Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2005/06

a disaster result for the league in general, i heard that they were completely outplayed and outfought on the day. Fair play to lismore crystal now for them they'll need all the luck they can get....As for finnan what now why stay with peake..suppose the big question is will he?

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by jug2004
    a disaster result for the league in general, i heard that they were completely outplayed and outfought on the day. Fair play to lismore crystal now for them they'll need all the luck they can get....As for finnan what now why stay with peake..suppose the big question is will he?
    A disaster is right. I heard there was of bit of argy bargy before the game with the Team selection. John Lawlor returned after the Thurles Sarsfields had finished and he started his first game with Villa on the right side of mid-field !! No-training etc...straight into the Team ??? It is me or is that just wrong !! Donal Duggan centre-half !!! What on earth was Finnan thinking !!! No wonder they lost !!! Jug2004 you said it....What will Finnan do now ?? I wouldn't mind but Lismore are no great shakes this season !

Peake Ville can only draw away to Rock Rovers? And this is a team that knocked Saints out of the FAI? I must say their revival was short lived in the extreme. If they don't cop on a relegation fight may be in front of them.

as bad and all as they are i can't see them go down,its just not possible or is it? Your correct about lawlor starting the game against lismore and your right about lismore they were shown up for the poor side they are yesterday by the crystal. By all accounts many of the players are not happy with finnan appartently he listens to alot of what is bein said on the line. Rock rovers always seem to get things together around the xmas period for some reason. Peake will become a soft touch in the league later on if they avoid relegation early this year i think!

[QUOTE=jug2004Rock rovers always seem to get things together around the xmas period for some reason.[/QUOTE]

They always have a full squad for December, terrible thing overcrowding in our prisions . Most will be back in by early January.

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by jug2004
    as bad and all as they are i can't see them go down,its just not possible or is it? Your correct about lawlor starting the game against lismore and your right about lismore they were shown up for the poor side they are yesterday by the crystal. By all accounts many of the players are not happy with finnan appartently he listens to alot of what is bein said on the line. Rock rovers always seem to get things together around the xmas period for some reason. Peake will become a soft touch in the league later on if they avoid relegation early this year i think!
    Villa won't go down. There are too many poor teams below them. Peake should be beating Rock on any given Sunday regardless if Rock are getting it together for the X-mas period or not. They play Two-Mile-Borris on Sunday away. This is usually a local derby match, but judging by the under par performaces by Peake and the understrength squad of Borris it might make for a good matched affair. Mind you I did hear "on the grapevine" that Barry Ryan was on the bench against Rock last week and he now wants to transfer to Borris !!! It wouldn't surprise me with Barry Ryan...he's like a lost school kid in a yard full of sweets !

one nil to the Villa. Once again the logic of playing Ted O'Connor up front was visible as he scored and had a stone wall penalty turned down near the end Even the Borris players were laughing when the ref (who is usually quite good) waved play on. Good result away from home in a local derby

Clonmel Town score winner in 88th minute to beat Rock Rovers 0-1 at Deerpark. However, Rovers had FOUR players sent off. I have a question, when does a football match become a bloody farce!

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by tipp man
    Clonmel Town score winner in 88th minute to beat Rock Rovers 0-1 at Deerpark. However, Rovers had FOUR players sent off. I have a question, when does a football match become a bloody farce!
    If I can quote JUG2004 he stated that "Rock always seem to get their act together over the x-mas" obviously the act he was talking about was a Panto and yesterdays display !

Even with 4 players sent off......1-0 to Town ?? Somewhat of an unusual result to say the least !!

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry
    one nil to the Villa. Once again the logic of playing Ted O'Connor up front was visible as he scored and had a stone wall penalty turned down near the end Even the Borris players were laughing when the ref (who is usually quite good) waved play on. Good result away from home in a local derby
    The ref was a disaster yesterday. The two sides upped the ante for this game considering the poor performances of late. A local derby always seems to bring the best out in teams. After saying that, it wasn't the greatest of games. Chances missed on both sides. Micheal Ryan should have put in beyond Borris on several occasions in the first half and Derek Breen kept Villa in the game. I will agree about the penalty decision. How could anybody not give a penalty in that instance ! A disgrace to say the least. At the end of the day it's 3 badly needed for Villa away from home. And back to the drawing board for Borris.

Quote Originally Posted by Van The Man
    If I can quote JUG2004 he stated that "Rock always seem to get their act together over the x-mas" obviously the act he was talking about was a Panto and yesterdays display !

Even with 4 players sent off......1-0 to Town ?? Somewhat of an unusual result to say the least !!
    Ya, I would say unusual, Expected Town to win by more. I wasn't at it and my earlier post was wrong, Clonmel were at home, which makes it a bit more surprising. Anyway, if a team is reduced to 7 and you only win 1-0?

How many does a team have to be reduced to before the game gets abondoned? I am thinking of Neil Warnock's antics with Sheffield Utd some years ago?

Quote Originally Posted by tipp man
    Ya, I would say unusual, Expected Town to win by more. I wasn't at it and my earlier post was wrong, Clonmel were at home, which makes it a bit more surprising. Anyway, if a team is reduced to 7 and you only win 1-0?

How many does a team have to be reduced to before the game gets abondoned? I am thinking of Neil Warnock's antics with Sheffield Utd some years ago?
    Considering Town have 10 from 10, the 1-0 looks a bit odd to say the least. The rules state that if you have "fewer" than 7 players on the pitch the match can be adondoned. But in fairness as long as I'm watchin the TSDL I can't recall 4 been sent off. What on earth was going on ?

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    anyone know what nenagh celtic are like???

whats there set up like???
    Best side in North Tipp; not that that tells you anything. Solid, well organised, all the usual cliches. Not much flair though. Tough to break down. They had another good win in NTDL yesterday but it was only at home to Clonmore. If you have them at home then you would fancy your chances. Clonmel Town struggled to break them down in the FAIJC this year despite dominating possession.

cheers for that.we are away to them, whats there set up like
    Tommy, we were down there last year in early Jan. Do u not remember?
    Set up is quite average, dodgey pitch & no dressing rooms.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

To check if there was ever a mathch abandoned, I'm sure there must have been more than 4 players from one team in North Tipp sent off over the years....probably for fighting each other

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry
    To check if there was ever a mathch abandoned, I'm sure there must have been more than 4 players from one team in North Tipp sent off over the years....probably for fighting each other
    Den I'm sure there have been plenty of teams with 4 or more sent off up in the NTDL, but I'm talking about the TSDL, a total different ball game altogether !

Foot.ie!

na i wasn't involved last year
    Nenagh Celtic took on Tralee Dynamos last month in the Munster Junior Cup and were beaten 2 1 away from home. Celtic deserved the victory but just couldn't hold on to their lead. As as you know Tralee Dynamos are in the 6th Round of the FAI Junior Cup at this stage.

So you can judge for yourself on this form of late.

not sure if your post is correct because newtown from clare league are to play nenagh in next round of the munster junior away
    Sorry about that Tommy, it was the Munster Senior Cup....Not Junior Cup.

Clonme town V Rock Rovers

[QUOTE=tipp man]Ya, I would say unusual, Expected Town to win by more. I wasn't at it and my earlier post was wrong, Clonmel were at home, which makes it a bit more surprising. Anyway, if a team is reduced to 7 and you only win 1-0?

Was at the game Sunday. Rock Rovers are a disgrace to the league. Their idea of football is to kick people all over park. Amazing somebody wasn't seriously injured. Ian Barnes in particular took woeful punishment. Credit to the lad that he held his temper.

In answer to the 1-0 scoreline, rock put 9 men behind the ball for the entire match. Very hard to break down. Town created numerous chances. Thought it was going to be one of those days.

Merry Christmas All.

good to see a former schoolboy of the league beginning to make a name for himself across the water. the player in question is of course Shane Long

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast