Page 20 of 42 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Thread: 2024 FAI Cup

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    I think it's all very petty, but not sure they really care all that much about Bohs' preparations for a match.
    Or maybe they are actually that petty?

Either way, as evident from discussions here, it appears the rule is open to interpretation. The FAI made a decision, then re-confirmed it. Rovers should just let it go.
    Ask for the rule to be coded for next season, if they genuinely care that much.
    They are making life difficult for the Rovers FAI inside man, if he didnt ask the initial question.

39 Posts
    It’s bound to have an effect though?
    Not as if our lot have been setting high professional standards this season is it?
    That’s our own making though, as you say up to the coaches to get them prepared properly, Kerry though have to be affected too?

185 Posts
    Give Joe Duffy a call, boezo

42 Posts
    Very poor from Shamrock Rovers. It will only lead to more bad blood between clubs and fans especially as Bohs fans will have arranged travel and maybe to stay over in Kerry and now don't know if game will go ahead. It looks clear that the FAI can decide what competition the suspension is served in which they did and Bohs didn't do anything wrong as checked the situation with FAI.

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Give Joe Duffy a call, boezo
    And a great big **** you to you too, piggy.

101 Posts
    If this does lead to the game being postponed, then surely the FAI shouldn't have scheduled the fixture for this weekend in the first place, considering Rovers had the right of appeal.

It's very presumptive on their part and it reflects worse on them than on Rovers in my opinion.

698 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    If this does lead to the game being postponed, then surely the FAI shouldn't have scheduled the fixture for this weekend in the first place, considering Rovers had the right of appeal.

It's very presumptive on their part and it reflects worse on them than on Rovers in my opinion.
    Was hoping someone would make this point.
    FAI schedule the fixture before the appeal is heard and knowing there is a right of appeal....talk about "we will proceed with the hanging directly after the trial" the FAI didnt even try to pretend they were going to listen to any appeal.
    Its just like the appeals to overturn red cards. ITs time the FAI stopped trying to run the league the way Delanay did
    Im sure the FAI hung jury will return another decison in their favour and good luck to Kerry against a Bohs side that must be nervous given their supporters on here complaining about their preparations being affected by all this.

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    Very poor from Shamrock Rovers. It will only lead to more bad blood between clubs and fans especially as Bohs fans will have arranged travel and maybe to stay over in Kerry and now don't know if game will go ahead. It looks clear that the FAI can decide what competition the suspension is served in which they did and Bohs didn't do anything wrong as checked the situation with FAI.
    Waterford fan on clubs complaining irony....thread no feisty enough!

Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Finding the current FAI rulebook online is like trying to find a needle in a haystack but I found it on Page 180/270 under View Handbook > https://www.fai.ie/about/governance/

Looks to me the FAI followed their rule and Rovers are throwing a juvenile hissy fit wasting everyone's time?

SECTION 7 - DISCIPLINARY REGULATIONS
    SECTION 7.5 – SANCTIONS AND DISCIPLINARY & APPEALS PROCEDURE
    REGULATION 10. MATCH SUSPENSION

11. If a Player registers with a club in a different League to the League that imposed the original match suspension(s) any outstanding match suspension(s) shall be served in the new League. The level of football shall be determined by the Disciplinary Body of the new League.
    Shams would want to have some very convincing argument if the FAIs own rules state they have acted in the correct way. Just seems like they are throwing toys out of the pram or trying to justify paying some legal consultants for the initial objections by lodging the appeal.

I find it hilarious all the shams posters attempting to play the "it's just the rules" cards when it's almost certain that if the shoe were on the other foot they'd be spamming the board saying things like "They should've focused on winning the match not a court case" , "all this focus on the complaint only for it to be overturned", "typical SJW club trying to enforce their beliefs on others, stick to the beekeeping lads".

The cynic in me thinks this has nothing to do with the cup, Bohs or the rules but Rovers trying to damage the relationship between league clubs and the FAI so they can push for the league to break away from the FAI. Rovers would do better financially than most in a premier league style league where money can be funneled to the top. The issue there is there is no money lads and you've picked one of the few times the FAI seem to be acting correctly.

Fai cup

Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    In what way could they upset Bohs match preparation? Surely Reynolds and his players have been/will continue to prepare as normal for the game regardless of what decision is made
    I think if you think the match may not go ahead it would have a bearing on how focused you can be.

Kerry, outwardly at least, are operating on the basis that the game goes ahead as scheduled unless/until they hear otherwise, at any rate.

Seen in Sun earlier that theres a better prospect of Bohs being fined than letting Shamrock Rovers win the appeal. Think that is the most sensible option as it isnt Bohs fault they did after all ask the FAI about Dawson Devoy.

698 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Another Bohemia View Post
    Shams would want to have some very convincing argument if the FAIs own rules state they have acted in the correct way. Just seems like they are throwing toys out of the pram or trying to justify paying some legal consultants for the initial objections by lodging the appeal.

I find it hilarious all the shams posters attempting to play the "it's just the rules" cards when it's almost certain that if the shoe were on the other foot they'd be spamming the board saying things like "They should've focused on winning the match not a court case" , "all this focus on the complaint only for it to be overturned", "typical SJW club trying to enforce their beliefs on others, stick to the beekeeping lads".

The cynic in me thinks this has nothing to do with the cup, Bohs or the rules but Rovers trying to damage the relationship between league clubs and the FAI so they can push for the league to break away from the FAI. Rovers would do better financially than most in a premier league style league where money can be funneled to the top. The issue there is there is no money lads and you've picked one of the few times the FAI seem to be acting correctly.
    Thats some serious conspiracy theory stuff there is there anyone sitting beside you on the grassy knoll?
    I

Seen in Sun earlier that theres a better prospect of Bohs being fined than letting Shamrock Rovers win the appeal. Think that is the most sensible option as it isnt Bohs fault they did after all ask the FAI about Dawson Devoy.
    The only sensible thing to do is fine Bohs even though they haven't done anything wrong? Not following the logic here.

292 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    I think if you think the match may not go ahead it would have a bearing on how focused you can be.
    If the fear that they might have a Sunday off is going to mentally prevent Bohs from beating a team of ametuers in their second season in existence as a club then I’d be very very worried about the squad of players repeating my club if I were a Bohs fan
    Paaatrick's Agletic

Fai cup

Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    If the fear that they might have a Sunday off is going to mentally prevent Bohs from beating a team of ametuers in their second season in existence as a club then I’d be very very worried about the squad of players repeating my club if I were a Bohs fan
    They're not amateurs...I've seen most of their games in the flesh and regardless of league standing they play good football and should have more points. They could beat a Premier div side in 90 mins and that includes Bohemians

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Another Bohemia View Post

Ah here, theres a limit to clubs being entirely self serving and in LoI such strategic thinking doesnt go much beyond qualifying for Europe next season. Rovers would only be undermining their own influence within the FAI and administration of the league by breaking away.

There was another thread relatively recently on whether the league should go it alone again or stick with the FAI and the general consensus from fans was to stick currently I think?!

292 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    They're not amateurs...I've seen most of their games in the flesh and regardless of league standing they play good football and should have more points. They could beat a Premier div side in 90 mins and that includes Bohemians
    Wasn’t aware they were paying players this year. I’ve nothing against Kerry and wish them well but there isn’t a chance they do anything but lose to Bohs on sunday
    Paaatrick's Agletic

698 Posts
    The arrogance of the FAI and how they deal with the clubs is unreal. Sending off are rubber stamped by "appeals boards" regardless of how ridiculous they are.
    The refusal of the FAI to hear the appeal by Rovers (which they are 100% entitled to) until after the next round has been played is the ultimate Delaneyesque FAI in action. They could hear the appeal on Friday or Saturday but decide to wait until next week to hear it and let's guess what they decide. I couldn't care less about the cupnbut I am.delighted the FAI have shown themselves to be the same shower of chancers they always were. Being in another few independent directors and turf out these losers. Culture change my Ass.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    The arrogance of the FAI and how they deal with the clubs is unreal. Sending off are rubber stamped by "appeals boards" regardless of how ridiculous they are.
    The refusal of the FAI to hear the appeal by Rovers (which they are 100% entitled to) until after the next round has been played is the ultimate Delaneyesque FAI in action. They could hear the appeal on Friday or Saturday but decide to wait until next week to hear it and let's guess what they decide. I couldn't care less about the cupnbut I am.delighted the FAI have shown themselves to be the same shower of chancers they always were. Being in another few independent directors and turf out these losers. Culture change my Ass.
    The League Cup or League Trophy, or whatever it was, without a comparable cup competition in Ireland, I find myself swaying on the side of Bohs in this argument. They were given the green light that the cup wasn't a comparable competition. The rules should be updated to offer more clarity around this. The rule as it is did give the FAI the decision that the suspension is served in the league.

Page 20 of 42 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast