Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: EL fans @ French match

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    1. You initially claimed City fans in row 8 but when this pointed out to you as incorrect you then said we in row 10.

2. You have made accusation of a deleted post which just sounds like a smokescreen to me as no evidence to back that up.
    Where did I ever say row 8???? I was in row 9, the second last row, behind were the cork fans, who were the back row. I was at the match, I can scan my ticket if you like, which would prove I was in row 9 whuch would mean behind were the Cork fans, even if I was making this up (which I am not) I would know that!

Vitruvian Man is guess is being being sarcastic. There definitely were not 25 people doing it for the record,certainly not all wearing Cork jerseys, and I don't think there was a row 11! 6-8 maximum people. I did not see and I would not believe that nazi salutes were given etc. BTW it didn't seem to a pre-meditated thing, just stupidity.

They were in the same row as eachother, i do not claim that the whole of row 10 were chanting it, (it seems now that the row was about 100 people wide), the people chanting it were in a row together behind me, the same row as was occupied by fans of one club, if that is what it seemed I meant then I did not write it clearly initially. If you think I am implying that all Cork fans or the majority of Cork fans or majority fans of any club were doing that then I want to emphasise that that is not the case at all.

My accusation of a removed post stems from the fact that I posted a very long post today with specific details of where the people were, what some of them looked like etc and it was not there shortly after I posted it.

As for the "did anyone else hear it" well the guys I went to the game with did anyway, and anyone in that vicinity with functioning hearing abilities would have heard it too. All you care about as evidence obviously is for a poster here to verify this, and considering it is an EL section I would be surprised if a poster here was not in the area. I am surprised no-one has backed what I said up, and perhaps I would be reacting the way you guys are if the shoe was on the other foot. I genuinely think that the reaction here is funny because what I said is not even embelished and it happened.

Great thread!

OK, so out of, say, 35,000 people in Landowne last night, there were:
    (a) 6-8 people chanting "The referee's a Nazi"
    (b) 31,492-31,494 people chanting "The referee's a wánker"
    (c) 3,500 people (assuming the French were allocated 10%) chanting "L'arbitre est un wanquer"

Bit of selective listening going on there, ThatGuy.
    Last edited by Dr.Nightdub; 08/09/2005 at 10:14 PM.
    Revenge for 2002

Doc.
    A French guy I worked with told me that French for w@nker was "Bronleur"
    (not sure of the spelling).

At last he shouted that word at me a couple of times while making this wierd gesture with his fist.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Great thread!

OK, so out of, say, 35,000 people in Landowne last night, there were:
    (a) 6-8 people chanting "The referee's a Nazi"
    (b) 31,492-31,494 people chanting "The referee's a wánker"
    (c) 3,500 people (assuming the French were allocated 10%) chanting "L'arbitre est un wanquer"

Bit of selective listening going on there, ThatGuy.
    To be honest I always laugh at that "The referee's a wánker" chant anyway.

I mean, who isn't?

Its spelt branleur, and it does mean w@nker
    L'arbitre est un branleur

EDIT:
    alternative dictionary reference

Quote Originally Posted by TheOwl
    To be honest I always laugh at that "The referee's a wánker" chant anyway.

I mean, who isn't?
    as a friend of mine said: there's two types of men in this world, w@nkers and liars. i disagree many people are both

Us southsiders don't wánk, we masturbate.

It's a better class of self abuse for a better class of person.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man
    Us southsiders don't wánk, we masturbate.

It's a better class of self abuse for a better class of person.
    Not only that, but didn't you Bohs fans manage to master-BATE in Europe a few season back?
    Last edited by TheOwl; 08/09/2005 at 10:42 PM.

LOL Brilliant!

Just to neatly tie this digression into the thread about Bernard O'Byrne: softly, softly, spanky monkey.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    Oh well I guess the entire row of people behind me in the EL section (East Bucket Wing block ET) shouting all that with Cork accents, saying "langer" all the time, worshiping every move that Roy Keane made, half of them wearing Cork City paraphernalia, and talking about their beloved "city" and "the cross" were fans of another club then. My mistake.
    Class, somes up Corkies exactly

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover
    TBH i dont give a fukc either way, i dont have a vendetta against either club or any poster on this forum. But the way your treating ThatGuy is nothing short of disgracefull, nothing but personall insults and abuse from posters and moderators alike, this is no discussion, this is group of posters bullying ThatGuy into submission so that he must recant his hideous accusations. Why would ThatGuy make up an accusation like that ?? maybe you should open your minds to the possibility that it could have happened, only 2 people here said they heard it, one says 8 were at it repeatedly the other says they heard it from one fella once. But that must mean that at least one person was at it, could that mean if nobody else heard the one fella chanting it could they have missed the 8 at it??? i dont know i wasnt there but its a possibilty and theres no need to be calling someone a liar without just evidence, something that you do not have, nothing personnal just my opinion.
    Here here, I know That Guy and haven't been his biggest fan in the past, but he defo doesn't go around making up stuff for the sake of it!

This is a joke of a site, personall insults and abuse from posters and moderators
    Moderators are meant to remove personal abuse not give it out
    Last edited by dahamsta; 09/09/2005 at 3:14 AM.

522 Posts
    Posts merged.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    This is a joke of a site, personall insults and abuse from posters and moderators
    I agree completely. We should leave immediately.

adam [size=1]/resigns his post in moral protest[/size]

Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man
    I was there.
    In row 11
    I definately heard at least 25-30 lads wearing Cork City jerseys singing "the referee's a Nazi."

But its all right, I don't think they meant it in an insulting way, seeing as they were giving the straight-arm salute with a finger under their nose at the time.

Well now that That Guy has somebody backing him up I expect to see the apologies rolling in from CCFC posters.

Brilliant. I take it all back.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Where did I ever say row 8????
    You used the line (which you have since edited out) "I was in row 9, directly behind the Cork fans, and directly in front of the fans of another Dublin club."
    If you go back through the thread I've quoted you on it before the edit, though I'm sure you'll claim I doctored your post or something. I'm willing to accept it may have been a typo by you, but you definitely wrote it.

...i do not claim that the whole of row 10 were chanting it.
    ...Oh well I guess the entire row of people behind me in the EL section (East Bucket Wing block ET) shouting all that with Cork accents.

Your at worst Lying, at best embellishing IMO.
    No-one's backed you, outstanding effort by Vitruvian man aside.

Tell you what, You were in Row 9, give us your seat number.
    Maybe I was just too far away to hear it.

morons is another type of person. like the morons in a pub in cork (i'm sure they were nationwide!) who cheered when they saw the score from norn iron even though we were losing ourselves and not looking like we would score. the same morons probably didnt even know the u21 team played at turners cross the night before andf they probably didnt know that that mornic "get into them, fcuk em up" chant was langered out
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Nothin' like annoying the Chokers to get a good thread goin' .........

Youse that attended the match can all hang your heads in shame. There was more noise and passion out of the norn irish gang than there'd be out of ten times the Landsdowne crowd ............
    The usual constructive addition to a thread by you? Do you ever have anything interesting to say.. ever?

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Youse that attended the match can all hang your heads in shame. There was more noise and passion out of the norn irish gang than there'd be out of ten times the Landsdowne crowd ............
    Like anyone who was there adding to the excellent atmosphere is going to care about a snipe from someone who chose to stay home and watch the English match

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok

Tell you what, You were in Row 9, give us your seat number.
    Maybe I was just too far away to hear it.
    How clear can I make this, I was in row 9 (the second last row), behind the Cork fans, in front the fans of anotther Dublin club. FFS I was at the bloody match?

My exact seat number... Block ET Row 09 Seat 0064. If the seat numbers behind correspond to my row then I think that in row 10 seat 64 there would have been a Cork fan about 5'7, with a short-styled hair-cut and tri-colours painted on each cheek, during the second half was regularly telling everyone the score of the England game, about 2 or 3 seats to his right sat a guy who must have been about 40, a good bit older than the rest of the fans in that row, very "eccentric" fan that is recognisable even to me with a John Delaney like Barnet and both he and the guy beside him (a stouter guy with short hair wearing glasses) were losing the rag with the person sitting beside me for standing on his seat. A few of spaces to their right would have been the aisle, standing around that aisle were a few fans mixing with Bohs fans, at the edge of row 9 on that aisle was a Bohs fan wearing a Bohs jacket/jumper. The chants that I apparently have imagined according to you all came from the area in row 10 beside the aisle.

Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    ...Oh well I guess the entire row of people behind me in the EL section (East Bucket Wing block ET) shouting all that with Cork accents.
    EDIT: Actually looking at that I was describing/proving that the entire row behind me were Cork fans when you questioned if they were, rather than saying that they were all doing the nazi chants, though that clearly seems what i am implying by your interpretation. That was the point of the above statement.It wasn't my intention to imply that everybody in the row was doing the nazi chants, just to verify that the row behind me was occupied by fans of a certain club. I aplogise unreservedly for any other wrong interpretations that may have occurred.
    entire quote:
    Oh well I guess the entire row of people behind me in the EL section (East Bucket Wing block ET) shouting all that with Cork accents, saying "langer" all the time, worshiping every move that Roy Keane made, half of them wearing Cork City paraphernalia, and talking about their beloved "city" and "the cross" were fans of another club then. My mistake.
    No-one's backed you
    That is strange but compleyely irrelevant to me as it is a fact that these chants happened. I f I really was the only person who heard them I would question my sanity but everyone I was at the game with and people I never met before at it heard it and weren't impressed. Very, very peculiar that it just so happens that no-one on foot.ie, a site dominated by Cork supporters, heard it, bar one person who heard it by one person, and only once. Very peculiar indeed.
    Last edited by ThatGuy; 09/09/2005 at 10:15 AM.

Something inportant just occurred to me.

If we ever get one of those new lady referees in the eL what will we shout at her?

This is the worst thread ive ever seen on foot.ie ! 10 years olds would'nt go on like it

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast