Thread: FAI are killing football

82 Posts

FAI are killing football

I'm saddened but unfortunately not shocked by tonights events in Dalymount which follow on as a consequence from Wenesday's disciplinary findings.

First we had a Bohs banner, which as far as I can remember said something along the lines of "EL disciplinary report = farce" being taken down by Bohs stewards before the match on the orders of the FAI match official.

Then to reinforce the fact that Eircom League football is now a police state, the Derry fans were warned about their "bad language" which aparently has been reported by the FAI official and the referee (Ian Stokes, UEFA official my hole) and the club is apparently to be sanctioned..........

What is going on?

Just one question? Which set of fans had the megaphone?? I'm not sure if it was Bohs fans or Derry fans but there was some foul language coming out of it that could be heard on the TV. It didn't sound well and the stewards should have confiscated it. Not a good advertisment for the league on the telly.

Game was good though. Dissapointed Bohs couldn't get something tho.

Loudspeaker was in the possession of the Derry fans.

How is foul-language from one person via a loudspeaker unacceptable, yet it's not so unacceptable when a crowd clearly sings "The referee's a b@st**d" etc etc ? Foul language in the form of terrace chants can often be heard on TV broadcasts of football. Will every club be warned/sanctioned over this ?

Where will it all end.......?
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 17/09/2005 at 12:57 AM.

The FAI might just be a bit worried that they look worse than normal lately and they are trying to counter act it .... instead of resolving the ACTUAL problems they have. Just a thought !!

82 Posts
    I genuinely didn't hear bad language through the megaphone, unless there were a few swear words in the chants (a few verses of "the referee's a w*nker?")

There was a lot of abuse directed at the inept linesman, Stokes the referee and Fergal Harkin, but no more than the usual stuff that goes on at any game and delivered by the old fashioned method of shouting!

have to agree with the Derry fans. I was sitting in Block B for the first half and Block C for the second and apart from the usual stuff you see [even in Cork] aimed at the linesman, and the "sheepshagger" stuff aimned at Harkin when taking corners there was nothing else that we should be bothered with. The FAI are trying to kill the EL so they can spend all their time on the national team of alco's [Robbie Keane etc].

Oneredarmy ..... were was this banner being put up?

there was a class picture of robbie keane in one of the tabloids (i think it was roddys column) after the France game. It had robbie on the pitch with his hand in the air (like you say to a barman - 1 beer) and his face was all groggy. He looked like a drunkard Picture of the month IMO.

The FAI havent a clue about football. All they want to do is **** of Eircom league supporters anyway they can.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    I'm saddened but unfortunately not shocked by tonights events in Dalymount which follow on as a consequence from Wenesday's disciplinary findings.

First we had a Bohs banner, which as far as I can remember said something along the lines of "EL disciplinary report = farce" being taken down by Bohs stewards before the match on the orders of the FAI match official.

Then to reinforce the fact that Eircom League football is now a police state, the Derry fans were warned about their "bad language" which aparently has been reported by the FAI official and the referee (Ian Stokes, UEFA official my hole) and the club is apparently to be sanctioned..........

What is going on?
    I think this is a natural reaction of the part of the club/stewards, given that we were sactioned for being impolite to Nutsy, and Rovers were fined for saying rude things about Ollie. I suppose somehow the FAI will contrive to fine us for the megaphone.

For the record, in case the disciplinary committee is lurking (they'd hardly dare show their faces), it was more audible on telly: I didn't notice anything.

All of this seems to be part of that recently revived notion that EL fans are somehow less decorous than all the grand lads who follow GAA and suchlike.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    The FAI havent a clue about football. All they want to do is **** of Eircom league supporters anyway they can.
    Typical ignorant statement. 95% of the membership of the FAI is made up from people involved in football, including the EL. Most of them put far more work into grassroots football in a week than you would in a life time. Have you seen the grants made to the EL by the FAI ? No, much easier to make an unfounded allegation that they know nothing about football. Easy target.

Because some foul mouth had his loudspeaker removed, the FAI are trying to kill the EL!! What a joke. I'm sure parents would love to bring their kids along again to an EL game if some idiot is sitting in their vicinity blaring off obscenities into a loud speaker. Yep, the FAI sure has it in for the EL

If the eL want to go down this road they should at least have some rules. How can clubs/supporters be sanctioned if no actual rules are broken.

I didn't see/hear the match on TG4 but taking down banners that in no way could be considered offensive to anyone is ludicrous.

In fairness I never thought megaphones should be allowed into a football ground. Even if they are, theere should be no cursing through it. FAI were right on this one imo.

As regards the banners, feck that, what ever happened to freedom of speech?
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Typical ignorant statement. 95% of the membership of the FAI is made up from people involved in football, including the EL. Most of them put far more work into grassroots football in a week than you would in a life time. Have you seen the grants made to the EL by the FAI ? No, much easier to make an unfounded allegation that they know nothing about football. Easy target.

Because some foul mouth had his loudspeaker removed, the FAI are trying to kill the EL!! What a joke. I'm sure parents would love to bring their kids along again to an EL game if some idiot is sitting in their vicinity blaring off obscenities into a loud speaker. Yep, the FAI sure has it in for the EL
    The FAI has been the biggest failLURE in irish sport for the last 20 + years. Obviously your pretty ignorant yourself or you work for the FAIlure. Ever have any problems with ticket allocations and the FAIlure ? Do you know where the money comes from ?? its certainly not from Delaneys pockets, it comes from the government, sponsors and the taxpayer.

If the FAI had its way they would be flying first class to the world cup while the players sit in economy. So what if there is foul mouth language used in games, what do you expect ?? too many childern at the grounds can be troublesome too.

The FAI , the bastion of Irish soccer, whatever next

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    In fairness I never thought megaphones should be allowed into a football ground. Even if they are, theere should be no cursing through it. FAI were right on this one imo.

Yeah, megaphone? Freedom of speech. I think we should all bring megaphones to our next game & see what happens.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Yeah, megaphone? Freedom of speech. I think we should all bring megaphones to our next game & see what happens.
    that would be funny

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo

Precisely, so what if someone's cursing thorugh a megaphone?? If kids stay home on a Friday night and watch telly they're going to hear the same stuff.

Surely going to a football match and hearing swearing is better for a seven-year-old then watching telly with all the shaging and the violence there is nowadays.

Everybody swears so if the FAI are giving out about it, they must've had a very protective D4 upbringing!!

The whole banner ****e is ridiculous. Cosmo brought up freedom of speech and that's just what it is. People need to lighten up, myself included, and not take everything in football personally.
    Last edited by superfrank; 17/09/2005 at 2:05 PM.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    I didn't hear about that. Nobody has the right to do that, that is a disgrace. The FAI are dragging this league down the wrong path.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colie

The way its going we could all be issued with duct tape to cover our mouths when we enter a ground, lest we happend to want to comment on the game
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    Just one question? Which set of fans had the megaphone?? I'm not sure if it was Bohs fans or Derry fans but there was some foul language coming out of it that could be heard on the TV. It didn't sound well and the stewards should have confiscated it. Not a good advertisment for the league on the telly.

Game was good though. Dissapointed Bohs couldn't get something tho.
    Crap post, pointless, I don't go to tolka every week to advertise my club to a bunch of w@nkers who slag me off for going in the first place!

We are football fans not advertisments, I go because I love it, and if I can vent a bit of anger by swearing **** it, I'll do that too, I really believe a lot of people on here will agree with this post (makes a change!!!)
    Sitting pretty!!!

Serves you muckers right for giving our Fergal a touch

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Crap post, pointless, I don't go to tolka every week to advertise my club to a bunch of w@nkers who slag me off for going in the first place!

We are football fans not advertisments, I go because I love it, and if I can vent a bit of anger by swearing **** it, I'll do that too, I really believe a lot of people on here will agree with this post (makes a change!!!)
    Well, wouldn't it be in the interest of your club for more families to come to games with their kids? I think for EL matches to get higher attendances you need to create more of a family atmosphere that is welcoming to families and kids. I'm sure they could find a corner of the ground for the likes of you to "vent a bit of anger by swearing f*ck it".