Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Sportscall on RTE 1

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Doubt it. Eddie Hobbs will probably do better .............. Not to mention Corrie & all that rubbish
    RTE Ratings

I've no inside knowledge but I think France match will push 1m viewers.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    When the ratings come out you'll see that the France game will have probably single highest figure on irish TV this year & that doesn't account for huge numbers watching in the pub.
    Not a hope - Rose of Tralee, Rip Off Republic, The Late Late, to name just a few. General rule of thumb - RTÉ One way outdoes RTÉ Two no matter what's on Two. For instance the Late Late will always beat the Sunday Game Live.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Not a hope - Rose of Tralee, Rip Off Republic, The Late Late, to name just a few. General rule of thumb - RTÉ One way outdoes RTÉ Two no matter what's on Two. For instance the Late Late will always beat the Sunday Game Live.

Very true - check this out

http://www.medialive.ie/

Go to top Top 20 programmes of 2004. Killinascully wiped the floor with the World Cup qualifiers ffs (I presume the match in France).

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOwl
    Very true - check this out

http://www.medialive.ie/

Go to top Top 20 programmes of 2004. Killinascully wiped the floor with the World Cup qualifiers ffs (I presume the match in France).
    Interesting stuff - Football pushed rugby into 2nd place. Although normally football is first, gaelic 2nd and rugby/hurling 3rd.

I imagine our numbers for home games will be lower as Sky also show them live. Many of the 300,000 Sky subscribers will watch Sky rather than RTE.

Also interesting that no GAA match featured in the kids top twenty.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    Interesting stuff - Football pushed rugby into 2nd place. Although normally football is first, gaelic 2nd and rugby/hurling 3rd.

I imagine our numbers for home games will be lower as Sky also show them live. Many of the 300,000 Sky subscribers will watch Sky rather than RTE.

Also interesting that no GAA match featured in the kids top twenty.
    That's just the Irish internationals though - I remember that the Shels vs Steaua first-leg got 100k less viewers than Mayo vs. Cavan in an absolute dire All-Ireland Qualifier.

The GAA is easily the consistent top puller, football and rugby will only really register in the rankings for a few big games during the year.

I'm surprised WC Qualifier so low. Maybe i'm confusing with actual WC tournament figures as i;m sure they are consistently huge for Ireland matches. Sure 80% of the population watch Ireland WC football matches...?

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    No it's not, it's an Irish phenomonen. Whatever else about the Brits they follow their sports teams in huge numbers. And in fairness winning the Ashes is huge for them, hence the massive prices for tickets.

What's the 4th best supported league in Europe?...it's the Championship.

The Owl is 100% correct we're an embarrasement of a sports supporting nation - event junkie, day-out, face-painting, passionless goons.

But average attendances for County Championship Cricket games in England rarely breaks the 100 mark - I've been in cricket grounds in England for Championship games that have had 20 - 30 people watching them
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir
    But average attendances for County Championship Cricket games in England rarely breaks the 100 mark - I've been in cricket grounds in England for Championship games that have had 20 - 30 people watching them
    I think cricket si similar to rugby in that its the internationals that keep it alive and pays wages for top players. I would think the Ashes like rugbys Lions tour.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Sportscall is a phone-in programme, so the content is decided by the people who phone in. No matter what you say Éanna, the All-Ireland Hurling final is one of the top two sporting events in this country, so it's only natural that on the day after the game, it's what people want to talk about.
    Then why did they tell Pablo they'd call him and put him on, but instead let that ignorant ***** come on giving out that they dared to cover other sports. Quite obvious that RTE were the ones deciding the content.

Calling GAA people bigots while posting "hillbillies...rednecks...Moaning ****ing bigots... reminded me exactly why I hate the ****ing GAA" is a tad ironic is it not?
    I was talking about the people who called up that show, and they do represent a significant minority of GAA people. Like I said, not all GAA people ae like that, far from it, but its the main reason I have no time for the GAA.
    In Séan Óg O'hÁilpin, we have one of the most eloquent, honest and endearing sportsmen anywhere in the world.
    Seán Óg is "eloquent"????!!!! The man can hadly speak English "eh uh whatever dya know like whatever" I get a headache just thinking about him talking, never mind listening to him. He's like George on tranquilisers after a week on the beer or something

The anti-GAA posters on this site seem to like to use "bigot" as their insult of choice for the GAA, but to quote that great philosopher, Nuttsy Fenlon, they would want to have a look at themselves.....
    I wouldn't say I'm bigotted against the GAA. I despise a certain section of its support, and as for the rest, I couldn't give a monkeys.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    His reference to the Irish National football team as the England B team said it all for me. Sickened me to the core.
    Funnily enough that was the only thing he said that I agreed with

Quote Originally Posted by TheOwl
    Irish people are just terrible sports fans, it doesn’t matter what the sport is. Club GAA attendances are massively overstated, EL crowds are pathetic, and rugby crowds at AIL level are worse again.
    spot on

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    ??????? The whole country except for those six counties who managed to win something that night.
    In ainm dílis Dé - have you lost all reason ?? The France game had **** all importance . That 'Irish' team didn't represent the whole country - far from it. If they were representing the country, they might have shown a bit of passion & not be so f****in interested in singing karaoke and fannyinG about in Lillies until four in the morning.
    I knew this day would come: Cop On, I agree with you, wholeheartedly!

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Then why did they tell Pablo they'd call him and put him on, but instead let that ignorant ***** come on giving out that they dared to cover other sports. Quite obvious that RTE were the ones deciding the content..
    Pablo?? so he can talk?

When you see that the among the top watched programs in Ireland last year were the Eurovision, Your A Star and Daniel O'Donnell it says a lot!

Sweet Jesus

does this take into account people in pubs watching, because i'd think there would definately be more in a pub watching an international then daniel o'donnels christmas special
    of course, everything looks bad if you remember it.- Homer Simpson
    www.sliceco.com

Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    Pablo?? so he can talk?
    once ya get him started, there's no stopping him

Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    The Ireland v France was by far the biggest sporting event in the country this year. It was bigger than all the GAA game sput together.
    Poppycock. Don't you read the papers or watch telly? Ireland v France was 1 game that got about a week in the media. GAA gets year-round major media.

Its not unusual to see 15,000 - 20,000 at a championship inter-county match. How many eircom league matches even get half of that? I would say FAI cup final barely scrapes that kind of attendance.

Lets get a bit of realism and open mindedness here FFS.
    "I would like to celebrate today this team, because they are really exceptional mentally as well - not only footballistically" - A Wenger

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    Cop On, never lets the facts get in the way of a good wind up opportunity.

As Bohs fans are wont to say, there isn't a massive interest in hurling nationwide. FACT.

Now get back to your slice of buttered turf lunch, that sileage won't cut itself.
    A great example of how some of the sh1te ye are spouting on this string is juvenile at best, bigoted and offensive at worst.
    "I would like to celebrate today this team, because they are really exceptional mentally as well - not only footballistically" - A Wenger

Quote Originally Posted by madjack
    Poppycock. Don't you read the papers or watch telly? Ireland v France was 1 game that got about a week in the media.

Lets get a bit of realism and open mindedness here FFS.

GSpain is absolutely right. France v Ireland was the biggest sporting event of the year. Certainly, in terms of viewing figures, both nationally and, importantly, internationally, it wiped the floor with *anything* the GAAH have to offer.

Sometimes I wonder whether I've drifted into a GAAH love-in with some of the comments here. Surreal.

Quote Originally Posted by republic

Sometimes I wonder whether I've drifted into a GAAH love-in with some of the comments here. Surreal.
    So just because you show your contempt and dislike for the GAA, it's expected that everybody on here should have your ridiculous & blinkered view?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast