Cosmo,
I thought there was about 200 of us in Drogheda last week. Not bad considering the lenghth of the journey, and the fact that most of us have to take a half day to get to the game in time.
'Yeah - we're a sh!t lot us Derry fans.....'
Never said you were a sh!t lot, just stating that alot of things are over exaggerated probably because people remember the good old days when you had sh!t loads going around the country every week (and also because you make alot of noise with your drum making it sound like theres more there!)
Again, not having a pop before any derry fan gets his knickers in a twist and starts anther thread on your site saying that cosmo hates derry, just stating a fact (and again not having a pop, how many times do i have to say that?, but I thought you'd have alot more in united park the other week considering your league position and your 'great' reputation)
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
Cosmo,
I thought there was about 200 of us in Drogheda last week. Not bad considering the lenghth of the journey, and the fact that most of us have to take a half day to get to the game in time.
Lofty 9, I would guess around 150-200 of ye in united park alright. But again, maybe its because of your 'great' reputation and how you were going for the league title I thought you'd have more considering drogheda isnt that far compared to other journeys ye have to make. Like 1 derry fan said to one of the lads before he met us in the pub beforehand that there'll be an enormous following of ye '5 full buses plus loads in cars' he said. We were expecting alot more of ye tbh.Originally Posted by lofty9
Also didnt someone say on here before that there were only 14 of ye in waterford this season? (understandable really, considering the trip ye have to make, and having to do trips like that every second week, and lets be honest the RSC isnt really one of the most appealing away trips to have to make especially when its another day off work).
Friday night football doesnt help ye alot obviously
Anyway, as I keep saying my last couple of posts arent meant to be a pop at ye, just giving the alternative view.
TBH Our home attendance figures have been very disappointing, considering our position. But there is a great effort made by our fans to get to the away games. Some teams appeal to our part time supporters - I know guys who won't turn up if we are playing Longford (no offence) They refuse to go and watch them as they have had a history of dour play at the Brandywell. I know the cup match against Rovers will attract up to double the attendance we had at the weekend, especially as the team produced the most outstanding first half display seen at the Brandywell on Friday since we were 6-0 up at half time v cork in the 80's.
Looking forward to returning to the brandywell next season , have some fond memories of it apart from when we blew a 4 nil aggregate with 45 mins left in the northwest shield final circa 1997.Derry will bring more away fans to the showgrounds in one match than the entire first division will for all matches this season.
Jesus that was some match. Ye were 3-0 up from the first leg, and went 1 up in the 2nd. Then our reserves took yis to the cleaners - even had the luxury of missin' a peno!!!. That was the Irish News Cup.Originally Posted by londonred
Seemed to work all the same...Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
Originally Posted by Cosmo
Aye, i remember the days Drogs were nothing but a little rural team....Heres one for you all, and not a word of a lie. About 5/6 years ago a Drogs player ****ed against the goal-post at the half-time interval in the Brandywell, damn all to do with this thread but im remembering some weird moments over the past 20 years !!
...Not to mention the treble
Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach
the onle and only gerry boyle - another of martin lawlor's gifts to the drogs fansOriginally Posted by dortie
one of the worst drogs players of all time. the only 'rememberable' thing he did was '**** on derry'he even had a feature on an old drogs unofficial site:
http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/S...9265/gerry.htm
Originally Posted by ColinR
It was a sunday afternoon game, too many hungover heads to catch on to it, he was probably still ****ed himself. Going by how well Drogheda played then id say the whole team was.![]()
Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach
No change there thenOriginally Posted by dortie