Thread: Mick Mc Carthy ... Legend .

Mick Mc Carthy ... Legend .

Just like to say what a treat it was meeting mick mc last monday in sunderland . Went over for the west brom game on the sat but went down on the monday to see the lads training .. Some complex and great setup but i suppose you should expect that when you spend 25m on it .

Anyways after training got my photo with elliott and mick mc . Asked elliott whether he thought he would play in cyprus and he said he hopes to play and still thinks we can qualify ... anyway after photos was walking back to car chatting when mick walked past and heard the accents ..

Asked us where we were from .. told him coolock and he goes ah yeah near cadburys .. had good chat with him then .. very open and honest so he was . dissapointed with sunderlands start but he said sat was our worst performance of the season and sure we nearly won ... asked him did he miss managing ireland and he said some parts of it . As he said himself a lot of the ****e that went on after saipan was out of his hands .. he says the fans were great to him while he was there and still gets a lovely reception from most irish people he meets ..

Very down to earth man who was very open and honest .. Gotta to say wish he was still our national manager but at least he now my clubs manager .. Legend ....

Nice bloke

Always had a soft spot for that bloke. Think i fancy him a little bit (another one of those Kevin Kilbane moments) What happened in Sapian took two peoples doing and its over and done with now and Mick dealt wit it as best he could while he was over there alot of people would have just walked away and fair play he didnt. Good luck to him and Sunderland

130 Posts
    Have to agree with you, always will have great respect for the man, in fairness despite everyones view on the whole saipan thing, he did a decent job for us, always got us at least to a playoff, arguably shouldve being more, but look at us now, we'd gladly take a playoff place in this campaign now.

Nice bloke but I am glad that he is not our manager anymore. He was there for over 6 years which is not a bad run at it. Think he is out of his depth at Premiership level but a good Championship manager. Seems like a decent bloke but the Irish job changed him towards the end and I think he was better off out of there for his own sake and sanity.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Nice bloke but I am glad that he is not our manager anymore. He was there for over 6 years which is not a bad run at it. Think he is out of his depth at Premiership level but a good Championship manager. Seems like a decent bloke but the Irish job changed him towards the end and I think he was better off out of there for his own sake and sanity.
    After Saipan it wasnt in his own hands and he was really left out to dry . He won the championship with a team built from nothing and has done brilliant at sunderland .. Look at teams like notts forest and leeds who are struggling to get back up . He has had to work on a shoestring in the premier so how you can already say he is out of his depth is beyond me ...

Well you put the thread up there, and If you do you should then be able to take criticism of Mc Carthy. To be honest its a bit pointless as he is not our manager anymore and dont see Eoin Hand or Jack Charlton posts going up that much.
    I did congratulate him on winning the Championship but he has got 1 point from nearly 20 Premiership matches, not matter how little money one has that is a terrible record. Swindon, Bradford Barnsley all had better records than that. West Hame finished behind Sunderland last year and I know they have more money but Pardew has shown he has what it takes for the top league. I think Mc Carthy has shown he is out of his depth. He bought lots of average players rather than buying a few quality players.

Also I did say for his own sake and sanity that he was beter off out of the Ireland job. His time had come to the end as will happen with Brian Kerr if we fail to get a play off place.

If you want this thread just to be a love in for Mick Mc Carthy, you have come to the wrong place. But I would not post up a thread saying I met Johnny Giles the other day isnt he a legend. Or I met Roy Keane the other day isnt he a legend or Paul Mc Grath or Andy Townsend or whoever it is.
    In Trap we trust

A nice bloke is Mick - a cousin is a friend of his and speaks very highly of him.

Saying that I don't rate him as a manager at all. Good motivator but poor man and team management.

My Dad is a sound bloke but I dont think he would be a good manager.
    In Trap we trust

Well you put the thread up there, and If you do you should then be able to take criticism of Mc Carthy. To be honest its a bit pointless as he is not our manager anymore and dont see Eoin Hand or Jack Charlton posts going up that much.
    I did congratulate him on winning the Championship but he has got 1 point from nearly 20 Premiership matches, not matter how little money one has that is a terrible record. Swindon, Bradford Barnsley all had better records than that. West Hame finished behind Sunderland last year and I know they have more money but Pardew has shown he has what it takes for the top league. I think Mc Carthy has shown he is out of his depth. He bought lots of average players rather than buying a few quality players.

Also I did say for his own sake and sanity that he was beter off out of the Ireland job. His time had come to the end as will happen with Brian Kerr if we fail to get a play off place.

If you want this thread just to be a love in for Mick Mc Carthy, you have come to the wrong place. But I would not post up a thread saying I met Johnny Giles the other day isnt he a legend. Or I met Roy Keane the other day isnt he a legend or Paul Mc Grath or Andy Townsend or whoever it is.
    Firstly the 20 premiership defeats 15 of those were with a team from howard wilkinson .. This is micks team now and though we have not started well we are not playing badly .. I put up the thread because I thought some people would be interested to hear what mick had to say . Just thought he got such a hard time that it was nice to see he still so supportive of us .. Sorry you dont appreciate the man as much as I do but winning a championship with a average side is no mean feat . And he did guide us to the world cup .. It remains to be seen whether our current manager can ..

Mc Carthy did it at the 3rd time of asking in a qualifying round. This is Kerrs 2nd or some one argue 1st if you go with the Wilkinson theory. As I said he seems like a nice guy but not a top level manager in my view. In many ways it was a pity that he got the Ireland job so early in his career. It would been better if he had of got it with a few more years of experience of managing rather than learning on the job. I would say that you wont be able to have a bet on Sunderland going down at Christmas this year and I reckon it will be the earliest ever for a team to get relegated in the top flight. They are the worst team to play in the Premiership since it was formed in my view. You may disagree but I think the points tally at the end of the season will back me up on this.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    Gotta to say wish he was still our national manager but at least he now my clubs manager .. Legend ....
    Legend me f**king hole
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Look at teams like notts forest and leeds who are struggling to get back up .
    Leeds are not struggling to get back,we have brought in alot of new players in this our 2nd season in the championship and got rid of some dead wood,we are 6th with a game in hand,and are looking good for a play off spot this season.Don't even compare us to Notts Forest who are in a league below us.
    MOT

OOPS,make that 7th,the game in hand threw me ,must be those cuople of pints I had for me lunch
    MOT

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    Leeds are not struggling to get back,we have brought in alot of new players in this our 2nd season in the championship and got rid of some dead wood,we are 6th with a game in hand,and are looking good for a play off spot this season.Don't even compare us to Notts Forest who are in a league below us.
    you are struggling though ... the fact that you have bought 6 forwards and cant find one decent partnership shows this ..... you will struggle again this season me thinks due to the fact blackwell has made so many changes but maybe next season you will have more of a settled side..

Mc Carthy did it at the 3rd time of asking in a qualifying round. This is Kerrs 2nd or some one argue 1st if you go with the Wilkinson theory. As I said he seems like a nice guy but not a top level manager in my view. In many ways it was a pity that he got the Ireland job so early in his career. It would been better if he had of got it with a few more years of experience of managing rather than learning on the job. I would say that you wont be able to have a bet on Sunderland going down at Christmas this year and I reckon it will be the earliest ever for a team to get relegated in the top flight. They are the worst team to play in the Premiership since it was formed in my view. You may disagree but I think the points tally at the end of the season will back me up on this.
    worst side in prem history ? Dont think so . Obviously you have not watched any of our games. We have played a lot of good football this season and will improve with every game . Id be surprised to see us go down honestly and we will show in the weeks to come we are a better side than wigan, west brom , west ham for starters .. Dont be writing us of yet ffs there is 6 games gone ....

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Legend me f**king hole
    I meant he is a legend of a lad .. Didnt say he was a legend in terms of what hes done as a manager. But he did a very good job for Ireland and was let down by his captain, turned around sunderland when we looked like we were going nowhere.. The man has picked people up from league 2 sides and helped bring them up to prem standard ... very good manager imo ... legend of a man ..

worst side in prem history ? Dont think so . Obviously you have not watched any of our games. We have played a lot of good football this season and will improve with every game . Id be surprised to see us go down honestly and we will show in the weeks to come we are a better side than wigan, west brom , west ham for starters .. Dont be writing us of yet ffs there is 6 games gone ....
    I can't wait to dig this thread out in May after Sunderland are relegated.

very good manager imo ..
    Yeah, very good manager, very observant during matches when his team is playing
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

I have seen highlights of all the games and Sunderlands defending his shocking. They could not even beat ten man Charlton. The table does not lie and they 1 point from 6 games and I think they wll struggle to break 20 points this season. They dont have one Premieship quality player in my view. Maybe Arca could be but not sure if he is a good enough defender as I think he iis playing left back.
    In Trap we trust

I have seen highlights of all the games and Sunderlands defending his shocking. They could not even beat ten man Charlton. The table does not lie and they 1 point from 6 games and I think they wll struggle to break 20 points this season. They dont have one Premieship quality player in my view. Maybe Arca could be but not sure if he is a good enough defender as I think he iis playing left back.
    arca is now playing left midfield with juston hoyte on loan from arsenal left back. Dean Whitehead is showing he can make the step up to prem level and with alan stubbs is prem quality along with elliott. Its also ****e not having your top two full backs injured as well ..