plenty of options there. With O'Connor gone id imagine O'Shea will move to LB.

21 Posts
    Yeah and no word on a sponsor either. The silence from our club is rather deafening to say the least. You are afraid to make a comment publically these days withone someone hanging you.
    What's that craic with sponsorship? I didn't think there was any issue there. When the fixtures came out, it said Bishopsgate as our ground, so I didn't have any reason to think there was an issue with sponsorship.

They don't usually say before each season who the main sponsor is either. But maybe there's something going on I don't know about

552 Posts
    What's that craic with sponsorship? I didn't think there was any issue there. When the fixtures came out, it said Bishopsgate as our ground, so I didn't have any reason to think there was an issue with sponsorship.

They don't usually say before each season who the main sponsor is either. But maybe there's something going on I don't know about
    I am on about a sponsor on the front of the jersey like in previous years!

21 Posts
    But is there anything to say it won't be Bishopsgate? Like are they not still the main sponsor? I know it wasn't on last seasons jersey but I assumed that was just a one off because of the centenary occasion.

Speaking of kits, I do wonder is it Macron messing the club about with the 2025 kit. They had shamrock rovers kit out very lively and prompt. Maybe they're fobbing Longford off cuz we're not rovers size. At least that's what I want to believe, I'm giving the club the benefit of the doubt here. Doesn't make sense to wait this near to season to have it on sale, and well after Christmas

Elworthy lining out for Malahide United. End of an era. What a servant, owes absolutely nothing to the club. He'll be missed. I hope the club remember to thank him in a post. They've a recent history of not mentioning players leaving after being there years
    Last edited by MoydowMonty; 17/01/2025 at 11:08 PM.

552 Posts
    But is there anything to say it won't be Bishopsgate? Like are they not still the main sponsor? I know it wasn't on last seasons jersey but I assumed that was just a one off because of the centenary occasion.

Speaking of kits, I do wonder is it Macron messing the club about with the 2025 kit. They had shamrock rovers kit out very lively and prompt. Maybe they're fobbing Longford off cuz we're not rovers size. At least that's what I want to believe, I'm giving the club the benefit of the doubt here. Doesn't make sense to wait this near to season to have it on sale, and well after Christmas

Elworthy lining out for Malahide United. End of an era. What a servant, owes absolutely nothing to the club. He'll be missed. I hope the club remember to thank him in a post. They've a recent history of not mentioning players leaving after being there years
    Never considered that with the centenary kit honestly didnt know about that. I heard elsewhere that a new jersey is being issued but have no idea for the delay?
    Yeah sorry to see Elworthy leave us. Have to agree with you on not mentioning players leaving.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast