Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend 31st MAy to 3rd of June

41 Posts
    Great win last night. Bohs played well in parts but overall think we deserved it on 2nd half performance. Padraig Amond has been some signing. He scores the goals but also a great team player as works so hard.

3,380 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Since Dundalk shipped 5 to Sligo on the 4th of March they haven’t conceded a goal at home,7 clean sheets in a row,mad stat for the team bottom of the league ….
    They've also only scored in two of their nine home league games

838 Posts
    Pathetic effort from Derry last night, no interest in winning the game. Dundalk the better side. More chance of Longford winning the league this season than Derry with performances like that. Hoban had about 4 touches.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

122 Posts
    Didn't think Pats were too bad last night up to a point, but Galway were so much fitter, stronger and faster on average that they looked the more likely as the game went on. We needed a win however it came though so it was nice to be on the right side of a late goal however it happe ed, hopefully that gets us going finally. Romal Palmer has managed to start the last two games after a painful wait to get his fitness up and has looked our best player in both of them, will be interesting to see how he gets on.

397 Posts
    Just noticed Stephen Kenny talking about them training at Abbotstown and having the best training ground in the country,where did Pats train before?
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

283 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Just noticed Stephen Kenny talking about them training at Abbotstown and having the best training ground in the country,where did Pats train before?
    We trained in Ballyouster outside Celbridge for the last couple of years. I’m not sure how the current deal in Abbotstown came about.

236 Posts
    I think Pats have played better than last night and lost this season so that’s a very welcome 3 points. Galway did next to nothing going forward until their equaliser but then after that they were the better side and nearly went in front but for an excellent save from Rogers at his near post. Some decent passages of play from Pats in the first half to create 2 chances for Melia but both were blocked. With all that in mind a draw probably would’ve been a fair result but having conceded 2 injury times goals in the last two games it was nice to actually score a late one
    Paaatrick's Agletic

920 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Pathetic effort from Derry last night, no interest in winning the game. Dundalk the better side. More chance of Longford winning the league this season than Derry with performances like that. Hoban had about 4 touches.
    They really didnt look like they were interested, there is something wrong in that side. Sure it can be pointed to that they are challenging for a league title but they arguably should have one in the bag and currently be top of the table. There is everything that is needed in that squad from not having a calamity keeper, big centrebacks that can play, creativity in centre mid, pace and lethal attack on the wings and a proven goal scorer, a bench that when emptied was bringing on even more quality....so how could a 1st time visitor to Oriel last night assume that Derry were in white initially and was shocked that Dundalk were the relegation fodder. Id love to think that Hoban didnt want to play against Dundalk but he was a shadow of the man that if he wasnt getting the ball at Dundalk he went and got it himself, to a handful of touches. Doyle ran rings around the much more talented Patching, Davies was excellent, kept Duffy in his pocket but was also let attack himself.

Im really not sure whether this was reinvigorated very good Dundalk performance that made Derry look very ordinary or whether it was a disinterested Derry. Either way a good point but 2 dropped by Dundalk! 3 nil wouldnt have flattered us, opposite of my expectations, and you hope those dropped points wont come back to haunt but instead that it is a solid base performance to build on.

Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    I think Pats have played better than last night and lost this season so that’s a very welcome 3 points. Galway did next to nothing going forward until their equaliser but then after that they were the better side and nearly went in front but for an excellent save from Rogers at his near post. Some decent passages of play from Pats in the first half to create 2 chances for Melia but both were blocked. With all that in mind a draw probably would’ve been a fair result but having conceded 2 injury times goals in the last two games it was nice to actually score a late one
    Strange that you thought we did nothing until the equaliser. I thought we were the better team and felt like we didn't deserve to lose. We had 16 attempts on goal compared to your 6. Even the first 15 minutes, ye couldn't get out of your own half. That's our first defeat in ten games, disappointing but on to Derry on Friday now. I like Pat's, I hope ye stay up

69 Posts
    Wasn't sure if I should post this here or the GK thread but how is Owen Mason starting every week for Wexford.

He is at fault for a goal every week and has cost them so many points.

838 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
    Wasn't sure if I should post this here or the GK thread but how is Owen Mason starting every week for Wexford.

It's incredible

236 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buckett View Post
    Strange that you thought we did nothing until the equaliser. I thought we were the better team and felt like we didn't deserve to lose. We had 16 attempts on goal compared to your 6. Even the first 15 minutes, ye couldn't get out of your own half. That's our first defeat in ten games, disappointing but on to Derry on Friday now. I like Pat's, I hope ye stay up
    Pats had 9 attempts according to LiveScore, not that those stats have any relevance to the point I made anyways. As I said I didnt think Galway deserved to lose and looked like winning it at 1-1 but that doesn’t take away from the fact that Rogers had pretty much nothing to do up to that point. I like Galway too, I hope yous win the league or cup again in your lifetime
    Last edited by 2 Year Contract; 02/06/2024 at 1:35 PM.
    Paaatrick's Agletic

236 Posts

He was involved in a lot of underage international squads in the last few years, it’s mad to think he was at that level considering the consistent howlers he seems to produce
    Paaatrick's Agletic

2,416 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    He was involved in a lot of underage international squads in the last few years, it’s mad to think he was at that level considering the consistent howlers he seems to produce
    He was very poor against Harps on Friday night.

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    He was very poor against Harps on Friday night.
    Off the top of my head, he was at fault for the goal Friday and GIFTED Longford an equaliser at the very death in their 2-2 draw.

That's 5 points he's at fault for without scratching the surface.

Hard to see anyone but Drogs finishing bottom at the moment. I know they could go on a run but I don’t see it.

as for a title run…. Dare we hope again?!

680 Posts
    A maximum points weekend for Rovers and i am full of hope again.
    Can Derry slip up at home to Waterford tonight? just to make the weekend a 100% perfect one.....

122 Posts
    Pats-Dundalk had already become a weird fixture in the last couple of seasons but it feels like it'll be at an all new level with it being Kenny vs Daly considering how well liked each is by the fans of the opposing team.

234 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Spot on. Lucky not to lose it. Such a boring watch as well. Fans are fairly used to dull matches, but that was worse than most.

Waterford tonight again, and doubt it'll sell out. Boring football aside, KO is at 6 o'clock, for some reason. It's not a bank holiday in the north, and it was initially scheduled for five o'clock, but moving it an hour isn't good enough. Can't ever remember being made to play a match this early midweek.

69 Posts

Mason dropped. Anyone else have something that they'd like manifested into existence.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast