Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland v England - Saturday, 7th September 2024 - UEFA Nations League

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Travers, Kelleher, OLearly

Coleman, Doherty, O'Shea, Collins, Omobamidele, Scales, O'Brien, Brady, O'Dowda.

Knight, Molumby, Smallbone, Browne, McAteer.

Idah, Robinson, Ferguson, Szmodics, Parrott, Ogbene.

Very light in midfield. Very surprised to see no Jamie McGrath given his form.

John O'Shea's influence likely not that strong, even though HH said he'd be leaning on O'Shea and McCarthy in this window for squad selection when there's no Duffy and no talk whatsoever about McClean.

On McGrath, I think he got 0 minutes in the 4 matches under O'Shea. I know I've said before that long term I think he'll end up being a fringe player for us at best, but given he's probably got the most minutes in his legs of anyone in the squad, and playing well I figured he could be a starter in the short term, to not be in the squad at all is weird.

505 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    I think the lack of Azaz, Moran, McGrath or any kind of creative attacking central midfielder gives a strong early indication of what would have been suspected based on HH's management history - creative attacking midfielders and playing through the thirds is out, strong runners and creating chances with wingers is in.

Not good news for the types on twitter that start creaming themselves whenever Andy Moran or Dan Crowley do something of note down the divisions!
    McGrath though has been playing as a winger and while it's not Azaz's best position he's a strong runner and not a small lad. Would have him out wide before Callum Robinson. Would also see McGrath as more of a worker than a creative attacking midfielder.

Not surprised to see no Moran. HH talked about not calling up U21 players for the sake of it. Said playing games is more important than training. U21s have a make or break game away to Turkey this window and Moran has only played the one game so far this season.

HH is pragmatic and hasn't had time to work with players before a competitive game so not surprised with the squad bar McGrath and Azaz. Think JOS even played Azaz as part of a midfield two back in June.

1,075 Posts
    A whole press conference there without a single question digging down to any extent into the squad selection, other than an inevitable one about Evan Ferguson.

Why only 23 players? No idea, it wasn't asked.

Is that it for Duffy, and is McClean now completely gone? No idea, it wasn't asked.

Were Cannon and Johnston's omissions to do with injury, ongoing transfers, or purely a selection decision? No idea, it wasn't asked.

Just generic questions that led to obvious generic answers. Hopefully the print journalists can do a bit better.

One other thing to note is that Azaz and Cannon are two players who are not tied to Ireland who could be tied through a single Nations League appearance, but neither are in the squad for the Nations League games.
    Last edited by Eirambler; 29/08/2024 at 1:25 PM.

386 Posts
    Carsley is quoted as saying he doesn’t know how we’ll play but that squad telegraphs a 3-4-3 formation and more of the same. Difficult to follow on the press stream but feels a bit blurry the hierarchy between HH and O’Shea, and didn’t sound like HH himself believes he’ll have much input for the England/ Greece games. Interesting that O’Shea mentioned he knew what was going on in the background (prior to HH’s appointment) - does that mean O'Shea was chosen by the FAI as assistant?

87 Posts
    England squad announced...Decky & Jackie back in Ireland.
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

1,075 Posts
    They also have Liveramento, who is eligible for Portugal and Scotland, in their squad. He's 21 now, so they can cap him in the Nations League and tie him. That particular one doesn't affect Ireland, but shows how smart England (and other countries) are when it comes to this kind of thing.

662 Posts
    Update on the midfielders:

Smallbone hooked after 45 mins losing 1-0. Not sure if it was tactical or injury related, presumably tactical.

Molumby scored and came off with a head injury after 65 mins.

Browne started his first game of the season and scored.

Knight played 90 minutes for Bristol in a loss to Derby

As for the lads who weren’t called up:

Azaz started and got an assist (corner) and almost scored a good goal, so no injury issues I guess, which some people online were saying was the reason he was left out.

Cullen still injured - which was likely but his manager gave a quote when he was initially injured which left a little hope.

McGrath came off injured after 35 mins against Ross County.

Taylor didn't make the Ipswich squad, having played in the games against Liverpool and City. Might need an injury to a midfielder before he's back in the squad for them
    Last edited by elatedscum; 01/09/2024 at 3:26 AM.

1,159 Posts
    That wasn't Browne's first start of the season. He started the first league game against Cardiff. He was injured for their second league game. Came on in the third. Started the fourth, as you say.

It appears that Knight is playing in the deepest two of a 4-2-3-1 which is good in my view. For all his qualities I just don't think he's ever shown a goalscoring or creative knack that will see him progress in that three behind the striker.

1,075 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    Update on the midfielders:

Smallbone hooked after 45 mins losing 1-0. Not sure if it was tactical or injury related, presumably tactical.

Molumby scored and came off with a head injury after 65 mins.

Browne started his first game of the season and scored.

Knight played 90 minutes for Bristol in a loss to Derby

As for the lads who weren’t called up:

Azaz started and got an assist (corner) and almost scored a good goal, so no injury issues I guess, which some people online were saying was the reason he was left out.

Cullen still injured - which was likely but his manager gave a quote when he was initially injured which left a little hope.

McGrath came off injured after 35 mins against Ross County.

Taylor didn't make the Ipswich squad, having played in the games against Liverpool and City. Might need an injury to a midfielder before he's back in the squad for them
    Smallbone was tactical I think. Didn't have a good half. A very good Championship player but probably not quite Premier League quality, not at the moment anyway.

The thing is you could say that about loads of them. Smallbone/Browne/Knight/Molumby, probably Azaz as well. Cullen much the same though he did at least have some good moments for Burnley last season, but he was out of the team at times as well.

I think what Heimir will do in midfield when he gets his head around our full squad is he will pick three workhorses in there and compensate for a lack of quality by filling the space with hard working players to give the defence more protection than Kenny's setup gave them. Then attack with pace down the wings. All of Smallbone, Knight, Molumby, Browne and Cullen are honest, hard working players so we have the numbers to do it. Probably Lawal in time as well.

I don't really see what else he can do really that could work. We're strong at the back, potentially strong up front and there's plenty of pace out wide now in Ogbene, McAteer, Johnston and maybe Ebosele. There's no top class midfielder coming through that will be a gamechanger for us that I can see. But there are other ways to be successful without one, at least in the context of what we would consider success.

491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Smallbone was tactical I think. Didn't have a good half. A very good Championship player but probably not quite Premier League quality, not at the moment anyway.

The thing is you could say that about loads of them. Smallbone/Browne/Knight/Molumby, probably Azaz as well. Cullen much the same though he did at least have some good moments for Burnley last season, but he was out of the team at times as well.

I think what Heimir will do in midfield when he gets his head around our full squad is he will pick three workhorses in there and compensate for a lack of quality by filling the space with hard working players to give the defence more protection than Kenny's setup gave them. Then attack with pace down the wings. All of Smallbone, Knight, Molumby, Browne and Cullen are honest, hard working players so we have the numbers to do it. Probably Lawal in time as well.

I don't really see what else he can do really that could work. We're strong at the back, potentially strong up front and there's plenty of pace out wide now in Ogbene, McAteer, Johnston and maybe Ebosele. There's no top class midfielder coming through that will be a gamechanger for us that I can see. But there are other ways to be successful without one, at least in the context of what we would consider success.
    https://m.independent.ie/sport/socce...238729444.html this is likely a new low for the indo.

228 Posts
    Omobamidele not even in the Forest squad yesterday, while O'Brien was on the bench for Everton, whereas Duffy shone for Norwich in his fifth appearance of the season.
    Good to see Coleman playing the whole game for Everton. Suggests he'll start against England.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

122 Posts
    Seamus looked a bit shaky from what I've seen. Especially when his legs went near the end. Was being beaten regularly down his side. Also missed a sitter after a lovely bit of attacking play though.

I don't want him playing 180 minutes in 5 days again like JOS elected to do back in June.

106 Posts
    Was just going to say the same CP - apparently he played OK but legs were gone in the last ten. I read that Bournemouth made 5 substitutions towards the end and Everton made one, which is inexplicable from the Everton manager. Pickford had a mare apparently, so there's some good news.
    Last edited by texidub; 01/09/2024 at 12:33 PM.

505 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    https://m.independent.ie/sport/socce...238729444.html this is likely a new low for the indo.
    Am I reading it wrong but they're saying "talks" happened in July 2024, but Carsley is talking about they spoke in July 2023.

1,075 Posts
    A very poor headline.

491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Am I reading it wrong but they're saying "talks" happened in July 2024, but Carsley is talking about they spoke in July 2023.
    That's exactly how I read it. Carsley says he met them.after the 21s euro s which is july 2023 obviously but the article seems to think that was juky 2024 which is idiotic and woeful journalism

19. Thanks From:

1,159 Posts
    Our issues in the squad with midfield are summed up by trying to pick a side of Premiership players - which is something we haven't always been able to do the last couple of years.

You can fill a 4-2-3-1 side like Kelleher, Coleman, O'Shea, Collins, Doherty as your back 5 and put Ogbene, McAteer, Ferguson and Szmodics in the front somewhere but aside from Smallbone the midfielders are all Championship.

And I have left out O'Brien, Parrott, Idah, Scales who are in the top tier of England, Netherlands and Scotland.

A lot will depend on what Halgrimsson goes for with formation. I hope he abandons the wing backs. That made O'Shea look really silly I think.

Even if it's 4-4-2 he might have to sacrifice Smallbone and go with Browne and Molumby for some hard workers in there, maybe Knight. You could see Szmodics partner Ferguson or more likely Idah or maybe Parrott would make more sense?

What are the odds on:

Kelleher,
    Coleman/Collins/O'Shea/Doherty,
    Ogbene/Browne/Molumby/Szmodics,
    Parrott/Idah

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Omobamidele not even in the Forest squad yesterday, while O'Brien was on the bench for Everton, whereas Duffy shone for Norwich in his fifth appearance of the season.
    Good to see Coleman playing the whole game for Everton. Suggests he'll start against England.
    You do remember Duffys last appearance for Ireland where he was hooked at half time having spent the 1st half doing his best impression of a pub player, but slower. Good servant, his day has passed. Others like McGuinness and Dunne should even move ahead of him in pecking order
    Its really not that complicated!!!

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    You do remember Duffys last appearance for Ireland where he was hooked at half time having spent the 1st half doing his best impression of a pub player, but slower. Good servant, his day has passed. Others like McGuinness and Dunne should even move ahead of him in pecking order
    Yeah I do remember that game and Matt Doherty, who is in the squad, was also hooked at half-time having played poorly. As the example of Doherty shows, then, one sub-par performance doesn't define a player. Fancy that. Plus, time is linear (or is it a flat circle, who the féck knows?) and, it may not fit the narrative, but it is a fair observation to make that two of the CBs in HH's squad haven't been playing while Duffy has been ever-present in a high-pressing, passing Norwich side under Johannes Hoff Thorup. Match fitness is going to be crucial at this point in the season, simple as. Incidentally, his CB partner at Norwich, Callum Doyle, looks the real deal btw, so if he's eligible for us, he should definitely be sounded out too.

Anyway, it is ultimately moot as the form CBs at the moment are Collins, O'Shea and Scales. They will probably form the back three if we persist with that tactical approach and I think it should be Collins and O'Shea if HH goes with four at the back. They are the best CBs in the squad. I'd probably go:
    ----------------Kelleher
    Coleman, Collins, O'Shea, Brady
    ----------Molumby, Browne
    Ogbene, Smallbone, Szmodics
    ----------Ferguson

Couple of issues with the above are Szmodics on the left (ideally he'd be through the middle) and Ferguson's fitness. Adam Idah's match fitness could give him an edge, though Ferguson's undoubted quality can't be discounted. I also forgot Parrott, whose form suggests he is in with a good shout of starting up top.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

610 Posts
    Nice team. Wouldn't mind seeing Johnstone in there either
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast