Not a chance!

No. I wouldn't either.

This from football365 sums it up

Bye Bye Carr
    So Stephen Carr has retired from international football. Never again shall the Lansdowne Road faithful see the tubby little perma-tanned ******* smiling to himself after yet again running with the ball at his feet into a crowd of opposition midfielders instead of clearing the bloody thing. Never again shall we see him waddle out of position as a Swiss / Cypriot / French winger simply stands still and 'moves' into the small amount of space behind his fat arse. Never again shall we see him chop down Zidane on the edge of the penalty area for the second time in five minutes. Never again shall Champions League winner Stevie Finnan sit on the bench while the mighty Newcastle fatboy tries his best to balls things up. What will we ever do without him?
    Austin Lysaught
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

25 Posts
    Good god no.

Definite no...better rb's available. He's carrying a few extra pounds & played terrible in the last few intls he played....his intl days are well and truely behind him...
    "Inflatable hammers and Leprechaun suits, & a chorus of "Here we go" or Olé, Olé"....

2,796 Posts
    What about Gary Kelly? I've really gone off Carr as well as noting that he's not half the player he was. But Kelly has been playing well for Leeds & AFAIK is close to Staunton & Alan Kelly.

Kelly is credible cover but I also think the likes of Foley & Kelly should be intoduced to the squad.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    No. I wouldn't either.

This from football365 sums it up

Bye Bye Carr
    So Stephen Carr has retired from international football. Never again shall the Lansdowne Road faithful see the tubby little perma-tanned ******* smiling to himself after yet again running with the ball at his feet into a crowd of opposition midfielders instead of clearing the bloody thing. Never again shall we see him waddle out of position as a Swiss / Cypriot / French winger simply stands still and 'moves' into the small amount of space behind his fat arse. Never again shall we see him chop down Zidane on the edge of the penalty area for the second time in five minutes. Never again shall Champions League winner Stevie Finnan sit on the bench while the mighty Newcastle fatboy tries his best to balls things up. What will we ever do without him?
    Austin Lysaught
    Think that's a bit harsh from Football365 - he did serve us well, at times
    "Inflatable hammers and Leprechaun suits, & a chorus of "Here we go" or Olé, Olé"....

Not sure about GK - haven't seen him play recently. i know it was asked if Mark Kennedy should get another shout & I agree but think GK has been out in the cold for too long....not sure he would be still up to scratch but then if he is playing well, then yes, he should get a chance with Stan - new begining 'n' all that...

I think they should ask Roy Keane to come of out of retirement and play at the back ha ha
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I think they should ask Roy Keane to come of out of retirement and play at the back ha ha
    Neil, that would not be such a bad idea. I wouldn't think he's being extended as much in Scotland as he was at Utd. I wonder would he have retired from International football if he could have foreseen what would happen at Old Trafford over the last few months?

That said, there is probably a better chance of hell freezing over than Staunton and himself ever talking again, never mind working together

214 Posts
    Thank God I'm not the only one who wants him playing again!!1

144 Posts
    Neil Horgan, Owen Heary, Joey O'Brien, Steve Finnan are all better right backs than Carr, Cheerio then.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

yes, its been a long time since Carr "motored" on down the touchline

in fact it would be safe to say that the "brakes" have probably been put on his career.....his engine doesn't appear to be the same as it was

NO WAY LADS - Carr has an attitude problem blood some new younger players

He hasn't performed at club or international level since he left Spurs for Newcastle. Seems he is just not motivated anymore. No use calling him up if not committed.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Carr in his day was an excellent fullback. He never fully recovered from his injury but if Roy Keane can come back, I don't see why Carr can't except for those wearing red blinkers. We're not big enough to be fussy and although he's not worth a place in the team right now, he would be a useful squad member since he is playing Premiership football.

Robson signed him when at Newcastle so although they haven't spoken since he left Newcastle, there is a possibility he may be asked. I would also take back Dean Kiely even though he's lost his place at Charlton. The bigger squad of potential players the better. I am not proud. God knows I'd even welcome back........

Quote Originally Posted by Tenderloins
    Would you bother asking Stephen Carr to come out of International retirement?
    Yes, of course I would. Obviously Finnan is going to get the RB position before Carr but he's still adequate enough cover for him. I think a lot of ye are being too hard on Carr, he's not as bad as ye are going on about.

If Staunton is asking players to return, I wonder will he ask Roy Keane?.

No point. iIf you looking for backup to finnan might as well look to the future and kelly or possibly o brien who is RB at the moment for bolton, (i know its not his first position )

2,796 Posts
    If reports are to be believed Kevin Foley could be playing Premiership footy soon for West Ham.

No.. He would now be more of a hindrance than an asset.He is retired so leave him out to pasture. A good player before the injury while at Spurs but nothing more than average now.

Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast