Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: FAO St Pats Fans - Groundsharing

So can you give me the attendances of the Pats home games so far this season?

Id like to get th eaverage and see how it compares to the bogus figures from that thread.

Also, Bohs & Cork give official attendances...
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

He said Pats are the only club who announce the attendance during a game. Bohs don't, though our attendances are published in the match programme.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    I think Shels “poor” support compared to other clubs comes from the fact that for years it was a dead duck of a club, especially in the 80s.

I’m sure if there was a foot.ie equivalent back in the mid-80s when Shels had no home and were in the First Division, and you posted that in 20 years time Shels would be getting crowds as big as Bohs and Rovers and would have numerous trophies to their name, then you would have been laughed at.

People always said about Shels up to recently (and some still do) that their support almost entirely consisted of kids and auld lads, and this was pretty much an undeniable fact.

Now though, those kids (I, of which was one, being 12 when I started supporting Shels in 1992, and now being 24), are growing up and this will lead to a change of dynamics within the Shels support.

This will be both good and bad, for example, I’m witnessing trouble at Shels games for the first time since I started supporting them, which is a direct result of certain fans getting to a certain age.

However, people around my age will also start having families etc. over the next 20 years or so and more and more Shelbourne families will then start to emerge, leading to a more balanced pattern to our support.

Also some of the kids who supported Shels, and then drifted away in their teens, may comeback to the club when they settle down and start looking to bring their kids to games.

What I’m saying is, that Shels have had recent success sure, but people in their 20s and 30s don’t jump on a glory hunting bandwagons like that, kids do.

Shels started to become a successful club in the 90s and kids like me went along, the true legacy of Shels winning that support won’t be felt short-term, it will be a long-term steady gain.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo

Btw can people stop using 'FACT' as it looks stupid - FACT

FACT is trademarked by Bohs fans.

Get your own pointless internet jargon.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man
    FACT is trademarked by Bohs fans.

Get your own pointless internet jargon.
    It's true it stands for

Forever Acting Common Thugs

Joke Bohs fans before I get lynched

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    countys
    should be counties

Pats have had no designs on moving to Tallaght. For as long as I worked for the SDCC (up until June) No one from Pats where ever in to my knowledge for talks about Tallaght stadium.

None of you will probably believe me but Shels have been in for more talks over that stadium than the GAA. And that's a Fact.

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    Pats have had no designs on moving to Tallaght. For as long as I worked for the SDCC (up until June) No one from Pats where ever in to my knowledge for talks about Tallaght stadium.

pats were waiting til u left......non stop meetings in July and August!

As Dodge said, we've no incentive to leave Richmond at the moment. On a good night the ground is a third full so we've no capacity issues. That's unlikely to change for the foreseeable future.

Personally I've no huge moral difficulty with the notion of groundsharing with Rovers. Our board has told us quite clearly that if some developer made them an offer they couldn't refuse, they'd be willing to talk about leaving Richmond, but would only do so on the basis that an alternative stadium would be ready to move into straight away - i.e. no "interim" renting of Dalymount or anywhere else. You could call it learning the Rovers lesson.

One thing that'd definitely put the brakes on any notion of us moving to Tallaght along with Rovers is that the SDCC have said quite clearly that they view Rovers as their anchor tenants going forward. Not Rovers and Pats. Not Rovers and St.Marks GAA. Not Rovers and any other assorted community sporting thingumyjigs. This all came out around the time they started the process of getting the lease on the stadium back from Branvard or whichever holding company was running Rovers before the 400 Club took over.

Yes, the government could in theory exert huge pressure on the SDCC to expand their thinking to include us as possible tenants as well as Rovers, but in that scenario, I'd imagine the rest of the League would have a collective conniption.

Think about it: we sell Richmond for a humungous wad because of its location. I've no idea of land prices in D8, let's say €20million. We move to Tallaght to share a municapally funded stadium, so incur no building costs. So we end up with a €20million fund for transfers and wages. Champions League and eternal domination of the LoI, here we come. Can't see all the other clubs rolling over and going "Nice bit of business, fair play to youse."
    Revenge for 2002

None of you will probably believe me but Shels have been in for more talks over that stadium than the GAA. And that's a Fact.
    Actually, that figures.
    Ollie and co are on thin ice posturing as a northside club. You don't have to be a historian to know that they belong emphatically south of the river, where Shels had a proud tradition which, of course, government planners, FAI suits, and some with a thin grasp of Dublin psyche and geography, have no regard for.
    Their move to Tolka certainly has not brought in droves of supporters. If I were doing their strategic planning, I'd be looking for an identity other than Donabate Dons or Abbotstown Shelbohs.
    PS: as for Rovers being some sort of pan-Dublin superclub, YHAL!

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    Trust me, thats not internet posturing or wishful thinking, the rovers support comes from all over the city, and it's probably about 65-35 on a southside/northside basis.
    So that's 65 on the southside, 35 on the northside, where do the other 300 come from
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Oh we are well aware of their attempt to gazump us!

Queue the shels fans indignation at the mere suggestion that their club arent a model of loveliness....

I hear Bohs & Shels will be sharing Dalymount a lot sooner than people think...

We are well aware that Ollie had or has been looking at that option...

Its not a move that would get any sort of backing from Shels. That's not to say it wont happen as Ollie is the boss and what he says goes unfortunately.

How recent was this interest you are talking of?
    www.ssdg.ie

Well Pete ,,

Why dont you tell us what you heard so?
    Im sure Shels and Bohs fans would love to hear it ...
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I hear Bohs & Shels will be sharing Dalymount a lot sooner than people think...
    You must know a hell of a lot more than the Bohs membership and some committee members then.

I would be in favour of allowing Shelbourne to buy a 50% stake of Dalymount Park though. Ollie would want to do a better job of courting Bohemians over such a move than his behavior in the ground suggests he is capable of though.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    You must know a hell of a lot more than the Bohs membership and some committee members then.

I would be in favour of allowing Shelbourne to buy a 50% stake of Dalymount Park though. Ollie would want to do a better job of courting Bohemians over such a move than his behavior in the ground suggests he is capable of though.
    I think we should look at that in deeper terms than Ollie's personal behaviour.
    Selling 50% of Dalymount obviously makes short and medium-term financial sense, assuming the price is right. But it is giving Shelbourne a lifeline and a foothold in Bohemian turf (disregarding assertions made here that BFC is some kind of homeless nowhere club) and that, in my view, has strong potential as slow suicide.
    BFC is the EL club with the strongest claim to loyalty in north Dublin. The others are imposters. We should keep it that way.

Bohs and shels in the one stadium ?

ugh

we took em in in the 80's and look at the monster we helped create!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    We are well aware that Ollie had or has been looking at that option...

Its not a move that would get any sort of backing from Shels. That's not to say it wont happen as Ollie is the boss and what he says goes unfortunately.

How recent was this interest you are talking of?
    The most recent where meetings when Rovers where in examinership. They have probably been in more recently, I don't know, but could easily find out.

Also Shels moving to a new stadium in Donabate is a load of bull. They where told at one meeting what's the point in them coming out here inquiring about Tallaght stadium if they had plans of their own for a stadium and selling Tolka. They (Shels) gave a bit of a politicians reply to that. Also the SDCC where a bit off put when they dug about a bit and names of people that formed the group (vultures) Mulden popped up

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast