Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    And the second was spelling?
    Maybe the poster meant causality ? !

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Given that over a decade has passed since the signature was adopted, it is worth remembering that it was a direct response to OWC members outrageously labelling the FAI "Football Apartheid [sic] in Ireland" for the 'crime' of selecting players who voluntarily declared their allegiance to the FAI. But that's ancient history at this point.
    Correction: That's one version of history.

And if you read Cormac Moore's "The Soccer Split", you'll see another version which points out that in the 1930's, there was a clear opportunity to heal the split, only the FAI (Leinster FA, effectively), weren't interested in a merger, but only would only settle for a complete takeover by Dublin.

"And if. You know. Your History..."

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Maybe the poster meant causality ? !
    Maybe. Either way, he might be advised to stop digging.

994 Posts
    Ronan Hale is coming in at about a goal every 300 minutes in the SPL this season. He makes Adam Idah look prolific in comparison. I don't think we need to get too hung up on this one, it's his only route to a senior international career.

212 Posts
    Correction: That's one version of history.

And if you read Cormac Moore's "The Soccer Split", you'll see another version which points out that in the 1930's, there was a clear opportunity to heal the split, only the FAI (Leinster FA, effectively), weren't interested in a merger, but only would only settle for a complete takeover by Dublin.

"And if. You know. Your History..."
    I'm increasingly relaxed about the idea of an IFA takeover. They seem to have a level of competence that's completely alien to the FAI.

220 Posts
    Ronan Hale could easily go on to score loads in the next few years and smack a few in at senior international level. Different players blossom at different stages, after all. If that turns out to be the case we may be left bemoaning his choice. I would be interested to know how much effort the FAI (Hallgrimsson, O'Shea, Kenny et al) made with Hale, if anything at all. He might currently be down the pecking order, but he did well for Ireland at U19 and U21 level, has excelled at national level and is doing well in Scotland. You'd hope he was at the very least on the radar.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    I'm increasingly relaxed about the idea of an IFA takeover. They seem to have a level of competence that's completely alien to the FAI.
    In relative terms, certainly.

But in absolute terms?

Agggggggggggggh!

P.S. We don't want you. Sorry.

614 Posts
    In relative terms, certainly.

But in absolute terms?

Agggggggggggggh!

P.S. We don't want you. Sorry.
    Ye didn't say that 100's of years ago !

270 Posts
    Ronan Hale could easily go on to score loads in the next few years and smack a few in at senior international level. Different players blossom at different stages, after all. If that turns out to be the case we may be left bemoaning his choice. I would be interested to know how much effort the FAI (Hallgrimsson, O'Shea, Kenny et al) made with Hale, if anything at all. He might currently be down the pecking order, but he did well for Ireland at U19 and U21 level, has excelled at national level and is doing well in Scotland. You'd hope he was at the very least on the radar.
    It must have been quite clear to him that there was/is nothing down for him with ROI, whether under this manager or previous, otherwise he wouldn't have entertained the thought of playing for NI.

How well it goes for NI - that's assuming he does get a chance, at least in friendlies etc - remains to be seen.

For myself, I don't see that he will ever prove to be a good-standard international striker, but that doesn't mean he still cannot be better than what we currently have, at least unless/until some of our young prospects somehow manage to make the step-up.

270 Posts
    Ye didn't say that 100's of years ago !
    Aye, but no-one else wanted you hundreds of years ago, not even the Romans!

614 Posts
    The Romans knew their limitations !

Ye should have studied history !

614 Posts
    Are Ye not using the Irish Ye after being here for so long ? !

994 Posts
    I don't think we should be clinging onto every mid 20s lower league player that there's a low percentage chance might be good enough some day. Looking at how far down the Irish striker pecking order he would be at the moment (not in the top 10 picks I suspect) it would be nearly unfair on the player to start telling him that a senior call up might be just around the corner.

He scored a little spurt of goals for Ross County early in the season. Has been quieter in front of goal more recently. And he's 26 now. That suggests he's found his level and it's not good enough to be holding out for a call up from us. 5 goals in 22 league games for Ross County doesn't make him an Ireland international striker, or anywhere close. Especially since the current Eredivisie player of the month is struggling to get game time with us.

270 Posts
    The Romans knew their limitations !

Ye should have studied history !
    I suspect that with their Mediterranean origins, the Romans knew Ireland's limitations - or should I say "Hibernia" i.e. The Land of Winter!

Are Ye not using the Irish Ye after being here for so long ? !
    I'll go for "yis", or even "yous'uns", Ulster-Scots style.
    Last edited by EalingGreen; 09/01/2025 at 9:13 PM.

614 Posts
    I suspect that with their Mediterranean origins, the Romans knew Ireland's limitations - or should I say "Hibernia" i.e. The Land of Winter!

I'll go for "yis", or even "yous'uns", Ulster-Scots style.
    I like Ye ~ ~ Interestingly ~ Ye means ~ The, in Olde English.

794 Posts
    No, it doesn't. Early modern English had the letter þ, which was substituted with a y in early movable type setting because the imported type sets didn't have a thorn (þ). It was never pronounced ye except by quaint eejits. The letter was replaced with th in modern English, though it persists in Icelandic, e.g. their former international Þórður "Thordur" Gudjonsson. None of which explains the fantastic proliferation of tildes in your posts.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

614 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    No, it doesn't. Early modern English had the letter þ, which was substituted with a y in early movable type setting because the imported type sets didn't have a thorn (þ). It was never pronounced ye except by quaint eejits. The letter was replaced with th in modern English, though it persists in Icelandic, e.g. their former international Þórður "Thordur" Gudjonsson. None of which explains the fantastic proliferation of tildes in your posts.
    That's pretty much all Greek to me !

I do like tildes alright.

794 Posts
    Imagine playing scrabble without any q tiles, but you agree that an upside down b will do in a pinch.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

21. Thanks From:

3,447 Posts
    thread moved