Thread: Fenn or O'Flynn ... or Both?

Question Fenn or O'Flynn ... or Both?

I've been asking some of the Exiles for a while now can Fenn and O'Flynn partner each other successfully as the forward men?
    Doyle was able to play with anyone upfront and possibly anywhere however when I look at Fenn and O'Flynn I see similarities to the Rush and Aldridge partnership .. Going no where.

Individually both on their day can take a lot of beating in the Eircom League and there is no question that both players are very talented … but can complement each other?

The argument is we are still on top of the league and that’s fair enough but as so many teams in the past have proven you need a striker to feed off a centre forward, a player to play solely in the area and a player to hover in and out - a partnership. I personally feel both player are that man who will play in the area …

Buying a player is not an option, as a suggestion, do we push George back up where he is 'probibly' best and maybe play Gamble and O'Halloran in the middle or do we keep with the two for now?

Some food for thought there, JR. Looking back, there has been the occasional flash of magic between the two. But we don't see it often. With their level of individual skill, you would have thought by now that they would have worked out a strong partnership. Look at how quickly Flynn and O'Callaghan took to play off each other when they joined City, was it two weeks? Maybe putting Georgie up front with Flynnie is the way to go, with Fenn being available to come on as a strong sub.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

whatabout Roy o Donovan going up front ???

he can finish ,is direct,good in the air,strong and pacy ...... ....
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

I don't see any change this season but clearly O'Donovan will end up as forward eventually. WE have to ensure have replacement for right wing first though.

Lads,if Flannery plays against ye in the cup you will see the best stricking partenership in the country between himself and McTeirnan.Flannery wins th eheaders and holds up the play and McT plays off him.Sort of the little and large situation.

Will O'Flynn cost us the title ???

I think he will .... hate saying it but i think he will, he is a luxury that we simple cannot afford.

Might even be too late !!

We don't have a striker. We don't have a front line link up man. We don't have a goal-scoring centre forward. Neal Fenn is in great form, but he will quickly become tired of playing off nothing

I can see where you're coming from REDGAV, I think Roy would play well upfront. He is very like Doyle in his play and his finishing (not as good at the moment obviously) but he seems to know where the net is.

Like I say, both players are quiet good but they just are not a partnership, on the pitch they even look like they dont get along, they hardly talk to eachother, they dont work with or for eachother and I would say they have very little assists for eachother .. we all know an assist is as good as a goal.

Not to be Fenn bashing but if you take when O'Flynn and O'Callaghan played up front. If O'Flynn allowed a chance go begging he would almost always turn to O'Callaghan with his hands on his head and visa versa .. same for then they scored they looked for eachother and celebrated together. Now you might say thats cos O'Callaghan was feeding O'Flynn more cos they played off eachother or they have a good friendship off the pitch .. but thats my point about Fenn and O'Flynn. There is just nothing there ....

Personally Roy has the potential to do the job but PETE is right we would need a right winger then. I see the obvious replacment being O'Halloran in the middle and push Georgie between the midfield and either Fenn or O'Flynn up front.

don't think its an either/or situation. the problem is that flynny isn't playing well. he has to be dropped.