Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: No excuse!

I didn't see anything on Friday night as I was enjoying my first pint when it happened. As were most of Rovers lads as well. AFAIK the people involved were kids - Under 5's in hoolie parlance and from what I'm told almost literally under 5's in this case.

What I will say is that Shels have a wannabee mob - no doubt about that at all. we all remarked on it and had a good laugh at it during the game. They must have gone to see Green Street after school on Friday 'cos they had all the hand gestures and posturing down to a tee.

As I said I didn't see what happened after the game but to suggest that Shels don't have an embryonic little mob is laughable.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop
    evening...the other being when that girl promptly showed myself and RTID the Rovers crest she had on her bum! That was nice!
    no chance, she was showing me!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    no chance, she was showing me!!!!
    NO, NO! - she was LAUGHING at you for buying one of those fake ones for kids!
    Ireland: Discovered!

Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop
    NO, NO! - she was LAUGHING at you for buying one of those fake ones for kids!
    as may be, i still got to see her arse!
    lets hope she isnt a reader of this forum!!!

No, let's hope she IS!
    Ireland: Discovered!

Fair play to Rovers for being the first club to take responsibility and ban people within days of an incident. Makes a change from the usual bull about investigating the incident blah blah and nothing actually happening...

That should be applauded by everyone in the league, and sets an excellent precedent .

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    I didn't see anything on Friday night as I was enjoying my first pint when it happened. As were most of Rovers lads as well. AFAIK the people involved were kids - Under 5's in hoolie parlance and from what I'm told almost literally under 5's in this case.

What I will say is that Shels have a wannabee mob - no doubt about that at all. we all remarked on it and had a good laugh at it during the game. They must have gone to see Green Street after school on Friday 'cos they had all the hand gestures and posturing down to a tee.
    It was more then just kids,i can assure you and even it it was,does it make it right

If it's the crowd pointed out earlier in the thread,then i can assure you as one of them,they are no wannabe mob,we ain't that thick

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Yeah Shels definately have a few little scumbags who seem to think they're capable of mixing it with opposition fans!
    At the game in the Cross a few weeks ago a Shels fan hit a City fan over the back of the head with a chain.
    I just find it laughable that Shels of all fans seem to think they've got some sort of firm all of a sudden!!

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Fair play to Rovers for being the first club to take responsibility and ban people within days of an incident.
    Yeah but how does anyone know that they actually did ban anyone?? I mean the fact that the fans are running the club now makes it very easy to say stuff like this in order to make it go away!
    And if they did ban them was it only because they were a few youngfellas or if it were some of their older hooligans involved would they be so quick to ban their pals?
    None of the above is anything against the 400 club (who I have a lot of respect for) but I'm just thinking logically when it is a situation of the fans running the club.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Yeah Shels definately have a few little scumbags who seem to think they're capable of mixing it with opposition fans!
    At the game in the Cross a few weeks ago a Shels fan hit a City fan over the back of the head with a chain.
    I just find it laughable that Shels of all fans seem to think they've got some sort of firm all of a sudden!!
    More Crap from Cork

So what, they shouldn't have taken action?

Time will tell I suppose, but considering that recently other clubs less directly controlled by fans have over turned bans it's a bit harsh to call Rovers for that before any ban has been recinded. Bohs and Drogs have turned over life bans (I know bohs are fans owned, but their board are certainly more seperated from the fan base than Rovers at the moment.)

I mean how many Cork fans have been banned out of the incidents in the last few years with Rovers?

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    More Crap from Cork
    It's true but sure it's easier for you to make out that it's all a big conspiracy aggainst Shels and that Rovers/City/whoever suits you this week's fans are the root of all evil.

In another thread on this forum after that game, Drumcondra Red or one of the other Shels lads on here admitted that the incident happened.

So we now have that little incident in Cork, the incident with Bohs and the most recent one with Rovers. But hey, it's never Shels fans fault!

Ollie has taught ye well.
    Champions!

'Bohs and Drogs have turned over life bans'

In fairness, there were conditions to that too and drogs (for once) handled something like that very well imo
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001
    While not defending Rovers in this as I was no where near it I find it odd that Shels are again involved. They claim they have no casuals etc but as I and plenty of other Bohs fans witnessed, they had a group of fans in their new stand calling Bohs casuals over for a fight on the night. None again were wearing colours etc and seemed more intent at signalling at Bohs than watching the game. As I say this was witnessed by many Bohs fans. Now again we have the same story, a group of fans at the front, no colours, gesturing at the Rovers fans, even texting them. Once maybe is a mistake, twice in a few weeks looks well Shels do have fans that want to cause trouble.
    Wel it was obviously Rovers fans gesturing at Bohs fans, and vice versa in the 2nd game.

D'uh...

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    I mean how many Cork fans have been banned out of the incidents in the last few years with Rovers?
    Two were banned AFAIK
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Two were banned AFAIK
    Yeah two people were banned for a few games (maybe until the end of the season in one case?) alright.
    Champions!

It does need to be recognised that the bannings are a big step forward, and credit must go to those who dished out these bannings, and I hope they are strictly enforced! Hopefully with a bit of grace more of the scumbags will be recognised and banned.

Again, hats off I say!

God

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    'Bohs and Drogs have turned over life bans'

In fairness, there were conditions to that too and drogs (for once) handled something like that very well imo
    He smacked a linesman and barely served a year. Anyway, was only using it as an example as why it's a bit unreasonable to expect it from one club when others aren't either, and at this stage the Rovers bans remain in place.

I was at the Rovers game last week and left the ground right at the final whistle .. I seen the lads walking past me as I headed down towards the church.

About 20 hardmen and others who were probably on their way home were walking past me. Many of these idiots wouldn't get out of peoples way and were walking fairly fast and giving it the "get out of me way ya shels ...." and another was " watch where your going you lanky f**K" (not to me)...

About 20 secs after I started passing these fools I heard shouts behind me and at that stage a further few groups of Rovers 'fans' start giving it the "cmon lads" and "hurry up" to their mates and another 20 or so started to run to the ACTION!!

There was very few kids who passed me in the rovers groups and I would put most of them down as early 20's and some a lot older.

How many were involved and how many just joined in I don't know but its clear that there were about 40 or 50 Rovers fans at the wrong end of the ground 5 mins after the game finished. They cant all have been going home that way ??? I seen fathers and kids pass me as I walked down but it was clear by the speed some groups were walking and the fact they were all in groups of early 20's that they were not rushing for the last bus at that end of the ground. Of course I cant say for sure they were looking for trouble but I bet any of you walking down O'Connell street at night can tell who are the dodgy looking blokes. It wouldn't hold up in a court of law but I could tell there was a good few of these looking for a fight by the look of them and my point is they were NOT 5 and NOT just kids!
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

It's true but sure it's easier for you to make out that it's all a big conspiracy aggainst Shels and that Rovers/City/whoever suits you this week's fans are the root of all evil.

In another thread on this forum after that game, Drumcondra Red or one of the other Shels lads on here admitted that the incident happened.

So we now have that little incident in Cork, the incident with Bohs and the most recent one with Rovers. But hey, it's never Shels fans fault!

Ollie has taught ye well.
    Yes I admitted it happened but he was taking a drum apart at the time, some Cork fella came over and started throwing digs first, had this not happened, he would've have been hit, there is a big difference between that and a mob coming around to our only exit to look for trouble!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Yeah but how does anyone know that they actually did ban anyone?? I mean the fact that the fans are running the club now makes it very easy to say stuff like this in order to make it go away!

Billy Lord was on your MB explicitly saying that 6 (six) people were banned after Friday. If you can't take BL's word for it then there's little hope for inter-club relations in this league. Or maybe you're calling BL a liar?

Personally I'm against bans (and not for the reasons you'll undoubtedly jump to) but at least it shows that the new regime at Rovers are willing to act. Even if you don't believe it - but that's your problem.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast