Page 63 of 63 FirstFirst ... 1353616263
Results 1,241 to 1,259 of 1259

Thread: Cork AUL 2024/25

I think the unfortunate mistake from the village keeper before half time allowed Grattan back into it. But they were unbeaten last year in the league for a reason. They're always a solid side and last year I reckon Grattan would have had a much easier day out than they had today. Good football played all in all good game to watch.

Lads coachford are not the best side but that ref is possibly the worst in the league casey was the trouble for knocka today ..knoclq where terrible at times and didn't spit out the dummy shook hands Paul's yellow card is after changing colour ffs he was one sided obviously it wouldn't change the result but we push on

Agree there. I thought the ref was poor overall, he lost control of the game, also he doesn't turn his head for offsides for both teams. Was a good game to watch Village came flying out the traps in the first 15/20 mins went 2 up, that mistake just before HT let Grattan back in it. To Grattan credit they battled hard but the pressure on and got back into it. Their second goal looked off but was given and deserved on overall play. Village had a few chances to win it in ET hit the post and that came back to haunt them, they missed 4 pens in the shootout. To Grattan credit they also grind out big results. It was a very good game to watch in poor conditions and a very soft pitch.

Grattan doing Grattan things, they get a sniff they’ll keep beating the door down, it was a great advert for the AUL, great to see despite all the needle and arguing during the game, everybody shook hands at the end and left it on the pitch, FairPlay to both sides

I was called a wind up merchant a few weeks back for saying Village were closer to the top teams then they were given credit for. Have a lot going for them. Game today was a good one, could’ve gone either way.

Idiot what your point they lost again to Grattan and at that a poor Grattan team look at Coughlan Peelo Murray Jp all out cop on boy will ya

It was a good game to be honest.
    100% start to finish despite the childish carrying on on an off the pitch.

Big difference for me was confidence.
    Grattan never paniced.
    Even in the 1st half you could sense Grattan would score.
    No one could have predicted it would be from such a comical goalkeeping error for all the actual chances they had.

2nd half Grattan should of equalised and gone ahead well before the equaliser actually came so late, goal mouth scramble is the best description.

Village played on the break and hit the post from a free and a slip from a defender which wasn't taken advantage of, bit greedy to be honest.

But Village did give it all they had.

A 100 people hyping a team up on the side line is great but it dosent help calm them when they need to be calm.

Grattan got back into the game because there the best at as you said knocking on the door.

Village lost because they paniced,during the game and in the penos.

Grattan had leadership on the pitch throughout. They never paniced.

Ah ref, come on. Losing on penalties, could’ve easily won the game. Point is they were written off after the first 2 weeks and now look much better then what they showed then. I’m sure Grattan will come away thinking they were in a much tougher game then expected

Quote Originally Posted by Harsh ref View Post
    Idiot what your point they lost again to Grattan and at that a poor Grattan team look at Coughlan Peelo Murray Jp all out cop on boy will ya
    Your the only one that speaks a bit of sense and people do in knock you down all the time I think you are spot on, looking at the app they were missing a good few players and looking a team it looked like a makeshift team and if village couldn't beat a team missing few starters they have no chance in league, I'm saying it for years village were always a cup team but never a league team and I stand by that

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Bourne View Post
    It was a good game to be honest.
    100% start to finish despite the childish carrying on on an off the pitch.

Big difference for me was confidence.
    Grattan never paniced.
    Even in the 1st half you could sense Grattan would score.
    No one could have predicted it would be from such a comical goalkeeping error for all the actual chances they had.

2nd half Grattan should of equalised and gone ahead well before the equaliser actually came so late, goal mouth scramble is the best description.

Village played on the break and hit the post from a free and a slip from a defender which wasn't taken advantage of, bit greedy to be honest.

But Village did give it all they had.

A 100 people hyping a team up on the side line is great but it dosent help calm them when they need to be calm.

Grattan got back into the game because there the best at as you said knocking on the door.

Village lost because they paniced,during the game and in the penos.

Grattan had leadership on the pitch throughout. They never paniced.
    Agreed with you on a couple of points there, Grattans experience showed, Village had chances to out it to bed and didn’t, Grattan got the sniff and made it count, agreed about the 100 people on the line part, hypes the players up but that usually leads to rash decisions

Idiot all I’m saying is my Facebook was full of all theses signing and have they beat any half decent team yet it’s not a dig I think management would agree with me but can’t

Village beat good Crosshaven team who are top of the MJL and beat Carrigaline who the week before according to Grattan players themselves hammered them off the park. Interesting season in store for us, good display today for the AUL from both sides.

Don’t know how long ye being in this business but crosshaven my god and Carrig I give up

Ye? Im not involved with Village United never have never will. Give up all ya like, you just seem to think your right and nobody can disagreed. Carrigaline have to be decent if they beat Grattan 4-1 and by talking to Grattans players it could have been more?

So by that thinking.

Grattan won the AUL Murphy Beamish cup.

That makes them better than all the teams in Cork.

Grattan reached the final of the MFA Champions Cup, were runners up.

So that makes them the 2nd best team in Munster.

Ref , you should be very proud.

Average , did those lads also tell ya they just had a bad game by there own standards an were poor on the night, because that would of kept your point in context at least.

Ya to be fair they said they didn't play well themselves that night. My point probably got lost in translation but surely Carrigaline have to be a decent team to beat Grattan who are very very good team was my whole point. Not easy to put two goals passed Grattan never mind four. Grattan are a top side and have been for many a year.

Todays game was a good game, there’s other teams in the league, let’s move on

Agreed.

Surprised the Springfield game didn't go ahead.

The weather's not great but not enough to call games.

Abdabdofjord came out of the pub for a game.
    Goldfishs crowd had another happy day.
    Strand drew.
    Hibs won again

Page 63 of 63 FirstFirst ... 1353616263