Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Thread: 2025 UEFA European Under-17 Championship/FIFA Under-17 World Cup

663 Posts
    Not sure if it's fair to say that Canada have bottled the chance to win it in the last minute, but either way Alex Noonan makes a lovely one-on-one save.
    If I question Liam Scales ability to play intl football, refer me to this signature & his peformance at home at lb vs Port on Nov 13 2025.
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    Penalties
    If I question Liam Scales ability to play intl football, refer me to this signature & his peformance at home at lb vs Port on Nov 13 2025.
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    After 5 each:

Ireland 4 (Noonan, Sherlock, Umeh, Leonard, McDonagh saved)

Canada 4 (Noonan saves, they score, they score, they score)

Disgraceful carry on for sherlocks penalty.
    There is serious niggle between these sides. And I'm starting to despise these Canadians, especially their little ****shivvler keeper.

What an incredible penalty from vinny leonard.

Sudden-death
    Last edited by Kingdom; 14/11/2025 at 5:24 PM.
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    McMahon-Brown first up - scores.

Alex Noonan almost saves their effort
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    Second up is Finneran - scores - super penalty

C'mon Alex.....

Great penalty by Canada. 6-6
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    Victor - proves his worth. Gave sh'tstain the eyes.

C'mon Alex...
    that's another brilliant reply. 7-7
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    Grady McDonnell now, good lad. Bottle of maple syrup for you in the morning kiddo for your breakfast.

Up to you Alex. Nope. 8-8
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    **** me this is incredible
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    Butler, again with a super penalty - surely, surely, we're gonna do it....
    Signed
    Kingdom.

663 Posts
    Yessss!!!!
    Alex Noonan makes a brilliant right palmed save diving to the left - putting us through to the last 16 vs Switzerland.

We deserve this.
    Signed
    Kingdom.

3,555 Posts
    That was actual torture to watch, god help anyone actually taking part

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    443 Posts
    Jaysus fair play to them. The bit of niggle with their keeper was good craic. Brilliant penalties even the ones saved were decent.

1,133 Posts
    Keeper was the biggest ***** since Dudu Aouat. Wouldn't normally say it in relation to kids but it was quite pleasing to see him in tears at the end, might maybe bring him down a peg or two. Some bottle from the Irish lads to deal with all his crap and still score nine penalties out of ten. Torture to watch but well worth it in the end - I shouted far too loudly for the last penalty save relative to an Under 17 game!

425 Posts
    From Noonan to Noonan. Great stuff.

Wasn't really a bad peno in the bunch. 3 excellent saves.

Likeable side this Irish team. Especially compared to some of the teams they've come up against.
    22 leagues and 26 cups and....well....none of you will ever catch up if we're being honest.

104 Posts
    Switzerland in the next round. They beat Egypt 3-1. I have no idea what that's means for us but I've always assumed the swiss have a very healthy youth setup?

1,133 Posts
    We drew with the Swiss in a warmup game apparently, so could be another close one.

2,483 Posts
    Great watch that but f*ck me O'Brien needs to learn to make a few subs. Players were out on their feet by the end and were probably lucky to get to penalties with all the Canadian play in the final ten minutes.

That being said, they showed immense bottle to win the penalty shootout and I enjoyed the sledging with the Canadian keeper.

2,848 Posts
    Canada had a player from NI in their squad but, also, a forward called Van Parker. If it doesn't work out for him in football he could always try his hand at parking vans.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,002 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Keeper was the biggest ***** since Dudu Aouat. Wouldn't normally say it in relation to kids but it was quite pleasing to see him in tears at the end, might maybe bring him down a peg or two. Some bottle from the Irish lads to deal with all his crap and still score nine penalties out of ten. Torture to watch but well worth it in the end - I shouted far too loudly for the last penalty save relative to an Under 17 game!
    Yeah I broke the Ireland v Canada at anything diplomatic rule of silence with the Canadian other half over that keeper. Happily retired to the doghouse - its not hockey so i'll live!

1,133 Posts
    As an aside, the ability of opposition managers to challenge a penalty save really just adds another layer of tension to shootouts. If that approach is rolled out across the wider game, you could end up with nearly every deciding penalty in a shootout being challenged as a last resort by the losing team. It was clear tonight on first viewing that there was no issue with Noonan's position on the line, but the Canadians had clearly pre-planned that they were going to challenge any sudden death penalty miss in the hope of the VAR official seeing something and saving them from elimination.

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast