Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: No excuse!

WAR, there is no real bother between fans of Rovers and Shels, there just seems to be select groups of fans on both sides which obviously gave Rovers "fans" the excuse needed for last Friday's behaviour.

Now assuming you had nothing to do with said inncedent, rather then you trying to carry on petty bickering with Shelbourne fans do you not think it would be in the best interest of the clubs and league as a whole if we were to work together andkick this scum element out of the league???

Oh and by the way, as a lot of Cork and Bohs fans have realised, you don't have to hate Shelbourne fans just because you dislike Ollie Byrne and we've been successful recently, alright???
    Last edited by Drumcondra Red; 14/09/2005 at 2:13 PM.
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    What was the meeting yesterday for ?? and how did it go?

Just out of interest

There was a meeting in Pearse Street garda station yesterday, all prmier league clubs were invited, it is alleged that no representitive from Shelbourne was in attendence, this is to be officially confirmed, I don't know if its true or not!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red

Now assuming you had nothing to do with said inncedent, rather then you trying to carry on petty bickering with Shelbourne fans do you not think it would be in the best interest of the clubs and league as a whole if we were to work together andkick this scum element out of the league???
    Well showing up to meetings would be a start. As I've pointed out elsewhere - if the two biggest rivals in the country can co-operate then everybody should be able to. Even yesterday's report points up to Shels lack of co-operation on match day security.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    you don't have to hate Shelbourne fans just because you dislike Ollie Byrne and we've been successful recently

...but it helps.
    Champions.
    16 leagues & 24 cups.

Yes but if you read it, it states the Ollie Byrne requested that he wouldn't be in presence, its hardly compareable to when we all used to skip off school, is it???
    Sitting pretty!!!

From a Derry fan on the Shels MB below, interesting thats fans of 3 seperate clubs seeing a casual element in Shels trying to start trouble. Yet Shels fans deny that there is any problem. Who to believe!!!

"All well and good Ralph but here's a question, how many of the casually dressed hoolie wannabes (numbering around a dozen, who were restrained from getting at Derry fans by the gardai both inside and outside the ground) did Shels take action against after the game against Derry earlier in the season?

None, I would imagine. And none of you saw any of it either or you positively, definately would have done something about it........

Rovers have a problem, they are trying to do something about it. There's no point moralising when your own club does feck all."

If you read on, you'll see the Derry fans were acknowledged by Shels fans leaving the new stand, and clapped us back, the so-called hoolies were the 12 year old kids who ran onto the pitch, they are also in the process of being sorted out by us, alright??? We know we have a small minority of scum, but we are doing something about it, we just don't feel the need to publisise everything, btw, there was about 10 of those kids that day, 3-5 hurling abuse from what I saw, not comparable to what we witnessed on friday!
    Sitting pretty!!!

[QUOTE=Drumcondra Red]they are also in the process of being sorted out by us, alright??? We know we have a small minority of scum, but we are doing something about it, we just don't feel the need to publisise everything, QUOTE]

my word how this story has changed since the thread began!!

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    It has changed a lot,the post off of Shelsweb is complete crap

1,104 Posts
    I'm not particularly anti or pro Shels but they have a few lads willing to have a go. Last year in Longford one of our stewards got a bad cut to the eye from a dust-up with Shels supporters-not getting into the rights and wrongs but there were a few throwing punches that night..When we'd won 4-1 and tensions were running high among Shels support. It happened in front of me and I know the steward involved, no angel normally by the way but he was hit a couple of times that night.

5th August, Rovers v Pats: weather is poxy, Rovers Ultras / 400 Club / board / whoever persuade cops to allow us be in the Shed rather than out in the open on Connaught St terrace. We slag them, they slag us, we do our level best to disrupt their half time hero thingy. Finishes 0-0, no previous baggage, no incidents, all go home safe and sound.

9th September, Rovers v Shels: weather is poxy, Rovers Ultras / 400 Club / board / whoever persuade cops to allow Shels be in the Shed rather than out in the open on Connaught St terrace. Wasn't there but loads of previous baggage from Shels v Rovers and Ollie v Roddy in Tolka, yes incidents, all go home p1ssed off after ructions.

What's in common between the two matches? Presence of Rovers fans - presumably the same lot of Rovers fans both times. What's the difference between the two matches? Draw yisser own conclusions.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    What's in common between the two matches? Presence of Rovers fans - presumably the same lot of Rovers fans both times. What's the difference between the two matches? Draw yisser own conclusions.
    Obviously afraid of the IPF

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    I'm not particularly anti or pro Shels but they have a few lads willing to have a go. Last year in Longford one of our stewards got a bad cut to the eye from a dust-up with Shels supporters-not getting into the rights and wrongs but there were a few throwing punches that night..When we'd won 4-1 and tensions were running high among Shels support. It happened in front of me and I know the steward involved, no angel normally by the way but he was hit a couple of times that night.
    I was there and i don't remember any of the sort,a bit of an arguement over standing on seats of which i was invoved but no puches thrown

1,104 Posts
    At the end of the match there was a scuffle. I saw it myself. I saw the cut on the steward's face too. Some of your fans were apologising on the way out, "there's scumbags in every club" were the exact words one used.

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    Glen Crowe,he's a red,he's a red,he's a red.Glen Crowe he's a red - HE HATES BOHS..................Who Doesn't
    Well, Glen Crowe for one

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    At the end of the match there was a scuffle. I saw it myself. I saw the cut on the steward's face too. Some of your fans were apologising on the way out, "there's scumbags in every club" were the exact words one used.
    Games involving the Dublin clubs regularly have aggro between the fans and stewards/gardai, be it pitch invasions, standoffs, and even flares. Your club treat every incident as a major event, and the only way you can control crowds, is by erecting fences, around the area. It's been there for the last few games at Flancare Park. Pats, Bohs, Shels, Rovers, and Cork fans have all complained of receiving bad/unfair treatment from your stewards, who seem to go looking for aggro, based on what I have seen. If your stewards did their job in a professional manner, you'd have no problems at your ground.

What? Do you're "fans" really see about 5-6 12 year olds as much of a thret that they've to send a mob around to get us??? We know about these kids, who tbh, are just as hapy to play a game of chasing as to have a fight, you have no arguement and I don't believe to are trying to defend the action of those scumbags the other night!!!

[QUOTE=MyPost]Games involving the Dublin clubs regularly have aggro between the fans and stewards/gardai, be it pitch invasions, standoffs, and even flares. Your club treat every incident as a major event, and the only way you can control crowds, is by erecting fences, around the area. It's been there for the last few games at Flancare Park. Pats, Bohs, Shels, Rovers, and Cork fans have all complained of receiving bad/unfair treatment from your stewards, who seem to go looking for aggro, based on what I have seen. If your stewards did their job in a professional manner, you'd have no problems at your ground.[QUOTE]

Well said!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    How come we never, ever have problems with fans from Waterford, Finn Harps, Derry, Drogheda, Bray, UCD, Galway, Athlone, (any team we meet from the first), and very rarely have 'incidents' with fans from Pats, Cork, Boahs.

Why?

Why is the Town never vandalised after games involving the above mentioned clubs ???

You can blame our 'stewards' all you like - the problem is with YOU and YOUR 'SUPPORTERS'
    bollo.cks. you have had problems with galway, bohs, shels and rovers fans (just off the top of my head) recently, and they all cited identical stories, heavy handed and aggressive stewarding. we aren't all wrong.

maybe we just react differently to being treated like ****e.

or put another way, how come no-one has problems in finn park, the brandywell, united park and the RSC (for want of a better expression the provincial clubs)?

176 Posts
    maybe we just react differently to being treated like ****e.
    And what will happen when Longford come to Dalyer in a few weeks? We'll treat them like kings, and put them in the DK stand, in the shelter. If I had my way, we would stick 'em in the Connaught St. Stand, open to all sorts of weather, and give them a taste of their own medicine!!

It was just pure chance that the monsoon-like rain stopped seconds before ko at their ground on our last visit, or else we would have been watching the game out in the open, soaked to the skin.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    And what will happen when Longford come to Dalyer in a few weeks? We'll treat them like kings, and put them in the DK stand, in the shelter. If I had my way, we would stick 'em in the Connaught St. Stand, open to all sorts of weather, and give them a taste of their own medicine!!

It was just pure chance that the monsoon-like rain stopped seconds before ko at their ground on our last visit, or else we would have been watching the game out in the open, soaked to the skin.
    Damn right. Now where can we get some welsh flags?!

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast