Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Games weekend 27th to 30th September

685 Posts
    I reckon Pats or Galway are more deserving of winning the league than Amy of the top 3. That being said 4 wins from any of the top 5 will probably win the league.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Damien mcgrath screwing up again.
    He is a terrible dose
    Seems he got the call correct

https://twitter.com/stebenn15/status...3H23kyw_A&s=19

247 Posts
    Mother of Jaysus what a game that was, rollercoaster of emotions. Pats should’ve been home and hosed at 2-0 up after missing several good chances and hitting the woodwork twice but once Tulloch got that wonder goal from nothing the momentum looked only one way until Kazeem knocks in the winner with his first touch (thanks for that one Galway ) Can’t remember a collective head loss in a title race as Shels in their current form. Fans bollocking players for slow buildup play while it’s 0-0, players and coaching staff going absolutely nuts, prime example being Smith's idiotic red card and Martin I think it was, was lucky not to be sent off also, coaching staff starting on Brian Gartland etc. They look mentally shot. I said it on Friday and I’ll say it again, if there was a few extra games left in the season I reckon Pats would win it this year but the runway is running out unfortunately despite the incredible form over the last while (10 wins, 3 draws, 1 loss in the last 14 in all competitions). Incredibly excited for next season though

Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Absolutely. Martin has a fist full of Bolger’s jersey which caused him to go down, taking Martin with him, correct decision.
    Last edited by 2 Year Contract; 01/10/2024 at 12:53 AM.
    Paaatrick's Agletic

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Still scratching my head at this really. It was an utterly crap game on the most horrendous pitch in all of professional football, but Harps should have won comfortably.
    Don't know about that Nige. As Murph said, draw probably fair. We had maybe slightly the better chances, but Kerry dictated play for sizable stretches. We should have killed it off when we went ahead

247 Posts
    Have to laugh at Duff's post match reaction to try and pin the blame on the ref when A, it’s a free out all day long, B, he says Redmond made the 'foul' when it was Bolger involved in the incident and C, his team won the ball back after that free kick, Tulloch had the ball on the wing about 15 seconds before Pats scored the winner. The headloss continued post match it seems

By the law of averages I still think they’ll win some games soon, probably the home games against Waterford and Drogheda. If they can nick a point against Rovers or Derry then that should be enough to get over the line with 61 points as that would require Derry getting 4 wins from their last 5, or 3 wins and 2 draws, which I have no faith in them getting. Would be hilarious if Shels let it slip away from here though
    Paaatrick's Agletic

607 Posts
    Next game for each team up there is what? Rovers v Shels, Bohs v Pats, Bohs v Derry and Galway v Dundalk?

Draw or Rovers win + wins for Pat's, Derry and Galway would make for a pretty incredible run in.

Pat's then still have to play Derry/Galway before Derry v Shels on the final day.

A couple teams have to play Drogheda, who have a small chance of catching Bohs, who themselves could be in a tailspin with some tough fixtures coming.

Pat's and Galway actually have a reasonable shout of doing this if one of them just won all 4 matches given how the fixtures are falling with a lot of the top 5 playing one another.

I think Rovers fixtures are pretty kind and they could easily just go and win every match, they had been a bit better before the Pat's humbling, but 2 games in Europe will likely put them out of it, Shels playing them a few days after APOEL is a huge opportunity.

Derry should have won the title by now, but sure look, there's no point trying to predict what they'll do.

Momentum is big and Pat's/Galway have it, I think this is by far the most interesting title challenge in years and I love it.
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 01/10/2024 at 10:04 AM.

685 Posts
    if Rovers beat Shels on Sunday i make Pats favourites for the title. They have won 5 gamews in a row and are currently only 2 points behind a missfiring Rovers with 5 games to go

We have been consistantly awful when called upon for a performance this year and i would give us a 5% chance of bettering Pats total points between now and seasons end
    The 3 teams currently at the Top are on relegation form or mid table at best. Id genuinely give Galway more chnace than us
    people will say i am being negative but on what planet are we going to approach Pats points total in the last 5 games.....Its not completly impossible but it would require us to do something we havent done all season, win 4 or 5 games in a row

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Next game for each team up there is what? Rovers v Shels, Bohs v Pats, Bohs v Derry and Galway v Dundalk?

Draw or Rovers win + wins for Pat's, Derry and Galway would make for a pretty incredible run in.

Pat's then still have to play Derry/Galway before Derry v Shels on the final day.

A couple teams have to play Drogheda, who have a small chance of catching Bohs, who themselves could be in a tailspin with some tough fixtures coming.

Pat's and Galway actually have a reasonable shout of doing this if one of them just won all 4 matches given how the fixtures are falling with a lot of the top 5 playing one another.

I think Rovers fixtures are pretty kind and they could easily just go and win every match, they had been a bit better before the Pat's humbling, but 2 games in Europe will likely put them out of it, Shels playing them a few days after APOEL is a huge opportunity.

Derry should have won the title by now, but sure look, there's no point trying to predict what they'll do.

Momentum is big and Pat's/Galway have it, I think this is by far the most interesting title challenge in years and I love it.
    Derry are the bookies favourites Atm and with 3 home games,where they are much better than away and an away game against hapless Dundalk you’d think it’s still there for them,obviously they’ve shown themselves to be huge bottle jobs so far but it’s not beyond the realms of possibility they could put it together….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

286 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    if Rovers beat Shels on Sunday i make Pats favourites for the title. They have won 5 game's in a row and are currently only 2 points behind a missfiring Rovers with 5 games to go

We have been consistantly awful when called upon for a performance this year and i would give us a 5% chance of bettering Pats total points between now and seasons end
    The 3 teams currently at the Top are on relegation form or mid table at best. Id genuinely give Galway more chnace than us
    people will say i am being negative but on what planet are we going to approach Pats points total in the last 5 games.....Its not completly impossible but it would require us to do something we havent done all season, win 4 or 5 games in a row
    After the start to the season we had the title talk is a bit of craic but its not realistic. If were in Galway's position id considerer us to be in with an outside chance but the gap imo is too large at this stage of a campaign. If we get back into Europe mixed in with the run we had in Europe this season and the good form we have shown recently it would be job done for Kenny.

32 Posts
    If, and it’s a big if the way we’re playing, bohs were to dump Derry out on Friday would it help them to concentrate on the league run in, or have the negative impact?
    Very hard to tell but they are definitely not getting full value from that team.

If Galway Utd win the league I'll buy every one of you a pint of Champagne.
    Ah, what the hell, a pack of peanuts too.

235 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dermobohs View Post
    If, and it’s a big if the way we’re playing, bohs were to dump Derry out on Friday would it help them to concentrate on the league run in, or have the negative impact?
    Very hard to tell but they are definitely not getting full value from that team.
    Negative, I'd say. We've Bohs at home next week, so would sow a bit of doubt, you'd guess.
    Added to that, both ourselves and Bohs would be expected to go on and win the cup after Friday*, so added hurt for the losing team.

*Sure you'd be only be playing Drogheda in the final, handy one there....

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Negative, I'd say. We've Bohs at home next week, so would sow a bit of doubt, you'd guess.
    Added to that, both ourselves and Bohs would be expected to go on and win the cup after Friday*, so added hurt for the losing team.

*Sure you'd be only be playing Drogheda in the final, handy one there....
    Positive;Bohs fans would happily lose in the league game!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post

The way the games are staggered for the next couple of weeks puts different pressures on each team when they play.

We've Dundalk at home on Friday to go up to second within a couple of points of Shels. It's probably the first time all season that we've been overwhelming favourites to win, so hopefully that pressure doesn't tell but there definitely is pressure and expectation that we'll win that.

If we win that we're away to Pat's the week after the international break in an absolutely massive match.

At this stage I'd be absolutely delighted to finish third (or even fourth and Derry winning the cup) and qualifying for Europe. In all my years following United we've never been in this situation before. In 93/94 when we finished third we were never near Rovers in the title race.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

685 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Posted by a pats fan lol. You obviously didn't see the video.

373 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buckett View Post
    If Galway Utd win the league I'll buy every one of you a pint of Champagne.
    Ah, what the hell, a pack of peanuts too.
    That’s nuts!!

685 Posts
    Galway are in better form have same points as rovers and are 16 to 1. Rovers are 9/2 to win the league. Odds based purely on reputation that we don't deserve at this point.

We were 100/1, then 40/1 and now we're 16/1, all in the past week.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345