Thread: Limerick Fc 0 Galway Utd 1

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    What did Goughie do?
    Everything is the little feckers business. If theirs an argument 40 yards down the pitch he has to give his two cents. Also Jones although looking for the penalty was touched and after he was sent off little Alan gave the Shed a look that just made me want to stand on him. In fairness to him I've had it in for him ever since he tried to beat up a child in Pike a few year's back but he is IMO a complete Ar$e

Heres my bit on Friday night.

Kerins must go. Full stop. He was dire Friday night and has been all season. I don’t want him even on the bench. His half hearted effort to close down the galway right back lead to the goal. If kerins had closed him down fully we would have had a throw in near galways box, instead kerins stopped up, turned his back, the ball struck him, stayed in play and moments later it was in our net.
    Nolan if hes to play (and we gotta be desperate) must play right wing.
    Wolfe – who can do outstanding things and has plenty of heart – is too wild for right back. Someone mentioned his overhead kick – he completely missed the ball in front of me and I was embarrassed for him.

Barrett was anonymous cos he was doing the holding job in midfield with Sweeney now gone. Good to see mcgrath going forward but he must learn to stay on his feet, not every tackle must be sliding.

Galway passed us off the field. We are now the worst footballing side in the division. We probably have been all season.

Anyone see the Jones incidents from the shed end? Did he get the ball with the tackle? How else did it puncture? And did he dive for the “peno” incident?

Where was NOC? And did my ears deceive me or did I hear him on 95fm the following morning claiming we had done enough for a draw?

Now on the Car draw. I’ve purchased a few tickets for this and my name is yet to come out. However what annoys me more is people like jan o Sullivan, Dermot keely and a few names of people who are never at matches have come out. Someone within the club is obviously buying the tickets and putting these names in. really fair to the fan who stand sin the ****ing rain hoping for their name to come out.
    you gowl!

I wasn't able to make it to Hogan Park on friday and by the sounds of it I was very lucky. The same problems continue to get highlighted week after week in terms of player selection and tactics or lack there of. Why or how this could go unnoticed by management for so long now is unbelieveable. As someone else put it, why get in new blood for the push for promotion if you're not even going to play them? Its just unbelievable.
    In saying all of this though, I don't believe the season is over just yet. Results this season for all teams have been iratic and just when you think the top two will run away with it they too mess it up. Thats why the limerick2000 is vital in my opinion. If the crowd don't lift them at this stage who will? We could wait for NOC to give his "keys" rallying cry or else we can grab everyone we know to Hogan Park and blow the (one) roof off the place. Even if it all goes pear-shaped for the rest of the season no-one can say the supporters didn't at least try. We've had fantastic attendances all season long, when its p1ssed out of the heavens Hogan Park has still managed a respectable crowd. Throughout all the madness off the pitch this season the shed has always either been full or there abouts. There's always been good banter, classic chants and the best insults I've ever heard in my life!.
    If everybody who regularly attends Lims matches grabs at least one other person we'll be laughing.
    There's a text message going around if anyone wants to pass it on to everybody they know in one last push to do something this season: "Limerick2000 at Hogan Park, September 23rd, 7:30pm. Aiming to get 2000 Lims supporters in for huge match against Cobh. Spread the word. Everyone wear blue. thelimerick.95mb.com"

521 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by willie john
    by the way a message for joe soap you pulled off a great stroke on wednesday how do you think up these scams YOURE A LEGEND but its a pity the scam involved your own club .never believed what people said about you but unfortunately last wednesday you proved these people right YOUR A GIT. bye bye
    Sent: 12 September 2005 13:31
    To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Subject: Your post on Foot.ie

Regarding your post on Foot.ie:

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=349187&postcount=7

Foot.ie is not a repository for unsubstantiated allegations, no matter who you are. If you feel the need to make an accusation of this nature on our website, it needs to be backed up with facts or retracted. The retraction should be placed in the original post, or a post that quotes the original. The original accusation should not be edited or deleted.

You have until end of business tomorrow (Tuesday) to comply with this request. If you do not comply we will be forced to ban you from the site permanently, and archive your messages for reference. We will also waive our usual requirement for a court order if and when identifying details are requested regarding your posts.

Regards,
    Adam Beecher
    Foot.ie

reg the car draw

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide

Now on the Car draw. I’ve purchased a few tickets for this and my name is yet to come out. However what annoys me more is people like jan o Sullivan, Dermot keely and a few names of people who are never at matches have come out. Someone within the club is obviously buying the tickets and putting these names in. really fair to the fan who stand sin the ****ing rain hoping for their name to come out.
    As most of you know i sell the tickets for the car draw at the game. Some supporters say that i shouldn't sell them for various reasons such as "dont sell them till O'Connor is booted," i dont like that Danny Drew you shouldnt be dong that for him etc etc...
    My reason for selling them is simple. For every €5 you spend on a ticket the seller (in this case not me but the supporters club) gets €1. The supporters club has never asked for this in a cash payment instead we build up a sort of credit with the club/Kelly buses and we pay for the buses that way. Buses do not come cheap and i think you'll agree that the buses that we have been getting this year are top class. The amount we make from the sale of the tickets is never enough and the club pick up the tab for the outstanding balance. There are still seats available for next Sat trip to Kildare btw. www.fclimerick.tk

The draw itself is not riggid in anyway. All the stubs are put into a box along with the previous couple of months so once you buy, your ticket is in for the season. Two weeks ago Ronan Seery of Dublin City bought a book of tickets (€100) from me and Keelys name was on 5 of those tickets. On average the sale of tickets at games has been poor, about two books a game maxing at three! Some private individuals (such as you) can take a book of tickets and sell them themselves and this is what persons like MOS and others have done. The draw is made just after half time by the press members (local and other) who are reporting on the game for the various news media. IMO It is highly unlikely that the sale of tickets will equal that of the actual price of the cars and a loss is on the cards. If anyone would like to help me and John selling the tickets going around at the game please dont hesitate to offer, and yes you too can witness the draw taking place. Just thought id say all this before a typoon of abuse hits.

Wasn’t claiming it was rigged but thanks for the run down on how it works – makes a lot of sense now and fair play to Seery. So once you buy you’re in for the season? Well I didnt know that and that’s why I bought one the other night. (I’ve bought a couple before so tell Leonard to pull my name out next time! )

Btw I certainly wouldn’t subscribe to the belief you shouldn’t sell them because of NOC or DD. I don’t like seeing Chris Kerins playing but I still pay in.
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick
    the limerick2000 is vital in my opinion. If the crowd don't lift them at this stage who will? We could wait for NOC to give his "keys" rallying cry or else we can grab everyone we know to Hogan Park and blow the (one) roof off the place. Even if it all goes pear-shaped for the rest of the season no-one can say the supporters didn't at least try.

There's a text message going around if anyone wants to pass it on to everybody they know in one last push to do something this season: "Limerick2000 at Hogan Park, September 23rd, 7:30pm. Aiming to get 2000 Lims supporters in for huge match against Cobh. Spread the word. Everyone wear blue. thelimerick.95mb.com"
    Have convinced a bus load around 35 to come to the game on the 23rd, ok albeit a lot of them kids from our local soccer club , but some of their parents are making the trip also, hopefully they'll catch the bug and come back. I think its a great idea guys, don't let it go pear-shaped like the Galway 500 fiasco, that IMO was never gonna work, its at Hogan Park where we need the support, c'mon guys we've got a $h1t load of posters on here from Limerick just bring a few along, just tell em, its 2 hours outta your life for 1 Fri night on 23rd and all it'll cost you is a poxy tenner and we owe those Queenstown hoofers a drubbing.
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

free bus

If your bringing a bus load of people then make sure you get in touch with someone from the club (ill give you a number) and you'll get a bus for free. pm me for the number

Foot.ie! buses

Hoping to run a bus for this game aswell,we dont mind paying for the bus but just wondering will the kids be left in for free,and can the bus park inside the grounds.
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

bus inside the ground would be no unless of course you get a special pass from the club i presume. as for kids being free its usally 2 euro for a kid when with an adult.
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    As most of you know i sell the tickets for the car draw at the game. Some supporters say that i shouldn't sell them for various reasons such as "dont sell them till O'Connor is booted," i dont like that Danny Drew you shouldnt be dong that for him etc etc...
    That's a very selective description gael and I'm a little disappointed to see you whitewashing for the club here. As you've asked me not to say certain things I'll hold my tongue but there's a lot more to people's reservations than 'i dont like that Danny Drew' and if you're not going to explain that in detail it's probably best if you say nothing?

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    That's a very selective description gael and I'm a little disappointed to see you whitewashing for the club here. As you've asked me not to say certain things I'll hold my tongue but there's a lot more to people's reservations than 'i dont like that Danny Drew' and if you're not going to explain that in detail it's probably best if you say nothing?
    slk what are you trying to say .if you want to say something do it . THE CLUB does not need whitewashing somebody will allwas have something bad to say about the club and the management no matter what they do so slk say your bit please

lads it a bit soon saying our season is over at this stage . cobh1 dundalk 1
    athl 0 sligo0
    dublin1 mon1
    all we need is kildare and killkenny to draw then the table dosent change .a couple of wins changes it all .the last 2 weeks have been a kick in the ass lets hope next weeks changes .by the way a message for joe soap you pulled off a great stroke on wednesday how do you think up these scams YOURE A LEGEND but its a pity the scam involved your own club .never believed what people said about you but unfortunately last wednesday you proved these people right YOUR A GIT. bye bye
    i wish to retract what i said here about joe soap and will put it up again when i have the paper work from the courier company on friday

I agree to a certain degree. There's been a lot of cosying up between the SC and club this season, which may be no bad thing, but one thing that is very noticable is that certain members are no where near as vocal on hot issues as they used to be. By being vocal I mean expressing their own views in public, rather than in private. You referred to it above SLK.

slk what are you trying to say .if you want to say something do it . THE CLUB does not need whitewashing somebody will allwas have something bad to say about the club and the management no matter what they do so slk say your bit please
    I'm happy to oblige you in any way that I can willie john.

Effectively I was just challenging the implication that certain people dislike our honourable chairman just for being Danny Drew. There may well be a few people in that position. For my part I am grateful to the man for keeping the show on the road this year but I do feel that his behaviour at times has not been in keeping with what is expected from the Chairperson of a semi-professional football club.

Any reservations that I have about the SC selling tickets for the club have a lot to do with club voices (such as your own) chastising the SC for doing nothing to help the club this year. Fair play to gael353 for being as patient as he has been all along though.

Any reservations that I have about Danny Drew are rooted in the likes of Thomas McGauley's departure, the Derek McCarthy departure, the criticism of Paul Finucane in Drogheda, the bellowing of 'Scumbags' at some fans who, just for a moment, responded to Aidan Ryan's professional remonstrations with them. I think if Danny actually tried to get on with the support a bit more he might find us to be a much more helpful bunch than he currently imagines.

Anyway willie john, I hope that helps to clarify things for you. If you have any other questions please don't hesitate to ask.
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 13/09/2005 at 7:34 PM.

Any reservations that I have about the SC selling tickets for the club have a lot to do with club voices (such as your own) chastising the SC for doing nothing to help the club this year. Fair play to gael353 for being as patient as he has been all along though.
    Is the SC walking on egg shells then? Caught between being the fans representative, but also having to tow the line with the club because of a few paranoid loose cannons about the place?

Hi There:

Any SC will always have to tend towards the middle ground. The nature of the relationship in a passionate arena such as football will always dictate this.

The SC HAS and WANTS to work with the club officals whilst all other supporters can stay in the periphery and vent their views. This year the work that the SC club has done is limited to a few hard working individuals as is usual in any committee. Please dont knock them and understand the nature of their relationship with the club.

Buses, Fanzines, Discounts etc would not have happened without the SC work. The SC, through it's officers, DOES make it's views public to the Club. Ask DD and KJ about that and are not afraid to do so. This Forum, however is not the forum for airing SC views in public (dirty linen in Public etc...). All SC members can become Committee memebers but at tlast years AGM the usual 3 or 4 put their name into the ring. Fair play to Gael 353 for keeping the flag flying and raising monies for the SC.

Hope this clears up matters.

JohnD (Members Secretary Limerick FC SC)
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

I remember when the SC was being set up initially there was a big debate about the extent to which the SC would be linked to the FC. There was a consensus that the SC would be independent of the FC (previous SCs had been subsumed into the FC) and it was even the case that nobody can sit on committees of both SC and FC.

I think the SC is above reproach and every single member of the committee that I know has highest integrity, is straight up and 100% dedicated to the club. I am sure that individuals have their own opinions on the owners of the club and how things are going this year - but the SC has to reflect everyone's views to an extent and has to keep good working relations with the club - even when it is difficult to do. I think suggestions that the SC are cosying up to the FC or are pandering to FC is unfair and shows a lack of appreciation of the role of the SC. I would be very wary of members of the committee expressing certain views in public that may be taken as the viewof the SC. This is a consequence of being on the committee.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Whats in that bag of yours SLK?? I'd say Hogan Parks security personel are keeping a close eye on it. I'd say you'd be taken out if you were seen making any sudden moves towards Mr Drew!!

i wish to retract what i said here about joe soap and will put it up again when i have the paper work from the courier company on friday
    whats all this crap about...joesoap hadnt a good word to say about anyone last season, then he comes on board with the club this season and defends everyone to the hilt, then he lays low, returns and spends most of his time winding cork city supporters up on their board and now to cap it all danny john is baying for his blood... boredom on the field, but serious entertainment (for every other club i might add) of it.
    you gowl!