Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Weekend 24th to 28th October

185 Posts
    Great win for Rovers. shels must have been hoping and praying we'd hand them the league by not winning in oriel but this Rovers team win leagues.
    I wouldn't discount derry conspiring to embarrass themselves at home once more next week, and hand shels the title but I'm far,far more confident of us winning the league now than I was a few hours ago!
    Winning on that utter disgrace of a surface,in that lawless atmosphere,and with dundalk raising their game a bit as usual against the Hoops made it a tricky, tricky game to negotiate,and they managed to be come through it.
    Bringing it to the last game of the season was the minimum requirement this Rovers team would have expected when they were 12 points behind shels at one stage ,and if shels get it over the line ,then fair play to them.
    I doubt there'll be much complaint from anyone at Rovers - The best team wins the league every year, without any exception.

246 Posts
    Hard to call what way next week will go. Rovers will win I’m sure, while the other game may depend on how motivated Derry are. The two lads on Virgin media were talking about Derry needing to win to get Europe, but if Past win in Sligo they can’t catch us for third.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    Really think it's good for the league that Oriel Park isn't in it next season. That pitch is absolutely treacherous.
    The ground only looks 'acceptable' when over 3k, or 4k at it, hides the gaps, its in a terrible state really, that said the pitch in Brandywell is not much better, I`m not a fan of any of them!

See you all in 2026 or 2027 - its been a blast.....................
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Bringing it to the last game of the season was the minimum requirement this Rovers team would have expected when they were 12 points behind shels at one stage ,and if shels get it over the line ,then fair play to them.
    I doubt there'll be much complaint from anyone at Rovers - The best team wins the league every year, without any exception.
    Minimum requirement? High standards indeed!

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Hard to call what way next week will go. Rovers will win I’m sure, while the other game may depend on how motivated Derry are. The two lads on Virgin media were talking about Derry needing to win to get Europe, but if Past win in Sligo they can’t catch us for third.
    Also if Derry win and Pats only draw, then they go on to win the cup, 4th place gets nothing, but Pats are by far the form team in the last series of games.

Rovers will possibly repeat a 1995 stat if they win it, Dundalk went top for the first time all season, in the final day of that 94/95 campaign.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Yup that'd be top of my list now on what gives the league an amatuer image!
    Training goalposts parked behind the goal line is the worst imho!

292 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Also if Derry win and Pats only draw, then they go on to win the cup, 4th place gets nothing, but Pats are by far the form team in the last series of games.

Rovers will possibly repeat a 1995 stat if they win it, Dundalk went top for the first time all season, in the final day of that 94/95 campaign.
    If Derry better Pats result and then win the cup, 4th place (Pats in that scenario) also gets europe
    Paaatrick's Agletic

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Training goalposts parked behind the goal line is the worst imho!
    Thats just laziness!

229 Posts
    See you all in 2026 or 2027 - its been a blast.....................
    Looking at the gap between Cork and UCD, Dundalk should comfortably return despite the mess to be sorted.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Looking at the gap between Cork and UCD, Dundalk should comfortably return despite the mess to be sorted.
    I'd agree, the team that played last night I'd expect most to still be around next year
    Munro (I'd like an upgrade on him but he's improved)
    Mountany has told fans he's going nowhere
    Mayo should be a top first div defender
    Cann (he can leave I'm sure many would agree)
    Mullen decent young player
    Mahon, can't see him staying
    Dervin, very limited player but will be good in first Div
    Ostenbrink il pay for his flight home myself
    Horgan, says he is staying
    Kenny, should be a good 1st Div player
    Hakini, if he hangs about surely a top 1st Div player

Add in O Kane, Boyle, Doyle and we should have a good team

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    I'd agree, the team that played last night I'd expect most to still be around next year

Still think you’ll be the team to beat next season in the 1st Division. Plenty of players under contract and others retained.

79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post

That's assuming none of those lads have release clauses for relegation. Even if they don't the financials seem as such that a semi decent offer from a club could see any player leave. I wouldn't start counting any squad member in or out until after the winter window closes

3,488 Posts
    Or release clauses for unpaid wages

229 Posts
    Athlone and Bray into the playoff final. Both made home advantage count in the first legs. Not a whole lot of reward for 2nd and 3rd.

246 Posts
    Athlone and Bray into the playoff final. Both made home advantage count in the first legs. Not a whole lot of reward for 2nd and 3rd.
    Thought both games were enjoyable enough, but surprised UCD couldn't make more of their nan advantage.
    I suppose ordinarily, there was would be an advantage to finishing second, but the FD top half (Cork aside) was tight this season.

2,446 Posts
    I thought the Wexford v Athlone game was a very poor affair, only caught the first half of UCD v Bray which was a much better game, as far as I saw.

Don't see either side troubling Drogheda.

From our game in Belfield bowl I wasnt that gone on UCD it was only cos of majority of season we cant keep a lead! Wexford havent been the same since we battered them 3-0 at home.

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Still think you’ll be the team to beat next season in the 1st Division. Plenty of players under contract and others retained.
    Really don't know about all of this lads, would be still thinking 2-3 years down will prob be more the likely case. The display v Rovers was absolutely one of the better ones this season, and if we could retain guts this squad, yes maybe a chance, but what's the point coming up to go back down?

With the lack of 'smaller clubs' now coming up, no longer UCD / Bray / Longford, just think of 2025 in the PD, someone obv has to finish 10th and auto relegation, runners and riders even now? Drogs / winners play off, Cork City, Bohs maybe, who knows.

I think a few seasons down would suit us in a mad way, and when we do come back, have built in time to have it properly re-organised off the field.

Anyway we'll see, still not out of the woods yet re existing / getting a licence, so god knows how it will pan out over winter, hopefully a club first and foremost is still there, then we'll worry about 2025, a new manager, player contracts, for now, to borrow a line from one my fav UK comedies, Early Doors, if you know it, you know it.

To the REGIMENT !!

77 Posts
    What support are teams hoping for at Dalymount, Bray could bring well over 1,000 looking at the away support at UCD, while Athlone will be hoping for a few hundred to travel up.
    I suppose 1,500 would be a reasonable attendance and all could be accommodated in the Jodi Stand.

229 Posts
    Really don't know about all of this lads, would be still thinking 2-3 years down will prob be more the likely case. The display v Rovers was absolutely one of the better ones this season, and if we could retain guts this squad, yes maybe a chance, but what's the point coming up to go back down?
    Anything less than first place will be terrible.
    Quote Originally Posted by nr637 View Post
    What support are teams hoping for at Dalymount, Bray could bring well over 1,000 looking at the away support at UCD, while Athlone will be hoping for a few hundred to travel up.
    I suppose 1,500 would be a reasonable attendance and all could be accommodated in the Jodi Stand.
    That should be a reasonable attendance alright. Neutral venues aren't used for Cup semi-finals. For some reason the First Division playoffs persist with neutral venues for the final.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast