raf did i couldnt say much about faz also mc cann was absolute ****e he got destroyed every time by o donovanOriginally Posted by The Stars
fair play to cork and hope thay go on to win the league and cup..also good luck in europe
well done Cork,ye were the better team but we showed we could mix it with ye but once Kaps got sent off we didnt have much of a chance.
Now did Faz or Raf live up to there billing?
BTW hope cork go on to win it now.
raf did i couldnt say much about faz also mc cann was absolute ****e he got destroyed every time by o donovanOriginally Posted by The Stars
fair play to cork and hope thay go on to win the league and cup..also good luck in europe
fair play lads, ye really showed ye can play football and i look forward to seeing ye in the premier division next season, from what i saw last night ye're really going to add to it.
the sending off was the turning point it has to be said, as we camped in your box for most of the second half. roy o'donovan had a magic game and really deserved his man of the match award.
best of luck with the first division lads!
Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?
I thought Sligo are one of the better teams whom Came to the cross this season.Good game of football to watch .Good luck with promotion ye deserve to come up.
i thought faz did ok he tired badly in the second half , o hara was sensational cretaro was great , there was a gulf in class but i felt we made a good account of ourselves and could have snatched a draw were it not for the red card which i heard from people who saw it on tv was a harsh one didnt really get a good view from where i was
I had a good view of the red card incident and I can't see how the ref could have decided anything else. The last man back professional foul is a black and white decision.
As for the penalty decision, no way should it have been awarded! Ian Stokes did his credibility no favours at all by awarding it.
The third incident that stood out for me was the off-the-ball head butt that may have broken John O'Flynn's nose. I could not understand why a player would do that, as there was no dirty play either before or after that.
Those talking points aside, what a game of two halves. I thought that Sligo were a class act, with open exciting attacking play. I am looking forward to seeing this next season in the premier division. It will make up for the yawns brought on by Longford. Their right back (no. 2, white hair) is a tough little guy, a bit like our own Cockney Rebel. In the first half, the Sligo midfield made us look rubbish. I can only imagine Rico's half time talk. "The surfeit of competitive fixtures necessitates avoidance of a replay to secure a place in the penultimate stage of the competition."
O'Flynn ran at the Sligo defence and put them under a lot of pressure when they were in possession, which is not his trademark.
Fenn looked out of place with his finesse, in a game which might have been more suited to Colin's or Greg's robustness.
Georgie's play in midfield (dodgy) and his excellence around the penalty area suggest that a move forward mught be in the team's best interests as the expense of Fenn.
Kearney and O'Donovan were like surgeon's slicing through Sligo's defence. The overhead ball into the corner made use of O'Donovan's superior pace.
Dan Murray was back to his old tricks, passing a few to the opposition. His goal and cross bar shot redeemed him.
I could go on.
Thought the Sligo keeper made a few saves that he will never make again in his life. Almost cost us a replay!!
What a great game for the neutrals. And on TV too!!!!!![]()
Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.
O Hara makes saves like that regularly!
yeah our number 2 (Rafael Cretaro) is probably our best all round player , we just hope no one else takes him!
Have to say i was looking forward to reading Ricos programme notes and i wasnt dissappointed!
He came over all Swiss Toni on it
"The FAI Cup is a lot like a beautiful woman"![]()
Nice to run into some of ye in the Horseshoe beforehand lads. Very impressed with the way Sligo played, ye'll add a lot to the Premier Division when ye come up, and I'd expect ye to comfortably manage midtable playing like that, if not better. Very impressed with the no. 2, tough little fella and quality to boot. I was going mental with the fools who were chanting "easy" though, cos it sure as **** wasn't!
Conor O'Grady was superb, would love to have him back.
The red card was blatent, Stokes could not have done anything else but send Low off.
The penalty we got was dodgy enough, but Stokes failed to give 2 blatent penalties near the end
1. The small right full with the dyed hair jumped straight onto George, a clear foul
2. The clear handball on the ground.
Sligo are a good side, will hae no difficulty staying up next season.
Great crowd of fans, one of the best away supports all season.
City played well, didn't really deserve to go behind at all but recovered well.
No real qualms a bout the sending off or the penalty. Roy was denied a clear goalscoring opportunity by the last man and if a defender leaves a leg out there inside the box well someones gonna fall over it. In the passage of play that led to both our centre halves hitting the cross bar George received a forearm smash to the face which should have been a spot kick anyway.
Roy had the best game i've seen in a City shirt, every time he ran at the Sligo defence they couldn't handle it. Joe had a good battle with that Bosnian lad but was well superior. Kearney had a good first half and ran rings around that little right back but he was a tough bit of stuff and had a better 2nd half with Kearney quieter. George drifted in and out of a game that required more from him. Danny Murphy looked very shaky from the start but settled as the did the whole back four. No real problems that weren't our own doing.
Overall a professional performance, job done.
Last edited by razor; 24/09/2005 at 5:55 PM.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
Agree 100% Razor. Although exiled and watching it on the telly Roy looked outstanding last night. Last night he showed exactly the same sort of form that Doyler started to show at this stage last season. I reckon we could see a lot of him up front in the weeks to comeOriginally Posted by razor
Mick D. for Ireland!
Have to say i disagree! he played well but Raf or Conor deserved it more..they were absolute class!Originally Posted by Ruairi
i dont think you can really say ye werent given the majority of the decisions,most 50-50s were given to the home side,Stokes is a terrible ref anyway. also O'Dononvan (i think it was him) felt Lows hand on his back and knew that if he went down the ref would have to send him off,penalty was dodgy too! Cork deserved the win thoughOriginally Posted by patsh
Maybe Stokes thought he knew what he was doing. We have wasted so many penalties this season, awarding City a spotter is almost the same as giving the opposition a kick out!!!Originally Posted by Rovers1
Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.
lads, its a long old round trip to cork(especially on a cie bus) from sligo but it was worth every minute despite the result, i was extremely impressed with all things about your city and your club,the last time we played an inform prem team in f.a.i. cup was when we bet shells bout 3 years ago but nothing about that club or city is a patch on what ye have to offer for fans in terms of football,atmosphere and good craic after the match, i know big crowds are a product of success so long may your club do ye proud. I look forward to two trips there next seasonand i hope you go onto win the league and do the business versus prague
I presume you're takin the mick, that Raf fella had to be unwound at half time Kearney turned him inside out in the first half, he head butted John O'Flynn and gave away the penalty. I was a tad disapointed after the build up on here.Originally Posted by feo123
Conor wasn't bad at breakin up play but gave away a lot of ball, maybe he still thought he was playing for City.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
What are you talking about?Kearney didnt turn Raf inside out.He did make a dope of Rossiter,but that isnt hard.Penalty was harsh,Cork were fond of falling over rather easily.Raf IS the best right back in the country and his preformance on Friday showed everyone why that is.O'Grady was class and only started hitting stray balls when we had 1 up forward and trying to pick McT out when there are 4 defenders around him isn't easy.
I can understand your disappointment, but don't delude yourself.Originally Posted by Rovers1
Low, the last defender, deliberately fouled O'Donovan who was clear through on goal. That is a red card offence, full stop.
We were turned down for two other clear penalties, both of which Stokes clearly saw, and which you would not have seen because you were at the other end of the ground.
On another occasion, Kearney was clearly elbowed into the face by the right back, but as it was soon enough after the first sending off, so he got away with it.
O'Donovan was fouled 5 or 6 times by the same defender, persistent fouling which would have seen him sent off by a stronger referee.
Sligo played well, and are a good side, but were well beaten on Friday night by a far, far superior side.
I'll look forward to visiting the Showgrounds next season, but I have to say that some Sligo fans are getting slightly carried away with themselves, and rather biased in their view of a handy player being the "best right back in the country"...![]()
Last edited by patsh; 25/09/2005 at 11:39 AM.
Jaysus,another cheap crack at the most successful part-timers in the league,what a waste of spaceOriginally Posted by Fair_play_boy
Hard luck Sligo,but you can console yourselves after being beaten by "the best team in the land"
C'mon Doire.
Well thats one way of putting it!Originally Posted by razor
I dont think that Sligo can have any complaints about the decisions or the result. Although they took the lead I felt it was against the run of play, was it their only shot on target? It was very poor defence from our point of view.
I think that a lot of players went missing for us too. George had probably his worst game of the season and Fenn wasnt up to musc. Tactically I think Roy should have been given more oppertunity to get in to the game in the first half, we all saw what he did in the second! I think that there was an over emphasis on possision too, maybe ging slightly more direct would be an idea against weaker opposition.
All in all though I was very impressed with Sligo and thier attitude to the game, they never gave up and played it on the deck. Im sure they will have no problems staying up next year, they are better than the likes of Waterford, Harps and maybe Pats, Bray or UCD.
As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.