Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Genesis Reporter Issue 2 on sale at the France match

Genesis Reporter Issue 2 on sale at the France match

The second issue fo the Genesis Reporter will be on sale around Lansdowne Road on Wednesday evening, priced €1.

It's 20 pages long and includes:
    • 400 Club take over
    • Faroe Islands trip review
    • FAIlure- Don Givens
    • Fanzine Focus- FourFiveOne
    • Player Profile - Dave O'Leary
    • Why the international team needs to improve
    • Ollie Byrne, Football Hooligan*
    • World Cup Qualification Round Up Around the World
    • Cyprus Preview
    • Look-a-like

We also need sellers at the ground, please PM me or stick your name down here and we can sort something out. Also if you are interested in selling fanzines at your own eL ground let us know

Genesis Reporter

*allegidly
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Troy, I've helped you out with the GR before, but I'm afraid this issue is too Cork biased, focus on 451 and an article which is not only an attack on "a certain gentleman," but also at Shelbourne FC as a whole. I strongly urge you to ommit this article as it shows the club that we love in a bad light not to mention the league as a whole!

Rant over
    Sitting pretty!!!

Typical, I wont be buying it so.

Was this not supposed to be about promoting the league and everything in it?
    Last edited by Slash/ED; 05/09/2005 at 7:46 PM.

Out of 10 articles, I count one article which focusses on a Cork City fanzine and one which takes into account the concerns that fans across the league have about an individual at Shelbourne FC. I don't see how that counts as bias towards Cork City FC, but IMO it just proves once again that Shels fans can't take any criticism whatsoever

I haven't read the article, but if it is what it sounds like, an excuse to rant idiotically about Ollie Byrne and Shelbourne FC being rsponsible for all the evils in the world (probably focusing on the Drogheda match where the writer wasn't present) as it more than likely is, then that's a load of b*ll*cks.

If it's constructive then that's another matter. Somehow, I doubt it is.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    I haven't read the article
    probably focusing on the Drogheda match where the writer wasn't present

so you can comment on something you haven't seen, but th writer of the article can't.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    so you can comment on something you haven't seen, but th writer of the article can't.
    I'm assuming Drumcondra Red has read the article, since he's involved with the whole thing (correct me if I'm wrong there), so if he has reason to complain then there's obviously something wrong.

And I said probably

If I'm wrong I'm wrong, but if it's another idoitic rant it makes the whole thing look amateur. If it's a decent article written constructively but critcising Illie I'd have no problem with it, I criticise him myself.

I have read the article and I will not be associated with this issue, mainly because this article is anti-Ollie and the barstoolers who read it will then inturn have a further negitive attitude to Shelbourne Football Club, and the Eircom League as a whole.

Anal, I believe it is too CCFC focused because of the 451 focus (why not an article on all the collective fanzines???) and Cork drivle about Don Givens.
    Said article about "a certain gentleman," although it does touch on his achievments I found it to be a constent attack on the man, and as Slash/Ed said, this is supposed to be an Ireland fanzine also done to enhance the EL as a whole.

Once again, I am not to be associated with this issue, although I will ask around Tolka if people want a copy of future editions, I will not do it for this edition.
    Last edited by Drumcondra Red; 05/09/2005 at 9:58 PM.
    Sitting pretty!!!

Indeed, so much for promoting the league, the aim of this whole thing, no? Leave that shyte to the Cork fanzine.

Yeah, the one I bought before the Shels game in Cork (IWTO- I think???) also had an attack on Ollie in it, its getting boring now lads!

GR vol. 2 has attacks on 2 Irish footballing personalities, nice "fanzine"
    Last edited by Drumcondra Red; 05/09/2005 at 8:19 PM.
    Sitting pretty!!!

Well that's to be expected, it is a Cork fanzine afterall, but this clearly isn't the time or place for the typical childish idiotic bitter rants.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I know the writers real name, but don't know what he goes under here, I'd like to know who he follows...
    Sitting pretty!!!

Typical Shels, throwing their rattle out of the pram because someone dares to point out that the hooligan isn't a saint.

I can't for the life of me see how there is a Cork City bias in it. There's one article about Rovers 400 club, there's one about Cork City's fanzine FourFiveOne and one about the hooligan. The rest of the articles are all related to International football.

It seems like a good balance to me and I look forward to getting a copy on Wednesday.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Typical Shels, throwing their rattle out of the pram because someone dares to point out that the hooligan isn't a saint.
    You're completley missing the point which comes as no suprise whatsoever.

Do you people really want this thing originally intended to promote the league to degenerate into a píssing contest between clubs? Is that what you're after?

You're completley missing the point which comes as no suprise whatsoever.
    Could you please explain it to me oh wise one....

It appears pretty straight forward to those of us with a bit of intelligence. As Eanna pointed out, there are 10 articles in it and only one of them is any way shape or form related to Cork City FC yet you and your friend seem to think it's got a Cork City bias. The suggestion is quite laughable really.
    Champions!

Could you please explain it to me oh wise one....

It appears pretty straight forward to those of us with a bit of intelligence. As Eanna pointed out, there are 10 articles in it and only one of them is any way shape or form related to Cork City FC yet you and your friend seem to think it's got a Cork City bias. The suggestion is quite laughable really.
    I never mentioned Cork bias, it has nothing to do with Cork.

The point is if you're useing this to start up the typical childish idiotic rantings against clubs (In this case Shels, but it could be any club) then people will respond with ever increasing amounts of idiotic, childish rantings. And soon, the fanzine will simply be píssing sesssions between fans of clubs constantly having a go at each other over every little thing.

Is that going to help promote domestic football as was the whole feckin point of the thing? No. Quite the opposiate.

I never mentioned Cork bias, it has nothing to do with Cork.

The point is if you're useing this to start up the typical childish idiotic rantings against clubs (In this case Shels, but it could be any club) then people will respond with ever increasing amounts of idiotic, childish rantings. And soon, the fanzine will simply be píssing sesssions between fans of clubs constantly having a go at each other over every little thing.

Is that going to help promote domestic football as was the whole feckin point of the thing? No. Quite the opposiate.
    Sorry, it was Drumcondra Red who mentioned the Cork bias.

I see what you're saying alright and I would agree if it was to become a regular thing but this is only one article about a very controversial figure who has been in the press over his bad behaviour a lot since the last issue. It's a topic which may be of interest to people, obviously the Shels fans won't be happy about it but that's the way it is. If the hooligan could control himself then there would be no need for this article.
    Champions!

Sorry, it was Drumcondra Red who mentioned the Cork bias.

I see what you're saying alright and I would agree if it was to become a regular thing but this is only one article about a very controversial figure who has been in the press over his bad behaviour a lot since the last issue. It's a topic which may be of interest to people, obviously the Shels fans won't be happy about it but that's the way it is. If the hooligan could control himself then there would be no need for this article.
    Yes but say the writer is a cork fan (He could support anyone, so put whatever team he supports in for Cork if not). In responce some Shels fan could write an article ranting about Cork in the next one, they could hardly not publish it if they're publishing this one. Then everyone starts, and people reading the fanzine are hardly left with the idea that domestic football is something worth bothering to get off their arses and support after reading the rantings of rival fans where truth is rarely a requirement.

This kind of article, and the píssing match that will doubltess follow if that's the kind of article they're putting into the thing, will do quite the opposiate of the original point of the thing, promoting domestic football, and it makes the whole thing look a bit amateur.

Yes but say the writer is a cork fan (He could support anyone, so put whatever team he supports in for Cork if not). In responce some Shels fan could write an article ranting about Cork in the next one, they could hardly not publish it if they're publishing this one. Then everyone starts, and people reading the fanzine are hardly left with the idea that domestic football is something worth bothering to get off their arses and support after reading the rantings of rival fans where truth is rarely a requirement.

This kind of article, and the píssing match that will doubltess follow if that's the kind of article they're putting into the thing, will do quite the opposiate of the original point of the thing, promoting domestic football, and it makes the whole thing look a bit amateur.
    I agree totally with what you're saying tbh BUT this is a unique article imo as the hooligan has courted controversy a bit recently.
    Most clubs don't have an individual who would merit such an article so it can't really descend into a tit for tat situation. All it takes is a bit of editorial control to ensure that doesn't happen anyway.

Ultimately the actions of the hooligan will do far more to the image of the EL than an article in a fanzine will.
    Champions!

I agree totally with what you're saying tbh BUT this is a unique article imo as the hooligan has courted controversy a bit recently.
    Most clubs don't have an individual who would merit such an article so it can't really descend into a tit for tat situation. All it takes is a bit of editorial control to ensure that doesn't happen anyway.

Ultimately the actions of the hooligan will do far more to the image of the EL than an article in a fanzine will.
    Whatever about the rights and wrongs of Ollie, that's not really the point. I agree some of his actions are a disgrace too, but it will generate into tit for tat if the article is just some rant (And it was bad enough for one person to refuse to work with them on the issue). All it takes is one wound up Shels fan to write a counter article, which will more than likely happen, and then it's tit for tat. Another píssing session between clubs fans and more EL in fighting and bickering.

And more so anyway, a rant about Ollie and Shelbourne as a club is not going to do anything to promote the domestic game which is the whole point of the thing. It will come across as looking a bit petty and amateur. If the whole project was about promoting the domestic game and ultimately getting people off their arses to watch it, where does this article fit in? Is it not going to achieve the opposiate even without the inevitable tit for tat that will follow?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast