View Poll Results: Summer or Winter Football Season?

Voters
128. You may not vote on this poll
  • Summer

106 82.81%
  • Winter

22 17.19%
Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: Matthews calls for summer soccer to go as Longford show another lack of ambition

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Why's it lack of ambition to say you think something is wrong?

Not agreeing with cork = lack of ambition

I'm not going to read every post but I'll reply to Macy's, its not disagreeing with Cork, its disagreeing with results, Longford are the only team to have embarassed themselves in Europe since the switch was fully enforced, we have to keep summer soccer!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Its mainly local gaa which we compete with,inter-county football in longford tends to last about 2 games regarding the championship.Theres is alot of people involved in local gaa,players,trainers etc.Superfrank,march to september is hardly year round
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Sure we could all go down to Trabolgan for de holidays biy ..........

Must say, us bogmen thoroughly enjoyed our Summer holiday in the beautiful West Choker-land when the secretary of the lowly Longford Town married a beautiful Corkonian .............. then again, seeing as West Choker-land is not exactly as cosmopolitan as de city biy, I guess anywhere outside of de cross might be termed bogcountry/amateur/lacking in sophistication ......... but they've got lovely fuschia bushes, so I guess that's a saving grace. The only red thing at the cross so far this season was the cheeks of the much lauded strikers (you know who they are by now surely!!) who failed to score against the mighty Longford Town for over TWO HUNDRED minutes & Longford playing with their third choice keeper!!!!!!!!!
    will you please ever just shut up. Do you have to wreck every thread you post in?

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    I'm in the camp that believes that the timing of our football season is almost irrelevant - attendances will not improve - that is the bottom line. Its fantasy to suggest otherwise.

The league needs a cohesive and consistent strategy - changing ships in mid stream is part of the reason for the consistent failure of the league.

A tv driven, properly marketed and consistent league - with regard to fixtures would get modest increase in attendances

and modest attendances are the best that can be hoped for
    spot on

The one's with the chip seem to be you Corkies who constantly have to do us down at every opportunity. You were much more fun when you didn't take yourselves so fookin seriously. Dolan inflatted your ego's, and unfortunately you still believe the hype. It's a genuine shame....
    Did you have to bring him into it? He's nothing to do with it. Bottom line is this: our club is ambitious, and as fans we share in that ambition. Where people see other clubs doing things/saying things which they view as contrary to that, they'll speak out about it. IMO Longford fans are taking this way too personally. Also, the fact is that most City fans have always had massive respect and admiration for LTFC as a club, and its only in the very recent past that this has changed- as far as I can see, thats mainly down to one individual: Matthews.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint
    I know what you mean, but don't forget that there's plans to change the adoption laws to allow same-sex couples become parents so this could become a problem for Cork players in the future.
    LOL.

Personally I loved winter football, I thought the atmosphere was great, especially around christmas. From a personal point of view, and being totally selfish, I prefer winter football, but IMO the progress made under summer football is obvious, so it gets my vote.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    In longford anyway summer football hasnt worked. Attendances are a disaster for us in july and august. People simply have plenty of other things to do during the summer on a saturday evening,this is the main reason for our low attendances in my opinion.

These are the shower of hypocrites who wanted to ban people attending games at their ground, - in July, I may add! What kind of message does that send out when you try to attract people to games?? No wonder the neutrals won't turn up!!

I haven't actually voted as I'm really not sure.

Maybe it's a Longford thing, but the county championship games draw up to and over a 1000 on the gate all summer long. In a small county maybe there's just too much competition.

Also I think there's much more to compete with during the summer. Billy Lord said that his wife only just noticed he goes to Rovers during the summer because you can go places and do things - that's exactly the problem imo. Maybe others don't have the understanding missus he has, or they simply have too much to do (the later in my case with a new house). At least in the winter the weather is too bad to do half the bloody chores....

On Europe, it's been pretty much 50-50 imo. We may have had the worst results no arguement from me, but Bohs haven't reached previous winter season heights either, and shels weren't too hot this year...

I can see the benefits of training and on pitches. However, I think most clubs trained on astro turf under lights anyway - not like most were trying to train in the dark. The pitches have definitely improved, and this is where Dundalks new pitch raises the stakes in the debate.

I'm still undecided, nudging towards winter. I just don't think the competition element for summer football was really thought through enough. When it was muted and I was single and mortgage free I didn't really think of the non-sport ones, even if I did have reservations about county's like Longford where the local GAA scene is so big.

Current results are heavily in favour of summer football. It does seem to be an urban v rural issue & in that case urban will always win out as the bigger clubs & crowds are urban based.

European football the is the big plus. Sure thats only for a few teams but i do think it brings a feel good factor to the whole league. I've never seen crowd of more than 1500 at Longford ever so don't see that crowds down that much. Maybe with a push for 3rd place in the league crowds will return.

The reality is that even in the "summer" football season we have October & November which are certainly winter months. Do crowds improve for those months?

Talking

I haven't actually voted as I'm really not sure.

Maybe it's a Longford thing, but the county championship games draw up to and over a 1000 on the gate all summer long. In a small county maybe there's just too much competition.

Also I think there's much more to compete with during the summer. Billy Lord said that his wife only just noticed he goes to Rovers during the summer because you can go places and do things - that's exactly the problem imo. Maybe others don't have the understanding missus he has, or they simply have too much to do (the later in my case with a new house). At least in the winter the weather is too bad to do half the bloody chores....

On Europe, it's been pretty much 50-50 imo. We may have had the worst results no arguement from me, but Bohs haven't reached previous winter season heights either, and shels weren't too hot this year...

I can see the benefits of training and on pitches. However, I think most clubs trained on astro turf under lights anyway - not like most were trying to train in the dark. The pitches have definitely improved, and this is where Dundalks new pitch raises the stakes in the debate.

I'm still undecided, nudging towards winter. I just don't think the competition element for summer football was really thought through enough. When it was muted and I was single and mortgage free I didn't really think of the non-sport ones, even if I did have reservations about county's like Longford where the local GAA scene is so big.
    That's a good post where you make a few decent points. I think the argument swings both ways and it is not possible to give a definitive answer one way or the other. Mind you attending a match in my shirtsleeves or freezing my bóllox off .....

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    It's because of attitudes like yours that clubs like Longford will never progress.

I think the level of your ambition is summed up nicely when you give 2 wins over Waterford and win over Rovers as your highlights of the season. Pathetic.
    Jaysus,you cork lads are good for a laugh anyway,whats your ambition?maybe win something!!!How long is it now since a piece of silverware went Leeside apart from Mc Carthy cup that is.So lets look at where the mighty Cork is,2points clear of Derry in a mediocre league thats average entertainment for a Fri or Sat night before a few scoops in the local,hardly edge of the seat stuff even from your pro lot.Sure you will have a few decent away Euro games but you'll never win the bloody thing so come on back to planet earth and enjoy the EL for what it is,mediocre entertainment.

As for Longford,well,I've gotten great value out of their 3 cup wins and for a bunch of part-timers their league position this season is amazing considering all the top pro outfits around like yourselves,BTW how are you fareing against them this season,an endless supply of goals from Flynn and co no doubt?????????.Not a great performance in the lovely valleys of Wales but what the hell we'll be in there again next year hopefully with a third spot finish and wont that realllllly pi*s you off.Anyway enough of this typing my fingertips are black (and red) and I have cows to milk so as city folk like yourself ,i,m sure, can enjoy your cornflakes in the morning.

Quote Originally Posted by johno
    So lets look at where the mighty Cork is,2points clear of Derry in a mediocre league thats average entertainment for a Fri or Sat night before a few scoops in the local.
    come on back to planet earth and enjoy the EL for what it is,mediocre entertainment.

Talk about proving our point for us!!

In terms of EL fans, only someone from Longford would refer to our league like that.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Talk about proving our point for us!!

In terms of EL fans, only someone from Longford would refer to our league like that.
    Wow, what a reply,anyway 2 little points for you,firstly what in Gods name is the point that your trying to prove,is it that your the best team in the EL because your not you know,Derry are better,better team,better manager,much much better fans and a bettttttter place to visit and I pray to the Dear Lord either above or below that Longford beat you on Sun and Derry go on to win the League.Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees,Happppppy Days.

BTW you assume too much,like Cork winning the league,Cork progressing further in Europe,Cork,Cork,Cork and me being from Longford,actually i'm from a little place probably not to far from you called Clonakilty,now,put that in your pipe and smoke it.

you cork lads
    actually i'm from a little place probably not to far from you called Clonakilty

a mediocre league thats average entertainment for a Fri or Sat night before a few scoops in the local,hardly edge of the seat stuff even from your pro lot.Sure you will have a few decent away Euro games but you'll never win the bloody thing so come on back to planet earth and enjoy the EL for what it is,mediocre entertainment.
    pathetic. absolutely pathetic. I've always thought that this league needs every fan it can get, but that kind of attitude is disgusting.

Wow, what a reply,anyway 2 little points for you,firstly what in Gods name is the point that your trying to prove,is it that your the best team in the EL because your not you know,Derry are better,better team,better manager,much much better fans and a bettttttter place to visit and I pray to the Dear Lord either above or below that Longford beat you on Sun and Derry go on to win the League.Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees,Happppppy Days.
    Thats why Derry are top, and have finished above us over the last couple of seasons........ oh no wait. Whoever wins the league will have the right to call themselves the best team in the country. I believe that team will be Cork City, but its up to us to prove it. If Derry win it, they'll have that right, and also my respect and congratulations.

I pray to the Dear Lord either above or below that Longford beat you on Sun and Derry go on to win the League.Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees,Happppppy Days.
    Must be hard milking the cows with that huge chip on your shoulder

Quote Originally Posted by Alan Matthews
    the players are unable to take holidays.
    what about the players who cant take skiing holidays because of winter soccer eh ?
    of course, everything looks bad if you remember it.- Homer Simpson
    www.sliceco.com

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna

pathetic. absolutely pathetic. I've always thought that this league needs every fan it can get, but that kind of attitude is disgusting.

Thats why Derry are top, and have finished above us over the last couple of seasons........ oh no wait. Whoever wins the league will have the right to call themselves the best team in the country. I believe that team will be Cork City, but its up to us to prove it. If Derry win it, they'll have that right, and also my respect and congratulations.

Must be hard milking the cows with that huge chip on your shoulder
    Are you reaching for your sick bag already? Pathetic and disgusting only if it doesn't conform with your attitude maybe!! Now I consider myself a very reasnoble EL fan with no particular allegiance anywhere in particular but it is sad when you "big clubs" slag off the "small clubs" who have probably achieved more for their fans and given them a huge sense of pride with a fraction of your budget.Expectations aren't blown out of proportion by over zealous fans and limitations are acknowledged and accepted and this combination leads to a much more enjoyable atmosphere for this humble supporter anyway.

Derry will also get my respect and congratulations when they win the title.

Now I wonder where will the chip be on Sun night after Longford beat you and on what shoulder will it rest????

BTW dont take any of this too personal,I'm a very cynical EL fan who loves taking the "urhyne" out of Cork,Shels,Bohs,Pats,Long....Ooops.

Interesting to hear the comments of Osam & Scully on TV3 last night.

Scully a manager of "small" 1st division cluib in GAA heartland welcomes sumemr football. Osam says that professional footballers have ajob to do so basically tough luck if can't take holidays. Afterall even part-time professional players get paid to play.

I presume that a good few of you saw eL weekly last night, for those of you who didn't, the presenter asked Scully and Osam what they thought about Matthew's idea of moving back to a winter season. Osam and Scully were both against the idea, this was because the training pitches are better and it is bright in the evenings. They both laughed at the idea that the change should be made to accomodate players going on holidays, stating that if they are a professional footballer that they should take holidays in the close season.

I think if that part time footballers want to take holidays in the summer -let them off and see if they can get back in the team when they return. I know some say that summer soccer is only benefitting the big clubs but would there really be the same buzz about the league if all of our teams had been knocked out of europe in the first round for the past few years?

I think that the other clubs should try and emulate the success of the bigger clubs rather than sit back and b!tch about it and try and drag the successfull clubs down to their level.

If some people are critical of the expense of having full time squads then too bad if they can't afford one. If other clubs decide to take the risk of a full time set up it is their decision and if they end up like Shamrock Rovers then so be it. I'd sooner see two or three full time clubs in a part time league than none at all.

As for other aspects to the winter change. Gerrit already made the point about matches postponed because of foul weather and a garbled league table -I remember these days well and it was a joke. I also remember clubs not having a match for 4 or 5 weeks and ending up in financial bother as they had no income to pay the players with.

It's a bit of a ridiculous idea coming from Longford to suggest that we return to cold, dark and wet evenings when only one side of their ground is covered!

As for the idea of people being distracted by other events or activities in the summer I think this can't be true -either you're an eL fan and you go to matches or you're not.

For those you talk about a preference for floodlight games, surely this is possible for most of the summer season?

Looks like majority of fans favour the summer foorball , we should do a poll of the clubs and the players and save the FAI a fortune, from what I heard Sligo rovers preferred winter football any other verdicts rom the clubs out there .

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast