With exception to the fact we are in our own leagueOriginally Posted by Speranza
Or their aspirations in Europe, aspirations of having any sort of fanbase, aspirations of being a proper club with a geographical base, a law abiding secretary, a non-scumbag manager. Cannot wait until you have to sell off your failed players because you have finished 4th in the league.
We have brought more to the EL than $hels ever offered!
Last edited by Speranza; 09/09/2005 at 5:32 PM. Reason: typo
"The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker
With exception to the fact we are in our own leagueOriginally Posted by Speranza
christ it's like shooting fish in a barrel sometimes...
Well done Derry
Finn Harps Dot Com
www.finnharps.com
Same hereOriginally Posted by Anto McC
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
Sligo Rovers F.C. will be 77 years old on the 17th of September
BTW Well done Derry City
Funny question but who did Derry play that day??
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
Checked the records, they beat Home Farm 3-1 in a League Cup Group game.Originally Posted by superfrank
''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''
fair play derry, my favourite away trip.
lets hope the next trip is a successfull one for the hoops, no birthday trebles for the nordies!
Possibly the weakest wind-up attempt on this site in some time. Yawn....Originally Posted by Anto McC
Foot.ie School Report : Must try harder.
Well done Derry. Great club, and great fansOriginally Posted by lofty9
Always remember the aul women in Dalymount wheeling prams when i was a young Derry fan...."get ya Mars bars, 3 for a pound !!!"![]()
What happened that tradition, now its guys dressed in red boiler suits trying to sell you watered down soup....no thanks, no alcohol in that mate![]()
Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach
The other 20 year olds are : Bray, Cobh, Monaghan and Kilkenny (formerly EMFA).Originally Posted by Ronnie
Derry are by-far the most successful of the 'new clubs ' : 2 Premierships, 3 FAI Cups, 5 League Cups, 1 First Division title and one Shield.
Bray Wanderers are arguably the next most successful : 2 FAI Cups & 3 1st Div titles.
Longford are 3rd most successful : 2 FAI Cups & 1 League Cup.
Kilkenny have one 1st Division title.
Monaghan and Cobh have won feck all.
Roo69 - Bray only joined the League in 1985, so you're only 20 years in this year - not 21.
Longford and Cork are in 21 years this season.
Wind upOriginally Posted by dcfcsteve
yeah thats what that is
Derry were a breath of fresh air to the league - I saw 3 of their away games in 85/6 and their support were fantastic. A train and a fleet of buses in Cork for the cup tie. Fantastic atmosphere.
Always very welcome in the Brandywell too. Best of luck for the next 20 except v Limerick of course.
There wouldn't be a first division now if it wasn't for the influx of Derry fans in that first year
Yeah they were great in the past but in recent seasons (and especially this one where theyre challenging for the league) the support has gone down alot and its nothing special (apart from being really loud with that flaming drum)Originally Posted by gspain
Never miss an opportunity to exercise that chip of yours, do you Cosmo......?Originally Posted by Cosmo
From the start of this thread I actually stalled on making that point but it is true - theyre away crowds have been very average this season and recent seasons ( especially comparing it to years ago, they are very poor considering youre challenging for the league).Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
Btw for the record that is not meant to be a pop at derry, just stating a fact (like jaysus droghedas away crowds are always brutal outside dublin and bogford because most of our supporters admittedly couldnt be a**ed)
Or home crowds have been 2nd best in the league this season -despite the fact that our location means we have nigh-on zero away fans to boost our numbers. Our away crowds haven't been bad either - even though, again, we have the longest journeys to make in Irish football. Meanwhile, our fans are feted by other supporters as amongst the best, most noisy and most colourful in the country. Yeah - we're a sh!t lot us Derry fans.....Originally Posted by Cosmo
But yes - our crowds are obvioously down form the days of 10-12,000 sell-outs in the late 80's. Are gonna tell us that grass is green next....?In hindsight the drop in our numbers was always likely to happen.
Regardless - everyone on here talks about the 'potential' size of clubs ~: how great their crowds could be etc etc. Only one club in recent memory has actually delivered against that 'potential', which leads me to believe that over-time we could therefore get some of the way back to those days.