Thread: Greedy Derry continue sick obsession with League Cup

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Krstic
    David Forde has been outstanding this season.
    I'll take your word for it. I doubt Derry would be where they are in the league without a decent keeper. I have to agree with the others who've called his performance last night into question though. He looked nervous and I thought that an equaliser was as likely to be gifted by him as to come from our less than impressive attacks.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by daniel
    Krisitic David won't leave Ireland again to go to England, last time he did this he had given up all hope of playing football again, and was about to hang up the boots when Stephen Kenny had offered him the chance to play for us, who in the right mind would give something so good up to maybe destroy himself.

Where did you hear that sh*te from? David has never even considered hanging up his boots. He still only young and loves the game. Also, he said that GUFC would be the club where hes going to end his career, just to keep the wife happy . He wont be going back to the UK either, to many bad memories.

I thought the game was very poor. Pitch looked too grassy so ball didn't run well. From the bits i saw looked like men against boys literally & UCD seemed incapable of making 2 or 3 passes together.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TomRed
    I dont know how you can say that.
    On the basis of not having seen him very often, I'll admit. Just an impression I've formed of him.

Quote Originally Posted by TomRed
    and I'd have him in goals anyday to that clown ye have!
    The clown who is the Irish U-21 keeper in waiting?

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I thought the game was very poor. Pitch looked too grassy so ball didn't run well. From the bits I saw looked like men against boys literally & UCD seemed incapable of making 2 or 3 passes together.
    Pretty much exactly my thoughts as well (apart from the pitch, which was in great nick, especially compared to recent weeks). Maybe we're just naturally cyncial!

71 Posts
    I think the pitch was grand. I tresspassed on it earlier in the day.

Enough about David Forde. You rate him, we don't so everyone's happy that he plays for you and not us. Can we just leave it there please?

I think we were overcome by nerves to an extent and didn't really play well. We were a bit toothless in attack again and Derry's defence did very well. I couldn't see us getting a second equaliser from about 20 minutes to go. There just didn't seem to be anywhere that it was going to come from.

We really missed Tony Mac in midfield. Dicker and Hurley are both excellent players but either with Tony would give a much better balance to the midfield. Derry were able to get past the middle too easily which put the defence under more pressure than it needed to be.

Disappointing to concede the second goal so close to half-time (and so soon after our equaliser). Had we held on til half-time, it would have been interesting to see whether Derry could have broken through as our defence dealt very well with them.

On another point, I'd like to say well done to everyone involved in getting the ground ready for the game. It looked great (hopefully on TV as well) and deserved the great crowd that turned up.

Quote Originally Posted by GK for the Town
    I thought Dicker was very good last nite. He sure does get around the pitch.
    Eh, that was his worst game of the season. Jaysus, you should see him on a good day! He's amazing.

Well fookit anyway. I'm pretty upset at losing. College were all over the gaf & totally underperformed, including the manager.

Fooking stewards wouldn't even let a cripple like me into the seating area;"thats waht they paid their 5 bob more for" (thanks for the ticket lads but I left my phone in the car).

On the upside I was chatting to former goalkeeping coach (of Barry Quinn & Pat Jennings) "Arthur", who was well into his UCD footy & even got free tea & sangers at half time.

Sure well settle for the FAI cup I guess.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

33 Posts
    Congratulations to City on their win.

I'm pleased to hear the match got good reviews on the TV. Derry were well able for us and I'd liked to have seen us stretch them a bit more.

BTW, I hope this won't be blamed on Belfield but what match was Denis Bradley watching in Derry last night?

Politicians condemn Derry pub assault
    September 21, 2005 16:56

Politicians have condemned an assault on Denis Bradley, the Vice-Chairman of the Northern Ireland Policing Board.

Mr Bradley was hit on the head several times by a masked man armed with a baseball bat in a pub in the Brandywell area of Derry last night.

The policing board member was watching a soccer match on television when the attacked happened shortly before 10pm.

Mr Bradley's condition is not said to be serious.

This page : http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0921/bradleyd

The prognosis for the Setanta game would just be starting at that time. Also, I heard in another report that the pub was on the Lecky Road, which is close enough to the Brandywell. Is this a football pub, or do they just have a big screen?

Still a good win for Derry though, well done
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Eh, that was his worst game of the season.
    I was thinking that. On the Rovers forum, some of them singled him out for praise, but I saw on boards.ie they said he never really got into the game. He had a few too many flicked passes which didn't come off and started off Derry attacks. Don't think he was alone there though.

Think you're a bit harsh on Mahon though. He went 3-4-3 for the last while and certainly pushed on a bit. We were hit with injuries to Robbie, Kenna and Allie Mac. Derry are on a massive high at the moment and are largely full-time - don't think the result was a shock, to be honest. We'll just have to look to Bray on Friday - if we play like we did last Friday, we should win that and have another live match to look forward to.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    IThink you're a bit harsh on Mahon though. He went 3-4-3 for the last while and certainly pushed on a bit. We were hit with injuries to Robbie, Kenna and Allie Mac.
    Was Kenna defo not fully fit? Paj was doing better than Gary who he looked wrecked tired which Mahon must have missed. I think he made the wrong subs, but the whole thing had gone to pieces for us at that stage anyway.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

89 Posts
    Denis Bradley was watching the Derry City game as he is a season ticket holder at the Brandywell
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Was Kenna defo not fully fit?
    Some of the previews I read during the day said he was fit enough to play some part, which he did. I assume that implied he wasn't fit to play 90 minutes. You may have a point on the subs. Still, win some, lose some.

Deadly match, dont remember to much of what happened on the pitch during the match but that was the best craic ive had at a match in years and the worst hang over in years followed this morning
    We are the U the U the UCDD!!!!

I f***in hate the League Cup doubt we will ever win it now. 20 years of abject failure followed by 5 years of flattering to deceive

a few of my mates tried to get up on the hill behind the subs benches to get a decent view of the game but were told to get down. Anyone know the reason ?
    "it takes two to lie. One to lie and one to listen."

Quote Originally Posted by GK for the Town
    a few of my mates tried to get up on the hill behind the subs benches to get a decent view of the game but were told to get down. Anyone know the reason ?
    Health and safety I assume. I was sure I saw people up there though.

3,488 Posts
    Technically, you're not allowed on the hill for Health and Safety reasons. Didn't stop the couple of hundred who were on it throughout the match though.

Incidentally (and the final word on David Forde [SIZE=1]until he crops up again[/SIZE]) I watched some of the video last night and, while Clive's header was weak, when Byrne shot, Forde was actually turned the other way and running back into position! Cardinal sin for a goalkeeper, and his footwork was woeful as well to be turned and running back into position (instead of sidestepping). I see the Examiner singled him out as being very hesitant throughout as well.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    the final word on David Forde
    You better believe it. I'm splitting any more posts on that subject.

3,488 Posts
    Oooh, our very own David Forde thread!