Thread: Greedy Derry continue sick obsession with League Cup

71 Posts

Angry Greedy Derry continue sick obsession with League Cup

Only joking. Fair play to Derry. Congrats. Too shattered to analyse the game not that I absorbed it as normal.

wahey! I just found out 5 mins ago (I was away from the office). I'd like to have seen UCD in the Setanta Cup, and if you'd been playing any other team I'd have wanted you to win!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by crc
    wahey! I just found out 5 mins ago (I was away from the office). I'd like to have seen UCD in the Setanta Cup, and if you'd been playing any other team I'd have wanted you to win!
    We still can, FAI Cup!

erm... but we want that too!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by crc
    erm... but we want that too!
    It's our turn, fair is fair.

3,488 Posts
    Full report to follow when I watch the video, but for now...

Derry City sealed a deserved - and record - sixth League Cup with a 2-1 victory over UCD in Belfield Park tonight. In reality, given the visitors' possession, the result flattered UCD, although in the end, it needed an own goal in first half injury time to confirm the Candystripes' win.

With neither Robbie Martin nor Conor Kenna fully fit, manager Pete Mahon went with the same team which had beaten Bray at the weekend. However, within 14 minutes, Derry were ahead when Alan Murphy shot hom from outside the area past the despairing dive of Darren Quigley.

UCD rallied, but far too many long balls were mopped up by the Derry defence, while attempts to pass through the midfield were snuffed by the Derry midfield. UCD could have had an equaliser when Derry keeper David Forde allowed a cross to slip through his hands under no pressure at all, and it was the visiting keeper who allowed UCD back into the game. He was caught in no man's land when a cross came in, and though his defence cleared, Conan Byrne took advantage of the keeper's poor positioning to strike his first senior goal for the club from well outside the box.

It looked as if the clubs would enter the break level, but just before half-time, a cross from the right was turned past his own keeper by the unfortunate Pat McWalter.

In the second half, Derry were much the better team, although good defending - particularly from Mick O'Donnell - kept the visitors at bay. UCD's best chances were a couple of crosses fizzed across the area; one, coming in injury time, conjured up memories of the remarkable comeback in the semi-final in Tolka Park last month. However, after nothing came of the corner, the referee called time on the game and the Cup was heading north again.

UCD - Quigley; Mahon, O'Donnell, Shortall, McDonnell; Hurley, Gannon (Kenna), Dicker, McWalter (Dupuy); C Byrne, Murphy (Martin). Subs not used - Gallagher, Harte

Att - 2157

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu

Att - 2157
    Seriously!?

3,488 Posts
    Yep. Well, 2157 or 2174 or something like that. 21xx anyway. Capacity was 2500 for the night.

Watched the goals last night - amazing how far out I was on the descriptions above!!

71 Posts
    I haven't seen them yet. My dad said Byrne's goal had nothing to do with the keeper but just a great finish. My older brother who went to Pats games years ago when they were winning titles said the LOI has improved beyond all recognition. My dad was impressed too watching at home.

I have a funny story. A friend of mine who I sold a ticket to decided to give him ticket up to barstool at the last minute when he discovered his beloved Spurs were playing in the Carling Cup on Sky. They ended up getting knocked out 1-0 by Grimsby.

3,488 Posts
    Clive and someone else went up for a header, Byrne was putting pressure and Clive's header went to space; Byrne shot first time into the corner. The keeper had started to come for the long ball and was caught in no-man's-land. He wasn't as culpable as I made out, but he should definitely have done better.

Thought it was a poor enough game myself, to be honest. Maybe that's good if poor games are getting good reviews!

71 Posts
    Technically it was a decent enough game. I thought Derry were very strong and organised in defending. I thought we played nice at times. Mainly Dicker and Hurley, they do some very intelligent and nice things in midfield. However we lacked the final cutting edge. Story of our season really, or even our club. Thank God there was a good crowd, a lot of hard work was put into getting people to go to this one.

I think the major problems were the abesence of Tony Mac in midfield. Yes Hurley and Dicker are better than him going forward but we need his strength to stop the opposition bypassing the midfield. Also we needed Robbie Martin up front. You're not going to win the aerial or strength game against Derry's defence and I thought we needed his pace to get in around them. Also we could have done with a fit Ally Mac and Kenna defence. I think the injuries could have done with another week to clear up. Ah well, Bray on Friday, we must pick it up again.

21 Posts
    might have looked a poor game if you were there, but it looked good on TV

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CuanaD
    That's good to hear at least!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CuanaD
    Great news. A cup final is enjoyable and not enjoyable at the same time with all at stake. Our view could be skewed by the bitter taste of defeat.

It was a great nite for a great football match but the game didnt really match up.
    There was some good defending on both sides that left little room for chances for either team. The midfield battle was also good. I thought Dicker was very good last nite. He sure does get around the pitch.
    I'm not too sure if the Derry keeper was at fault for the goal but he was a DODGY KEEPER !! all nite(apart from when he came out and plucked the last corner of the game out of the air).
    "it takes two to lie. One to lie and one to listen."

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GK for the Town
    I'm not too sure if the Derry keeper was at fault for the goal
    Look at his positioning when the shot comes in. He's ten yards off his line and backpedalling. He must have come for the long ball and then had second thoughts. Because he was backpedalling, he kind of fell rather than dived at the shot. I've actually never rated him, to be honest, even going back to his days at Galway (what West Ham saw in him, I'll never know!).

Anyway, we all know UCD have the best keeper in the league, and he'll shortly have the U-21 caps to prove it!

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Look at his positioning when the shot comes in. He's ten yards off his line and backpedalling. He must have come for the long ball and then had second thoughts. Because he was backpedalling, he kind of fell rather than dived at the shot. I've actually never rated him, to be honest, even going back to his days at Galway (what West Ham saw in him, I'll never know!).

Anyway, we all know UCD have the best keeper in the league, and he'll shortly have the U-21 caps to prove it!
    I dont know how you can say that. Hes playing very well for Derry city, who are hoping to do the treble this season. He never got a chance at west ham because David James was there. He had a contract extension on the table, on provision they didnt get relegated, but they did. There were 5 clubs in ireland trying to sign him. and hes being linked back to england again at end of this season. He must be doing something right. hes not world class,he has the under 21 caps to prove it!, and id have him in goals anyday to that clown ye have!

71 Posts
    The clown we have?

David Forde has been outstanding this season.

Of all the players at our club, I think he is the one we risk losing at the end of the season as I feel he may get another stab at full-time footy in Engerland or Scotland.

Krisitic David won't leave Ireland again to go to England, last time he did this he had given up all hope of playing football again, and was about to hang up the boots when Stephen Kenny had offered him the chance to play for us, who in the right mind would give something so good up to maybe destroy himself.