Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: League Cup final on Tuesday...

71 Posts
    I'm sure the old Sports Bar would have been perfect to show the game however we all know what happened to that. The other lads can approach the bars if they want but I'm having nothing to do with those bars ran the SU tossers.

Stamped at half time to ensure they see at least the first half!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I'm sure the old Sports Bar would have been perfect to show the game however we all know what happened to that. The other lads can approach the bars if they want but I'm having nothing to do with those bars ran the SU tossers.
    You're the one looking for a crowd, mate!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Q: What is UCD's home ground called?
    A: The tenth circle of hell?

On a more serious note, getting the bars to show it live seems just a tad counter-productive.
    Revenge for 2002

sure you can't even see the goal or corner if your sitting at the end of the stand in that **** hole + you can't go to the stand behind the goal anymore or stand on the hill!
    Where exactly can you watch the game from??
    Best bet is your TV set!!

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    sure you can't even see the goal or corner if your sitting at the end of the stand
    The stand has been redesigned especially for you BohsFans. Come along to see the improvements. I predict that thay'll be gone again before the Swiss international.

i'm sure the splendour of the AIB stand will look magnificent tonight!

33 Posts
    BA Evening and i have an exciting two hours of a social Policy lecture on theories and concepts of Irish Social Policy !!!!

What time will ye be manning the stand till ?

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    The free ticket giveaway is out for the exact reasons Krstic said.
    Seems like typical eL short-sightedness. Surely the league could make up the shortfall on giving away 1,000 free tickets or, failing that, the clubs could split the cost (seeing as its not going to be full anyway!).

Of course, once the (extended?) AIB stand is full, having more people than usual around the ground may not make much of a difference to how it looks on TV with the empty, broken seats closed off behind the goal and the grass bank also out of commission. What is the official capacity of Belfield these days?
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint
    Seems like typical eL short-sightedness. Surely the league could make up the shortfall on giving away 1,000 free tickets or, failing that, the clubs could split the cost (seeing as its not going to be full anyway!).

Of course, once the (extended?) AIB stand is full, having more people than usual around the ground may not make much of a difference to how it looks on TV with the empty, broken seats closed off behind the goal and the grass bank also out of commission. What is the official capacity of Belfield these days?
    So Derry sell maybe 500 tickets and UCD sell 200, yet we have to share the burden of helping to promote UCD by giving free tickets to free loading, soap dodging students ??

If you had wanted a big crowd at the final then the game should have been played at the Brandywell

A brother of mine in UCD, who has absolutely no interest in football (or sports in general) was asking me about the Cup Final tonight after whatever marketing was going on in UCD, so maybe you are getting through to more people than you think.

3,491 Posts
    What is the official capacity of Belfield these days?
    1900, though up to 2000 or so with the extra seats.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Nightdub
    On a more serious note, getting the bars to show it live seems just a tad counter-productive.
    The idea (or rather, my thinking) is that a lot of students aren't going to go the game anyway. However, if they're drinking in the bar (as they quite probably will be), it'll be good for them to see Belfield Park on the telly - at least then they'll have heard of it and will be able to see where it is. Particularly if they're freshers.

Up to 1,150 tickets sold now apparently, so the stand will be packed. Crowd may push 1500 in the end. Very slight possibility of a sell-out.

176 Posts
    1900, though up to 2000 or so with the extra seats.

The idea (or rather, my thinking) is that a lot of students aren't going to go the game anyway. However, if they're drinking in the bar (as they quite probably will be), it'll be good for them to see Belfield Park on the telly - at least then they'll have heard of it and will be able to see where it is. Particularly if they're freshers.

Up to 1,150 tickets sold now apparently, so the stand will be packed. Crowd may push 1500 in the end. Very slight possibility of a sell-out.
    The game should be in either Longford, or Drogheda. I guess however, that the FAI wanted the game in Belfield, so there would be fans from both sides at it. If the game was outside Dublin, the support would be about 97% - 3% in Derry's favour.

3,491 Posts
    It was an open draw for home advantage - nothing to do with the FAI at all.

I hope it does sell out.
    No matter what anyone thinks about the venue or the clubs involved, this is the final of one of our major competitions and the better it comes across on TV, the better for all the league.

3,491 Posts
    What is the official capacity of Belfield these days?
    Quick update...

848 seats in the AIB stand
    333 being added
    1100 standing
    => 2281 overall.

UCD 1-Derry 2 Byrne for ucdand murphy and Mcwalter o.g ,This is a result

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcgirl
    UCD 1-Derry 2 Byrne for ucdand murphy and Mcwalter o.g ,This is a result
    Delighted...Fair play Derry!!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Delighted, Setanta here we come. City 'til I die
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Setanta here we come
    Couldn't have put it better myself

1,104 Posts
    Well done Derry, ye definitely deserve silverware this year and it's not over yet. If yerselves and Cork can see ye're way to meeting in the FAI Cup final then I'll be in even more generous mood if we keep up our form and take at least 4th!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast