View Poll Results: Summer or Winter Football Season?

Voters
128. You may not vote on this poll
  • Summer

106 82.81%
  • Winter

22 17.19%
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Matthews calls for summer soccer to go as Longford show another lack of ambition

Reckon this should go to a vote , I personally do not like summer soccer as I miss the Christmas Matches and also the atmosphere is better under lights, the problem with pitches can be solved if everyone followed Dundalks lead, kick off times are also a problem reckon all matches should be on sat night to allowed visiting fans and fans travelling back from Dublin to get to the matches.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Jeez Harry, what're ya saying biy ?? That they're shooting BLANKS Will ye please stop talking about 'Flynnie ' and 'Fennie ' like that.
    Cop On, don't fall for the trolls of Patsh, Colm and others. You know who'll be the one getting banned....

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Cop On, don't fall for the trolls of Patsh, Colm and others. You know who'll be the one getting banned....
    Amazing, we are trolls becuase we disagree with your "Matthews is god and can do not wrong" attitude...
    Only Longford fans have opinions, City fans are trolls.
    Thats pretty much the same closed mind attitude of Matthews.
    Guess he really is leaving his imprint on some of you lot....

176 Posts
    a rovers fan should understand that better than most, or have you been asleep the last 10 years, never mind during the pre-400club part of the season????
    Since when have I brought Rovers into the discussion???

Summer soccer, leads to better pitches, generally better football, and better fitness levels. Better fitness levels = more success. More success = more money. The more money you have, the more full-time you are. The more full-time you are, the greater the chance of European success. More European success = more money, and a higher profile. More success, and more money = your rivals follow your example. They repeat the process over time, and so everyone benefits, from the average fan having better facilities at grounds, to the team boss who by being successful, has more chances to do his job better than before.

There is a right way and a wrong way to run this league. The league is improving, getting more exposure, and is building momentum. We cannot afford to go back to short-term solutions, just to get an extra 10 or 20 fans through the gate.
    Last edited by mypost; 09/09/2005 at 1:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Summer soccer, leads to better pitches, generally better football, and better fitness levels. Better fitness levels = more success. More success = more money. The more money you have, the more full-time you are. The more full-time you are, the greater the chance of European success. More European success = more money, and a higher profile. More success, and more money = your rivals follow your example. They repeat the process over time, and so everyone benefits, from the average fan having better facilities at grounds, to the team boss who by being successful, has more chances to do his job better than before.
    Hmmm...

What's goin on?
    I don't know what, they want from me
    It's like the more money we come across
    The more problems we see
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Amazing, we are trolls becuase we disagree with your "Matthews is god and can do not wrong" attitude...
    Only Longford fans have opinions, City fans are trolls.
    Thats pretty much the same closed mind attitude of Matthews.
    Guess he really is leaving his imprint on some of you lot....
    Congrats, you've managed to not call him a pr!ck this post.

I'm in the camp that believes that the timing of our football season is almost irrelevant - attendances will not improve - that is the bottom line. Its fantasy to suggest otherwise.

The league needs a cohesive and consistent strategy - changing ships in mid stream is part of the reason for the consistent failure of the league.

A tv driven, properly marketed and consistent league - with regard to fixtures would get modest increase in attendances

and modest attendances are the best that can be hoped for

Full time football is bankrupting the league. Rovers were the perfect example of this - going full time when they simply didn't have the revenue.

There is a right way and a wrong way to run this league. The league is improving, getting more exposure, and is building momentum. We cannot afford to go back to short-term solutions, just to get an extra 10 or 20 fans through the gate.
    that is the sort of waffle that has seduced idotic boards over the last 15 years - I've yet to see a reputable cost/benefit analysis that indicates
    that any League of Ireland club has ever generated "more money" as you put it. The reality is "ambition" generally equates with mismanging funds and /or getting into serious debts

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    I'm in the camp that believes that the timing of our football season is almost irrelevant - attendances will not improve - that is the bottom line. Its fantasy to suggest otherwise.

The league needs a cohesive and consistent strategy - changing ships in mid stream is part of the reason for the consistent failure of the league.

A tv driven, properly marketed and consistent league - with regard to fixtures would get modest increase in attendances

Maybe for clubs in Longford and Cobh, but the Dublin clubs have massive potential if they got their acts together.

Longford has contraints of being a small county.

St. Pats have a market of over 1 million to try and target.

I agree with a lot of what you wrote though.

Congrats, you've managed to not call him a pr!ck this post.
    Hooray, you've managed to post yet another irrelevant post....

176 Posts
    Full time football is bankrupting the league. Rovers were the perfect example of this - going full time when they simply didn't have the revenue.
    We were the most high-profile example, even though not all of the squad was full-time. Pats, and Bohs, are other examples, of what happens when it goes wrong. But when we get ourselves sorted, we will go full-time again at the earliest opportunity.

Cork, and Shels, and to a limited extent Drogheda and Derry, have done well from going full-time, and it has brought them success. It's the only way to compete in this league now. For most clubs, turning part-time = Mediocrity, and a lack of ambition.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    Maybe for clubs in Longford and Cobh, but the Dublin clubs have massive potential if they got their acts together.

Longford has contraints of being a small county.

St. Pats have a market of over 1 million to try and target.

I agree with a lot of what you wrote though.

I would love to believe we have a market of 1 million but the reality is that attending LOI games regularly is a minority (a significant minority in Irish sports terms) interest in Dublin - and Pats operate in a tiny enclave of the Dublin market, local to Inchicore and surrounding areas like Drimnagh Walkinstown etc. A lot of the posts on here about increasing attendances are just plain unrealistic. Longford may be experiencing a natural levelling off process in their regular support - they had several stand out cup years which kept things artificially high for a few years but no club retains that level of support when the club is not in the running for a cup or league. Its only natural

I'd love to ambitionless clubs like Longford get relegated. Sligo or Limerick would bring much more to the premier division.

Not just an empty ground and hoof ball like Longford

We were the most high-profile example, even though not all of the squad was full-time. Pats, and Bohs, are other examples, of what happens when it goes wrong. But when we get ourselves sorted, we will go full-time again at the earliest opportunity.

Cork, and Shels, and to a limited extent Drogheda and Derry, have done well from going full-time, and it has brought them success. It's the only way to compete in this league now. For most clubs, turning part-time = Mediocrity, and a lack of ambition.
    I was just using you as an example, there's many clubs that have done it or are in the process of doing it. I'd be confident that the next time Rovers go full time they'll be able to afford it - I think it could be further away than you think though.

It'll prove to be unsustainable for Shels, Drogs can only afford it because their directors are subsidising it - the club couldn't afford it, You'd have to assume Derry have learned from previous mistakes and are being sensible, and Cork have the gates to sustain the team they have.

Part time only equals mediocrity in a league where a few are over spending for success. Incidentally, semi-pro Longford are currently ahead of full time Drogs and full time Bohs.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    I'd love to ambitionless clubs like Longford get relegated. Sligo or Limerick would bring much more to the premier division.

Not just an empty ground and hoof ball like Longford
    Are there any mods on this forum, or is it open season?

Quote Originally Posted by wws

Totally agree with wws.

Macy - My Post doesn't represent thinking at Rovers. We are the new kings of budget, budget, budget.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

I cannot for the life of me see how a return to winter football will in any way improve the league. I can see many ways in which it'd do the opposiate, so by that token can see why the FAI and the reest would be all for it.

Does anyone take this man seriously? The idiot said strong referees are needed at the Brandywell after we beat them a few weeks ago, in the same match two Bogford players were sent off as was his assistant. What a fecking hypocrite. We need strong refs to supress Ferguson's thuggish tendancies!

We should be beyond the day of thinking about player's holidays. We should be striving for a pro league but with ambitionless clubs like Bogford it won't happen.

Longford and Harps sticking together, two small time pathetic clubs with a freak infatuation with livestock. Hope both go down and stay where their attitude belongs.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

This holidays argument is a joke, we all laughed at Glentoran when they had players missing for the Shels game now we want to change our entire season as they don't want to take their feckin holidays over the lenghty off season in the winter?

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast