Stephen Elliot is not looking like Premiership quality to me - far from it in fact. McCarthy made some poor signings in the summer and I can see Sunderland ending up with the worst record ever in the Premiership.
dig away .. dont think we be relegated we are far from the worst team in the league and if mick was not in charge a lot of people would see this as well. Time will show this as well and we will climb up slowly up the table.Originally Posted by finlma
Stephen Elliot is not looking like Premiership quality to me - far from it in fact. McCarthy made some poor signings in the summer and I can see Sunderland ending up with the worst record ever in the Premiership.
Are you sure you're not thinking of Sheffield WednesdayOriginally Posted by zinedineontour
as for forwards,well Healy and Hulse will do fine,both scoring regularly as is Cresswell who got a brace the other night,Blakey had a bit of a falling out with Blackwell but his time will come with injuries,and he will knock them in aswell.
Anyway getting back on topic I reckon Neil is spot on and I'd say Chelsea have bagged more points already than Sunderland will manage in the whole of this season.Mind you you'll have a good championship side next season just a pity we won't be playing each other![]()
MOT
I ran into Mick McCarthy at Euro 2004 driving into the ground for the Denmark - Sweden game(He was in the passenger seat). I was working as the only Irish volunteer out of 4,500 volunteers at the tournament and I was at the main gate a couple of hours before kick off. Whatever about the wrongs and rights of Saipan(for the record I am of the Keano camp) Mick McCarthy is a Irish Soccer legend and on seeing Mick my face lit up and I gave him a wave, introduced myself showing him my accreditation which had my name and country on it and asked him how he was. He totally blanked me. I couldn't believe it. The car had to wait a good couple of minutes before it could enter the ground and he wouldn't even give me the time of day. Incidentally I met many more of Irelands soccer heroes in the 2 months I was out in Portugal, including Tony Cascarino, Andy Townsend and Ray Houghton and they were genuinely delighted to talk with me, living up to the high esteem I hold them in. Sadly Mick did not.![]()
Mick obviously realised you were a Shamrock Rovers fan.Originally Posted by Armando
"Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo
fair enough we might come back down to the championship dont think so myself but unless you get a settled side could see your lads struggling.. playoff place is prob best to hope for ...Originally Posted by Dublin12
do you base that on the one game that elliott has played centre forward for the club ??Originally Posted by finlma
I'm basing it on the same facts as you - you claimed he is prem quality. I follow how all the Irish lads get on and I don't think Stephen Elliot is prem quality yet - he hopefully will prove to be but at the moment he's not.Originally Posted by zinedineontour
I do think he is prem quality mate and once he gets a couple of games at centre forward with a regular partner he will show this ..Originally Posted by finlma
He obviously was able to sniff Roy Keane off you. Perhaps the Man U jersey you were wearing and your shout of "Bring back Keano!" didn't help eitherOriginally Posted by Armando
Two play off defeats and one World Cup qualification - 2nd best record of any manager of an Irish soccer team. The team he took over from Jack was in decline and he had to introduce new players, despite terrible character assassinations in the media from Giles and Dunphy for dropping Aldridge (then in Tranmere reserves) and others past their sell by date and he did a good job. Sure he made mistakes (more than he should) but he was passionate about the job and any manager who gets us World Cup qualification deserves to be called a legend, warts and all.
glad to see someone agrees .. and dont forget what he did for us as a player as well ..Originally Posted by OwlsFan
What a lot of people forget is the Captain Fantastic thing too. He was there in 1990. He's done it all for us & he loves Ireland & that's all you can ask.
I genuinely love the man. Reading Zine's opener really got me. He's an Ireland legend & a nice guy to boot. Anyone that treated him bad was a pr1k.
All Time Hero
"I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
Townsend on McGrath
Mick McCarthy. The man who used to play Kevin Kilbane on the left at the expense of Damien Duff. The man who would stick with David Connolly through thick and thin no matter how s***e he played. The man who freely admitted he didn't realise that Spain were only playing with 10 men for the last 30 minutes of our World Cup second round defeat.
Ah the memories.
I don't care what anyone says, Mick's great in my books. I too met him at glasgow airport and we had a great chat, he was so nice and friendly and i got his autograph(was 2001) Green Army Girl, i think we have the same taste in men!![]()
I thought he was fit that day!
in real life he looks better.
I really appreciate what he has done for us. Good man Mick.
better go to sleep have to be up in 3 hours to go home!![]()
Who amongst us would have realised Spain were only playing with 10 men if the commentators hadn't said it? I certainly wouldn't have.Originally Posted by youngirish
There's so much made of this, but I don't blame Mick for not knowing this. How would he have known it? How many in the stadium knew? Who did we nominate to not take a penalty? I don't know, the commentators didn't say it.
The fact of the matter is he didn't notice Spain were down a man. If he wasn't standing next to the player who came off (I can't recall who it was - who can without searching the net first??) he was never going to notice.
For Chr!st sake, he made a mistake more than 3 years ago. Let it go.
well said .. he imo is the best manager Ireland have ever had . If things had of been different in Saipan the fella could be a saint ... Jack Charlton was lucky that he had an extremely talented squad whereas mick ended up with a new young squad which he had to develop and he did very well.. And its not only mick who keeps playing kilbane kerr is playing him as well . And doesnt kerr often move duffer up front with robbie ??? And to the connolly question are a lot of people on here not calling for the fella back in the squad ?? Connolly was played back then cause he was actually a decent player ...Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
everyone around me knew but as you say whats done is doneOriginally Posted by tetsujin1979
How many in the stadium was paid to knowOriginally Posted by tetsujin1979
?
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
zinedine only started the thread to saw how sound mick was when he met him and ye are all ripping his managerial career apart![]()
Mick is very good at getting players who are failing and lacking in confidence together and getting more out of them. He's so successful at this tactic however that he feels that he has to get confident and succesful players down to low levels of confidence so that he can build them up again. He gave a 19 year old David Connolly a bollocking at half time after he had scored a first half hat trick, told Denis Irwin to go prove himself and we all know about the Saipain thing.
Mick is great at managing his own troops but is a stubborn ******* when it comes to getting along with people he doesn't like or press that dares to question him. This is fine at club level where you can bring in your own players but at international level you have to get along with the players you have. Look at how Kerr patched things up with Harte, for example.
That said, I have mostly good memories of Mick's reign, but with a large disappointment at the end.