Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: France (H) match discussion thread

thought he was a little off his line for the goal meself. looked like he would've saved it comfortably if he'd been better positioned. otherwise he was very good and not to blame for the result

given is good nut not great in fairness. he does make some good saves but he makes them look fantastic my diving IMO. he is a little short and useless at penos. Still our first choice keeper though

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish
    Have to say we were the better team for the majority of the game last night. Anyone watching it could realise this. We had most of the possession, created the best chances and never looked like conceeding until one moment of magic from Mr Henry.

That my friends was the only difference. Keane and Morrison need s**tloads of chances to be created for them before banging in a goal while Henry can conjure up one from nothing.

I agree that bringing Doherty on was all but admitting defeat and I seriously think Kerr's future has to be looked at. After all who has he beaten of any note in two and a half years? No one.

Also was I the only one who thought it was disgraceful that our fans were booing every touch from the French players throughout the match? This is real English behaviour as far as I'm concerned. No one boos us at away games (well possibly the Turks but we are generally well liked by everyone). It didn't do us any good in the end anyway.
    I don't agree we were the better team over the 90 minutes. Fairly evenly matched IMO. Both teams played very poorly.

I was in the French section and their fans around me were ****ed off that they were playing so badly and ball over the top and not finding anyone. The guy beside me was trilled with the win becaseu he didn't think they deserved it.

I think your point about the booing is ludicrous. Kerr himself asked the crowd to be grumpy and hostile. Again the French around me didn't have a problem with it. We weren't singling any particular player out for no good reason.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy
    I think your point about the booing is ludicrous. Kerr himself asked the crowd to be grumpy and hostile. Again the French around me didn't have a problem with it. We weren't singling any particular player out for no good reason.
    No we were just booing all their players for no good reason instead. Booing the opposition like this is pointless. It just gives us a bad name like the English and Turkish supporters. It ****es me off when our players get booed at away games though thankfully it doesn't happen that much. Kerr should be more worried about his tactics and his dodgy substitutions instead of relying on the crowd to get a result for him. It achieved f**kall anyway. Probably only riled Henry up more than usual.

3,491 Posts
    On the Doherty sub, it's very easy to be wise after the event (and yes, it was probably one of the single worst performances in an Irish jersey), but who was our top scorer in the last campaign? Kerr was fully justified to put him on and try and shake things up a bit. It didn't work - c'est la vie. I don't think an untried international with barely any Premiership experience would have fared much better, to be honest.

I thought the Keane booking was for dissent after Reid fouled his man - granted, I was in the South touchline seats and didn't have the best of views for working out technicalities like that. Anyone confirm what exactly happened?

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish
    No we were just booing all their players for no good reason instead. Booing the opposition like this is pointless. It just gives us a bad name like the English and Turkish supporters. It ****es me off when our players get booed at away games though thankfully it doesn't happen that much. Kerr should be more worried about his tactics and his dodgy substitutions instead of relying on the crowd to get a result for him. It achieved f**kall anyway. Probably only riled Henry up more than usual.
    The English fans reputation is from the fact that they have a section of their fans that are hooligans and that they routinely boo the opposition's national anthem. Irish fans don't have a reputatuon for either of these. We do have a reputation for enjoying ourselves with the opposing fans and not causing trouble. Creatiing a hostile atmosphere for the opposing team in the stadium is perfactly acceptable in my mind. Fine if you don't think it effects the players but it's not going to tarnish any repuation we have abroad.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Domenech: Irish were predictable

08/09/2005 - 14:03:32
    http://breaking.tcm.ie/2005/09/08/story219796.html
    France coach Raymond Domenech has described the Republic of Ireland as “predictable” after Thierry Henry’s strike proved deadly in Dublin.

But he also issued a warning to any French players who believe the hard work has been done in their mission to reach the World Cup finals.

His players are now level on points with Switzerland at the top of group four, but second on goal difference, and they face the Swiss next month in Berne, before finishing their qualifying campaign against Cyprus.

“There are weaknesses in our game,” said Domenech. “We have a lot of things to improve and we can do better.

“The Irish were tough to control but they were predictable.

“However the Swiss have a more varied game so we will have to be more concentrated and united than ever.

“It will be less easy to get organised against the Swiss than it was against the Irish.”

Back in Paris today, Domenech was reluctant to enter into a celebratory spirit, despite Henry’s fine winning goal which gave France a 1-0 margin of victory.

The Republic are now three points adrift of France, with their qualifying hopes fading, while Israel are a point behind the French, albeit having played one more match than the rest of the top four.

“We are now in the same situation as we were ahead of the Ireland match,” said Domenech.

“If we miss out on our match in Switzerland, we could be in big trouble.

“Also we should not forget that the Swiss will play against the Irish. Everything remains possible.

“This match (against Ireland) was just another stage of the competition and we must clear the next hurdle if we want to keep our hopes alive.

“We have two matches left and any mistake could be fatal.”

The Euro 2000 winners have failed to convince at either the 2002 World Cup or last summer’s European Championships, which perhaps explained Domenech’s cautious stance.

“I am not happy, just satisfied to see that the team is gradually getting into place and improving,” he added.

“My real joy will take place the day we book our ticket to Germany for good. But the other matches before that are just little enjoyments.”

Domenech will spend the coming month travelling around Europe to see his internationals play with their respective clubs.

“The French team is always above the clubs, that’s why there is a permanent contact between me and the players,” said the French coach.

“I will spend next month watching Champions League matches.

“I will also study Switzerland’s game carefully to find the right way to confront them.”
    I guess we were predictable

Quote Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo
    Plenty of fight and spirit, but lack of class.
    After 60 minutes and seeing how the game was unfolding, I had a bet with a couple of guys in the pub, that the french would knick it by one. Earned meself a few quid. It was pretty obvious at this point who was in charge and was looking like winning. They dominated the middle with zidane pulling the strings, we sat back too deep and invited them, to play in front of us.
    How many times did I see both Robbie and hog the halfway line, chasing shadows
    Roy played well and broke up their momentum, bit slow on the tackle a few occasions.
    Kilbane was totally at sea and the gulf of class between him and Viera/Zidane was clearly evident. He will fair better aginst waeker cyprus and the swiss.
    I was fuming at the long ball tactics. The back four were launching high balls at every opportunity. Scenes from the charlton era. robbie and clint hadn't a hope. What a waste Reid and Duff didn't get enough opportunites to punish them from the wings.
    Pre-match, Gallas was right when he said Ireland are long ball experts, and play old english type football. They never looked thratened by our attacks.
    When big Doc came on I almost left the pub
    Glad Roy, Duff and Reid didn't resort to those desperate measures. They kept it on the floor all game.

In a nut shell, we were never going to win and should never have expected to. THAT MY FRIENDS IS RELAITY.We got lucky aginst the Dutch Sep '01, and skill/class/and tactics were always going to decide this one.
    The French were a class outfit, who deserve to win the group after that performance.
    I still we believe we have enough class to beat the cypriots and swiss for a play-off place. That's what we deserve and our abilities merit.

One more thing, did anyone hear Niall Quinn on Skysports. After 50 minutes
    he was settling for a 0-0 draw. That and alot of other comments, make this man a pessimist and an extrmely irritating person.

Whats the difference between your bet and Niall Quinns comments.
    In Trap we trust

2,796 Posts
    The game is moving on, away from us. I think the way we played last night was actually better than our WC02 performances but it still wasn't good enough. We were unlucky to lose but we'd have been lucky to win if the full 90 minutes was taken into account. I'm not ignoring the fact that on a few oaccasions last night we played very clever & quick passing to free up our wide men. But it's just not clever enough. Overall I felt that France used less energy to compete with us than we used to compete with them.

Domenech is right. Switzerland play cleverer football than us, even though I think we'll beat them.

In fact just about every semi-respectable continental European international side plays cleverer & more varied football.

Until recently I was beginning to fear that England were in with a chance of WC06. I always try to separate all their hype from the reality but the hype does actually seep through nonetheless.

But watching the ConFed Cup, Villareal against Everton, Holland's friendly against England, Italy against us etc. makes me think that our style of football (as evidenced in the British & Irish leagues) just won't cut it at the highest level of international football. It may be good enough to make you hard to beat & get some good results but how far will it actually get you? Liverpool and Chelsea's success in Europe this year don't exactly endorse my theory. Nor does Scotland getting a draw against Italy. But I still think it holds water.

Kerr said this as far back as the Albania game but he's been unable to do anything about it. With a squad of players brought up in Ireland & Britain, playing professionally in Britain and coached by a coach brought up in the same tradition we'll always be predictable in the eyes of a top-footballing nation.

Kerr did what any manager who watched Niall Quinn & Tony Cascarino in the last 20 yrs would do. Bring on the tall donkey. But Doc isn't as good as those were. A less predictable coach may have had another plan. I'm not blaming Kerr, just pointing out that maybe there's a way of getting more out of what we have.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Henry: Ireland did not deserve to lose...

fair play to Thierry.....

But just reading up on all the coverage is making me more nervous about not qualifying. I do think that we can do it, but it will be difficult and we need to now concentrate on whipping Cyprus, which will not be the easiest game. I am even more determined to get behind the boys in Nicosia, they need full support. Come on lads, get us to Deutschland!!!!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ls/4224342.stm

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Kerr said this as far back as the Albania game but he's been unable to do anything about it. With a squad of players brought up in Ireland & Britain, playing professionally in Britain and coached by a coach brought up in the same tradition we'll always be predictable in the eyes of a top-footballing nation.

Kerr did what any manager who watched Niall Quinn & Tony Cascarino in the last 20 yrs would do. Bring on the tall donkey. But Doc isn't as good as those were. A less predictable coach may have had another plan. I'm not blaming Kerr, just pointing out that maybe there's a way of getting more out of what we have.
    agree with your points but I don't agree with Kerrs insistence that because our players play in England under coaches of that tradition we have to play with the same style.

Many of our players now play under very tactically intelligent managers Benitez/Mourinho/Ferguson and Jol could prove to be a decent manager (was gonna add Souness to that list ... maybe not!! . Its up to Kerr now to come up with his own style and tactics and take the odd risk!! I just feel that on occassions we are being too conservative and shy of any risk-taking regarding team selection. This makes our team predictable to others! I reckon we have enough players with skill to worry teams if we get the whole team plan right.

And Domenech!!! he should realise that he's working with a better squad of players than us and far bigger resources! And to say Ireland were predictable when I dont think the French did too much either!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by VinnyL
    i have full intentions of writing/emailing them... who do i write to in the FAI?? do you reckon they'll even take it seriously. so ashamed that if this a***hole it was great the way we all turned on him though. he didnt sing 1 irish song for the whole game either...
    Yes, and if they don't take this matter seriously they should be ashamed of themselves. Don't they support FIFA's campaign against racism in football.?? I remember not so long ago reading about someone here in Scotland being done for sectarian/racial abuse in a stadium. There are strict anti-sectarian laws in place over here though. I can imagine though if you had informed a steward, they would have done nothing. Please write in, they would prefer a written letter I imagine and ask them to confirm to you in writing that they have received the letter and are investigating.

I am glad you are taking the time to do this, I do not want such filth in our support. Thanks.
    KT - sorry to go off-thread there.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oconghc2
    I reckon we have enough players with skill to worry teams if we get the whole team plan right.
    I agree entirely. But when you listen to the vitriol churned out when Kerr does anything different (4-3-3, 4-5-1) and you get all the "we're Ireland, we only play 4-4-2" you realise he has his work cut out.

But regardless of whether this is holding him back or not, I just wonder does Kerr's upbringing mean that he too is bound by the traditions of our style of football. Martin O'Neill was suggested as a successor candidate on another thread. I can think of half a dozen reasons why he'd be an improvement, but also half a dozen reasons why he wouldn't. But somewhere along the line we've got to be cleverer & I'm not sure how we can do it.

Loads of my early posts on this forum were about playing 3-4-1-2 and other ways to play to our strengths and to cover up our weaknesses. My ideas might be wrong but I do think that there's more we can do with what we have.

2,796 Posts
    Many of our players now play under very tactically intelligent managers ...Ferguson
    Actually I'd like to cite Ferguson as a coach whose ideas ARE predictable and who is not capapble of taking United back to the top in Europe. Because, as I said, the international game is moving on.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Actually I'd like to cite Ferguson as a coach whose ideas ARE predictable and who is not capapble of taking United back to the top in Europe. Because, as I said, the international game is moving on.
    fair point actually! Utd havn't really moved on - but I still rate him as a manager and i think he brings more to the table than most managers. yeah but i dont want to be chattin bout ferguson!

And Domenech!!! he should realise that he's working with a better squad of players than us and far bigger resources! And to say Ireland were predictable when I dont think the French did too much either!
    Exactly... All first half, long high ball to Henry.. The goal: a shoot from yards, a magic by Henry.. Zidane? Just a shoot from free kick...

They were more predictable than us, seeing all of the wonderful players they have!
    I'm 21, I'm italian, but I love Ireland, and I always support the irish national team!

2,796 Posts
    In a way I've just contradicted myself on another thread by saying what we are really missing is a creative central midfielder who can make things happen - like Liam Miller promised to be a very long 2 years ago.

You can't expect a manager to coach a side to be less predictable if certain parts of the team just don't have the talent.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by totalfootball
    The manager is indeed limited by the players available to him. This could get worse if many of our young players are forced to settle for sitting on the bench or playing in the Championship or League One. I have long wished that more of our players would try playing on the continent, but somehow I can't see them having enough imagination to try it out. If say, instead of playing in the Championship, they were playing in Holland or Belgium or Portugual, they might actually have a chance of playing in the Champions League or UEFA cup. I feel they could learn a lot more about football by doing that, but maybe the money is not as good. Also, you'd have to learn a foreign language, which many English speakers refuse to do.
    Agree entirely - I've been thinking exactly the same thing recently.

Does anybody think that Maybe Kerr is trying to be a little bit too tactical and is losing some of the Irish Spirity and gung ho agressino etc. I am not saying we should be running around like eejits but we do lack some bit of spark at times and if our controlled tactics dont work we dont have other avenues to go. Just an idea, I am still thinking on the spot about last night and the Kerr reign in general.
    In Trap we trust

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy
    The English fans reputation is from the fact that they have a section of their fans that are hooligans and that they routinely boo the opposition's national anthem. Irish fans don't have a reputatuon for either of these. We do have a reputation for enjoying ourselves with the opposing fans and not causing trouble. Creatiing a hostile atmosphere for the opposing team in the stadium is perfactly acceptable in my mind. Fine if you don't think it effects the players but it's not going to tarnish any repuation we have abroad.

Exactly, i dont see the problem of booing any opposing players, there is nothing sinister in it, we just want our team to do well.
    Its a different story if we were booing a player cos he played for rangers or something stupid like that. I was in with a large bunch of french fans last night and had great banter with them, it is totally unfair to compare us with english or turkish fans.

Or for the result so disappointing, although as the old cliche goes if you dont take your chances when your on top it will come back to haunt you and it did just that to us last night.
    First half I thought we played very well, and were definitely the better team. Second half I felt the teams cancelled each other out, I was kinda hoping we'd get to 0-0 with ten mins to go and the two sides would settle for the draw.
    Cant blame Kerr imo, he hasnt much options on the bench to change the game, although I wouldve liked to see him switch duff and reid to try and involve duff more in the game. For me Richard Dunne was MOM, not keane.

Well at least we know what we gotta do now-heres hoping!

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast