Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Games Weekend 23rd ti 25th August

74 Posts
    The firework was let off outside the ground and fired in . Rovers statement is not enough .

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    I don't think there's any great difference in quality/standard than usual, just how it's spread out. As much as there's the argument made of more players leaving for L1/L2 clubs, some of those in recent years have been the likes of Rory Feely, Ciaran Kelly etc, who without wanting to be seen to be slagging off haven't exactly been huge losses to the league, nor has it been reflected in how they've performed since leaving. Meanwhile you're seeing players like Romal Palmer, Ellis Chapman and so forth playing in the league who have good experience at that same level (and in some cases at an even higher one) coming in, so it can work both ways.

For me there's just been poor squad building in the league and it's reflected in a lot of teams. Rovers have plenty of talent yet decided to go with Pohls as #1, Bohs are strong in certain areas of the pitch yet have been a mess in how they've recruited in both the defensive and striker positions, Daly made a bit of a hash of things with Pats in the off season, Derry often make some questionable decisions given their expectations/budget etc. But there's still plenty of good players in those teams and dotted around the league generally. The closest thing approaching a consensus at the moment is that the top of the league is weak relative to usual but the mid-to-bottom of it is better and I think that's a fair take on it.
    I agree, it's all swings and roundabouts.

I mostly remember fiercely competitive title races, with three or even four teams in with a shout in the run-in, hell even the last day teams have won the league from what third? fourth place?

The last decade has been an outlier in terms of having one standout team win the league, head and shoulders above the rest. Maybe with second place snapping at their heels, but for the most part it's been all bark and no bite. For one reason or another they have, so far, been unable to capitalise on any dominance with a changing of the guard.

As others have pointed - there are recent changes that have impacted the league. Contracts, wages and transfer fees have slowed the domestic market. Brexit has slowed youth transfers, but made the league a more attractive proposition to English lower league and Scottish teams. Academies have started to make up the shortfall in domestic movement. Loans and speculation on foreign based player have moved from the periphery to central to most clubs competitiveness, or lack thereof.

Times change. I'm all in favour of not having a procession to the title. Is the league worse off for it? I mean a league where European group stage money means you hoover up all the best players, repeat ad nauseum, isn't great. At the minute we're in the middle of the churn of all the above. As a fan of the league it's equal parts feckin brilliant and frustrating (as a dcfc fan, a bit of a procession would be welcome about now ).

How it all shakes out after remains to be seen. Is money all that matters? Are we going to have a top six with money that's almost impossible to break into? Or a premier division of haves and the have nots in the first. You know like the old days, on a much bigger scale.

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    The firework was let off outside the ground and fired in . Rovers statement is not enough .
    No, no. You misunderstand. Rovers employed this fella but they also employ a company to run security. As this guy doesn't work for the company Rovers employ to run security neither Rovers nor the company can be to blame. The context that this guy reacted to something that was nothing to do with the fans he assaulted has nothing to do with the incident or Rovers or their security company. This statement is the end of the issue. You should act like model club SRFC and accept that. Galway certainly shouldn't release a counter statement or appeal to the FAI looking for sanctions against Rovers. To do so would be rather uncouth.

671 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Rovers statement in summary is that the matter is with the guards and the guy will never work for the club again...

What did you expoect them to say? "The matter is with the guards , he will never work for us again and we have arranged a punishment beating in advance of seeing what the guards do"
    Fair play for hgetting out ahead of it early imo but some people will never be satisfied.
    In some way im surprised the club have come out so strongly sanctioning him if its still with the guards as he will probably argue we have convicted him already without due process but to be honest im glad you cant have stewards wading into the crowd no matter what the provaction

31 Posts
    Will ya stop, why mention the firework at all? It had nothing to do with us, so it was no excuse for the steward to "react"

915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    we have arranged a punishment beating in advance of seeing what the guards do
    Better than the half-time entertainment most clubs provide, and it just might tempt RTE into covering a live game. Commentary by Paul Reynolds with local celebrity Paddy Holohan as the expert summariser.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

182 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Another Bohemia View Post
    No, no. You misunderstand. Rovers employed this fella but they also employ a company to run security. As this guy doesn't work for the company Rovers employ to run security neither Rovers nor the company can be to blame. The context that this guy reacted to something that was nothing to do with the fans he assaulted has nothing to do with the incident or Rovers or their security company. This statement is the end of the issue. You should act like model club SRFC and accept that. Galway certainly shouldn't release a counter statement or appeal to the FAI looking for sanctions against Rovers. To do so would be rather uncouth.
    It must be quite awful to be irrelevant.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345