Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: sligo rovers vrs cork city:predictions etc

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    Lads we can do it we have a far better team than two years ago when we stunned Shels in Tolka
    GO ON THE BIT O RED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Heres some inspiration!
    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/jim.gar...Shelbourne.htm
    I think that´s the first bit of optimisim I´ve ever seen from you Gus

70 Posts

Shels

Of Course Sligo can beat Cork!
    I ask you Rovers fans this do any of you remember the cup game against
    Shels a few years back in tolka? Sligo won 3-2 it was one of the best games i ever seen in EL. The first two goals for Rovers were unbelieveable one was a 30 yard screamer and the second was a dipping swerving shot from at least
    40 yards.I kid you not!Couldnt tell you who scored the goals though!
    Think it went to et as I seem to remember the missus having to sit outside
    for an extra 30mins a being slightly ****ed.Well it was hard to try to explain
    to the uneducated the chances of the Sligo taking Shels to extra time that
    night!It was a real I was there game.Do any of you remeber it?Im sure it will
    have legendry status in a few years. If not already

Of course we can remember it! Ollie Keogh, John Gaffney and Steve Feeney scored them. They can still be seen on the net somewhere, afaik( )

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Of course we can remember it! Ollie Keogh, John Gaffney and Steve Feeney scored them. They can still be seen on the net somewhere, afaik( )
    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/jim.ga.../Shelbourne.htm

maybe this will haunt me but.........having seen you against Cobh twice, there is a big gap in quality tbh.

just my opinion

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1
    Shels a few years back in tolka? Sligo won 3-2 it was one of the best games i ever seen in EL. The first two goals for Rovers were unbelieveable one was a 30 yard screamer and the second was a dipping swerving shot from at least

Remember that now alright .... great goals to be fair.

I dunno ... Still think City will have this .... if nothing goes wrong that is.

it pi$$es me off that any1 could say 3-0 to cork. have ye no faith? galway 0 cork 0, cork 0 harps 0, shelbourne 2 sligo rovers 3. i think o'callaghan is class too but he's not fast&not great defensively. burnsy will cope with o'flynn. fenn is gifted but sometimes looks lazy. if faz is on da left he can defo cause cork serious problems. i think occasionaly cork's defence looks a wee bit uncomposed hopefully saint paul can capatilise

if feeneys starts he may get some joy going forward as fenn is not 6teh bast at tracking back, however he sits in front of midfiled and behind striker so will need to picked up or he could do damage

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva
    it pi$$es me off that any1 could say 3-0 to cork. have ye no faith? galway 0 cork 0, cork 0 harps 0, shelbourne 2 sligo rovers 3. i think o'callaghan is class too but he's not fast&not great defensively. burnsy will cope with o'flynn. fenn is gifted but sometimes looks lazy. if faz is on da left he can defo cause cork serious problems. i think occasionaly cork's defence looks a wee bit uncomposed hopefully saint paul can capatilise
    Everyone has an opinion that's the beauty about the beautiful game.
    I sincerely think we'll be outclassed, I'm not saying that because I hope we will be, I'm hoping we win the game just as much as you do Re4Eva.
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1
    A Shams supporter calling us Rovers

hehe i can seee why most eL fans call us Sligo and them Rovers just that we would never call us Sligo ie whenever i hear a fan shout "come on Sligo" at games it just feels strange .

a few Years ago the regulars in the stand use to pipe up once or twice a year with Sligo clap clap clap & it was the weirdest sounding thing, Leave it to the Gaa

paddy powers have cork 2/7 and rovers 15/2 to win which is ridiculous, our recent form is better than theirs amd they will have Europe to consider, cork are there for the taking, rovers to win 2-1, happy days

Cork will get chances, most teams do against Rovers, it is all a matter of whether they take them or not...............we will need a bit of luck

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Forever
    paddy powers have cork 2/7 and rovers 15/2 to win which is ridiculous, our recent form is better than theirs amd they will have Europe to consider, cork are there for the taking, rovers to win 2-1, happy days
    what the hell do you think your'e doing taking my name?

Quote Originally Posted by roversforever
    what the hell do you think your'e doing taking my name?

Great post sligoman.....i think youve been out in the sun for too long

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    Great post sligoman
    Thanks

more perspective amigos

Lads - let's get some perspective...

shels 2 rovers 3 sounds a bit like england 4 west germany 2 - know what i mean? amazing result for us a few years back and jaysus was i a happy man that day but all it shows in the context of tomorrow's game is that upsets happen in football, no news there, doncaster and grimsby are recent proof of that.

but to draw comparisons is a bit ridickulos - we have a completely different set-up to when we beat shels...you can'y even compare the starting 11

i feel if we play like against pats then we could nick a draw - if we did i'd be DELIGHTED.

da vinci code

just noticed that my last post was my 62nd post ever (since 2002) and also the 62nd post of this thread...

...maybe i should contribute more

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast