Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Limerick - Cobh Ramblers, Ironic chants & all

Quote Originally Posted by backodanet
    well "fans" calling him a Pr**k and cheering when he is taken off isn't going to make him try harder - the blame has to lie with the mananger and assistant they watch the matches like all the fans and aren't making the changes which seem blatantly obvious to everyone

a good coach doesn't mean a good manager ask brian kidd for example
    Well fans giving him encouragement doesn’t seem to wash with him either.

I certainly didn’t call him a “pr**k”. And had I heard what he mouthed back at a group of us I may have had a right to.

“a good coach doesn't mean a good manager”

don’t we know it all too painfully….
    you gowl!

Agree with what "the Stars" said. The Players are paid a wage (paid by us btw) to perform .Simple as that.

LFC in Exile - Dont Patronise all the Posters. I am no Football expert but feel that I had some idea of what makes a good and bad player. Just because someone is from Cork city doesnt make him a good player. He has to earn that right and he has not. Maybe if we had some more gut busting and less shrugging of the shoulders the same player and a few others would earn our respect.

Gael - League Tables say it all. Nuff Said

SLK -- As regards the Sorry Poster. I have not laughed as much in ages..Get a Grip

Currently we have no width, shape, tactics or heart. End of Story.
    JohnD
    Last edited by JohnD; 26/09/2005 at 3:41 PM.
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    LFC in Exile - Dont Patronise all the Posters. I am no Football expert but feel that I had some idea of what makes a good and bad player. Just because someone is from Cork city doesnt make him a good player. He has to earn that right and he has not. Maybe if we had some more gut busting and less shrugging of the shoulders the same player and a few others would earn our respect.
    And being from Cork doesn't make a bad player either. It seems the case that only Cork players get abuse - e.g. O'Brien, Nolan, Wolfe.

The argument raises the interesting situation where Robbie does not get criticised for doing things that are hurting the team because he is 'busting a gut' (and from Limerick?). I am not saying Robbie is not a great player for us - he is worth his place and is a real talent - but by dropping deep he is crowding teh space for midfielders and provides no 'out' for midfielders. He is then forced to take on players when pushing up against the defending back four is the clever thing to do (something Nolan is doing). This is something the manager should be telling him and why a manager exists in the first place. We are not getting as much from Robbie as we should be - at times Nolan is up on his own - and I bet that is very frustrating.

With regard to shrugging the shoulders and saying things at fans - Nolan has been getting grief since he first arrived. He has never been given a chance (I think because he replaced another Limerick player in McCarthy) so I think frustration at his own fans and annoyance at criticism when he is doing the right things makes it amazing he hasn't said more or shrugged more.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I think the whole Jamie Nolan issue came from the frustration that NOC didn't make the substitution earlier when it was so blindingly obvious that Nolan was not making any impact at all. The ironic cheer that was heard was, I believe, reserved for NOC but descended into the Cheerio chant for Nolan. Not very tastefull?, no, not the right thing to have done?, no.
    However a POOR ramblers side with their wayward passing throughout the game managed to make LimerickFC look like a herd of inbred sheep. It was simply an absolute rubbish match with NO POSITIVES WHATSOEVER to take from it at all. Noel O Connor is void of ANY influence over his team on the pitch when they desperately need influence the most. 2-0 down and O'Connor stands idly on the sideline with his hands in his pockets and an expression on his face only too familiar with nurses on the intensive care unit in the regional hospital.
    O'Connor needs to go, he's a bloody butcher and thats that.
    As for the team? We have 4 players worth holding on to for the first team, Finny, Kelleher, Barrett and Buckley. How Finny has stayed at the club as long as he has is a credit to his commitment, he would walk onto many a team in the eircom league with ease. If we were to have gone up this season we would have been beaten week in and week out by better teams than Cobh and by bigger margins that last friday night.

I agree that NOC is impotent when it comes to tactics and decision making. He is just not a manager. Good decision making, involving shrewd tactics, is what makes a good manager. NOC cannot make the important decisions. He doesn't see what is blatently obvious to others. Simple as that. We will be in the same situation this time next year because that's the difference between getting promoted/winning things or being also rans. NOC's teams will always be also rans because he just doesn't have the tactical knowledge to consistantly deliver performances and results. He may be a great coach, but he is not a manager. That's my opinion anyway.

Regarding Jamie Nolan, you never know, what happened Friday night could be the making of him. He now knows he has critics to answer, so it will be interesting to see how he reacts with his performances.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    BTW 4tothefloor,Its time to change your quote.No one cares how many European titles ENGLISH teams won and Limerick arent coming to a Premier ground soon.
    So you're another one of those EL fans who has a chip on his shoulder - sad man. How about you mind your own business? I post in the Worldwide Football Forum as well, so there's plenty of members on foot who are interested in ENGLISH teams, you hardcore Irish football fan you.....

Quote Originally Posted by treatyfc
    We have 4 players worth holding on to for the first team, Finny, Kelleher, Barrett and Buckley.
    I don't agree. We have more than the four you mentioned. Mooney, O'Mahoney, McGrath, Keating and Nolan are all very comfortable at this level. I think Wolfe is a good player but there are better in his position. Young also if given a good opportunity would be good enough.

I think the quality is there in the side. IMO the quality is not being used to its best potential.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Its great to talk about football again on this forum rather than the soap opera.

Looks like we have lost another player. By all accounts Stevie is gone, badly treated this year by the Club In my opinion. Played well in all his games and could not get a sniff at full back once NOC decided that Wolfie was a better player (God Help us Just shows how much he knows about Football).. you would want the patience of Job supporting this Club.
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    And being from Cork doesn't make a bad player either. It seems the case that only Cork players get abuse - e.g. O'Brien, Nolan, Wolfe.

The argument raises the interesting situation where Robbie does not get criticised for doing things that are hurting the team because he is 'busting a gut' (and from Limerick?). I am not saying Robbie is not a great player for us - he is worth his place and is a real talent - but by dropping deep he is crowding teh space for midfielders and provides no 'out' for midfielders. He is then forced to take on players when pushing up against the defending back four is the clever thing to do (something Nolan is doing). This is something the manager should be telling him and why a manager exists in the first place. We are not getting as much from Robbie as we should be - at times Nolan is up on his own - and I bet that is very frustrating.

With regard to shrugging the shoulders and saying things at fans - Nolan has been getting grief since he first arrived. He has never been given a chance (I think because he replaced another Limerick player in McCarthy) so I think frustration at his own fans and annoyance at criticism when he is doing the right things makes it amazing he hasn't said more or shrugged more.

Jaysus are you Jamie himself? Either that or you’re in a relationship with him. You’re always mr nice guy on here aren’t you

Nolan has had plenty of chance. Hes been in the team all season so we’ve had a good look at him. Getting grief? Maybe people are calling it like they see it? I dont see you defending chris kerins and I personally gave him more “grief”.

If Nolan turns around and proves to be a great player I’ll hold my hand up and say I was wrong about him. But it sure aint looking likely.

So pushing right up the field on top of the defenders is regarded as “doing the right things”. How about challenging for balls, getting stuck in, encouraging his team mates, scoring goals, winning free kicks in dangerous positions etc. Whens he gonna do that?

Fans love to see players who get stuck in and show the same passion for the club as they do. That’s why Nolan has annoyed the majority of us.

steve o'mahony gone. well there you go another footballer gone from the team. sure isnt the wild wolf doing great, mistiming challenges, slicing the ball into the air, being caught out of position, never crossing the half way line and best of all completely missing the ball regularly. NOC will have to pull off some major transfer coups in the season break to have me excited about going up there again next year.
    you gowl!

Funnily enough I never remember abusing Stephen O'Flynn or Brendan Sweeny even though (gasp!) they were from Langerland Would also never abuse Wolfie because he "busts a gut" as you so elequently put it. And we all know how Rio turned out

The Jamie Nolan incident was unfortunate but probably the most unfotunate thing about it is that it has allowed the club on this board and in other places to deflect attantion away from the fact that we were pi$$ed on by a (and no one can convince me otherewise on this) very poor Cobh Ramblers team

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    I dont see you defending chris kerins and I personally gave him more “grief”.
    I'm not 'defending' Chris Kerins because I don't think he is any good. I think the treatment handed out to Nolan is unfair because he is a good footballer. Kerins wasn't given a chorus of Cheerios from 'fans' of his own club when substituted.

Lets be brutal about this. Why is Kelliher not being criticised at all on this forum? I can hardly remember a shot on goal recently. He is playing all over the field and while he is 'getting stuck in' it is not adding anything to an attacking threat. He is not in the danger areas when it matters and he is crowding out midfield. Now this may not be Robbie's fault - the manager needs to tell him what job he wants done and if the manager is telling him to drop deep or play a free role then the manager is wrong.

By the way I sing 'Ooh Robbie Kelliher' as loud as anyone - I like him as a player (even he is not being used to full effect). But its time to drop the scales from our eyes and realise that he is not delivering and ask why. Lately he is as effective as Nolan. But it is Limerick = good, Cork = bad.

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    it has allowed the club on this board and in other places to deflect attantion away from the fact that we were pi$$ed on by a (and no one can convince me otherewise on this) very poor Cobh Ramblers team.
    Allowed the club? There has been one post about it from samuel - that's all. Hardly an orchestrated campaign to deflect attention. All of the other posts about it have come from fans - not the club. You're spot on about the second bit - we were muck.

LFC in Exile:

I have to say that I'd know you pretty well over the years and was very surprised (and disappointed) with the statement at the end of your post.

You say that the people chanting are the negative ones at the games? That section do at least 95% of the chanting and give great support to the team - even when they don't bloody well deserve it. Nolan was bad on Friday - he has been consistently bad all year. I think the chanting was a combination of people being annoyed with Nolan and relief that NOC had finally realised that Nolan was wasting a place on the field that could have been filled with someone who could have at least shown interest in the game. The chanting may not have been pleasant but he damn well deserved it.

FC Hammer: About 20% of this year's season ticket holders are in the group behind the goal - how does this tally with your "fair-weather fans" comment?

The season has now officially become a joke. Slk: I don't think you needed to apologise - Nolan deserved it.

Surprised Willie John isn't here calling us "scumbags" for chanting....
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

He is not in the danger areas when it matters and he is crowding out midfield. Now this may not be Robbie's fault - the manager needs to tell him what job he wants done and if the manager is telling him to drop deep or play a free role then the manager is wrong.

By the way I sing 'Ooh Robbie Kelliher' as loud as anyone - I like him as a player (even he is not being used to full effect). But its time to drop the scales from our eyes and realise that he is not delivering and ask why. Lately he is as effective as Nolan. But it is Limerick = good, Cork = bad.
    agree to an extent on robbie. if robbie was picking up the ball further up the field, he'd beat the first two players and he'd have sight of goal. as it is hes picking the ball up in midfield, he beats the first 2 players but then has another 3 to beat. in all fairness though there isnt much in the way of passes coming from midfield is there? there also isnt much in the way of link up play between robbie and nolan either.

i think we're wasting our time trying to figure the manager out at this point.

the final bit is another ridiculous statement from you following hot on the heels of yesterdays one. youre insulting our intelligence once agin and perhaps calling us rascists there? i couldnt care less were nolan is from...robbie may not be scoring but hes workign hard and putting alot of effort in...nolan on the other hand just isnt doing anything on the pitch and his attitude stinks to high heaven.
    you gowl!

Allowed the club? There has been one post about it from samuel - that's all. Hardly an orchestrated campaign to deflect attention. All of the other posts about it have come from fans - not the club. You're spot on about the second bit - we were muck.
    I think what I meant was that everyone is talking about the Nolan thing as opposed to the absolute poverty of our football. For not being clearer I humbly apologise

Still your criticism of Robbie (possibly the best young talent in the Eircom League) in an attempt to deflect away from Nolan is quite frankly laughable (There look I laughed)

As for fchammer calling the lads behind the goals in the Shed "fair weather fans" this might look pretty in a post but I think you need a reality check if you actually believe it

LFC in Exile stop trotting out the same arguments and take off the Cork tinted glasses. :"Cork -bad Limerick =good" then how do explain the success of Bren Sweeney , imo the best player in a Blue Shirt in 5 yrs. Stevo was loved in Limerick as well. Oh and my God both were from Cork. Both worked their Bo****ks off for thier team.

As regards your crticism of Robbie.....Sad

Nolan never will, , nor is Wolfe Capable

We are not anti-Cork just dont like Wasters.

Quote Originally Posted by samuel
    I was expressing a personnel view in relation to the substitution.
    You'd think somebody in your line of work would pay more attention to spelling!

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    LFC in Exile stop trotting out the same arguments and take off the Cork tinted glasses. :"Cork -bad Limerick =good" then how do explain the success of Bren Sweeney , imo the best player in a Blue Shirt in 5 yrs. Stevo was loved in Limerick as well. Oh and my God both were from Cork. Both worked their Bo****ks off for thier team.

As regards your crticism of Robbie.....Sad

Nolan never will, , nor is Wolfe Capable

We are not anti-Cork just dont like Wasters.
    Fair enough on the Cork thing - must be just a coincidence that the players getting most stick this season are O'Brien, Nolan and Wolfe.

Why is it sad to criticise Robbie. He hasn't scored since May. Mr Hide can see my point on Robbie - I am not saying he should be dropped - he is first choice striker in my books but he is not conributing as much as he should be and not only is he not scoring he is not creating enough chances - that is because he is playing too deep. I don't think its sad to say this - whatever happened to nobody being above criticism?

Deise - relax. Of course the same fans chant their support (as I do) but I was pointing out that just because those fans were heard does not mean that they are representative of all fans. The most vocal fans are not even the majority. I join in those chants - but I would not join in the chants aimed at Nolan last Friday. It would be easy for someone elsewhere in the ground to think that 'Limerick fans' were effectively booing Nolan and NOC. It would be more accurate to say 'some Limerick fans' were doing it - and a lot of those fans have been very vocal (IMO over the top at times) in their criticism this season.

And a query... haven't two of the last three player of the season awards been won by Corkies?

JohnD hit the nail on the head. Limerick crowds don't like players who are lazy and/or wasters.

And what happened the other night would never have happened to Anthony Wolfe for the simple reason that he does give 100% (and isn't as bad as some would have you believe anyway! )

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    You'd think somebody in your line of work would pay more attention to spelling!
    Jaysus slk, that's a very dangerous game. Must be great to have a wonderful command of the Queen's English.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast