Thread: FAI Cup Quarter Finals on TG4

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    The Brandywell and the Cross also come across far FAR better on TV than United Park.
    I wouldnt agree with you.

I think Drogheda comes accross very well on TV.

Turners Cross had the TV gantry on the wrond side of the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    I wouldnt agree with you.

I think Drogheda comes accross very well on TV.

Turners Cross had the TV gantry on the wrond side of the ground.
    Agree about the cross but you really think Drogheda comes across well on TV? With nothing behind either end and not much where the cameras facing either. I'd say the cross, even if the cameras on the wrong side, comes across a hell of alot better.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    actually its the cup!
    You know well what I mean . It's EL teams in it!

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    but in saying that Cork were poxed to scrape by the worst team in the premier on sat night so ya never know.
    We beat Harps Saturday night not BRAY....

City are playing Sligo on TV because we are top of the premier and they are top of the 1st division..Cup is also about romance..and why do you care about Drogs and Bohs?..i have never seen anyone arguing for another club to be on TV before while there own club is still in the competition.. ..are all Bray fans this miserable that they would want to deny Sligo a live game?..between you and Superfrank you really give the Bray fans a bad name..

Harry Crumb...On the other point i think(maybe i am wrong)but it was Oriel Park that the recent Dundalk/Drogs game was on..it looked well on TV..United Park does not look great with the billboards really..

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid
    With only four games, and three TV stations that show EL - rte, setantat & TG4 why cant all the matches be shown live ?
    It wouldn't have killed TV3 to show one either.
    To show all 4, you would have had to have the games on Friday night, Saturday afternoon, Saturday evening, Sunday afternoon.
    Could have been done alright.

The 2 games make sense. The two games not shown are matches that away fans can get to quick enough.

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    We beat Harps Saturday night not BRAY....

City are playing Sligo on TV because we are top of the premier and they are top of the 1st division..Cup is also about romance..and why do you care about Drogs and Bohs?..i have never seen anyone arguing for another club to be on TV before while there own club is still in the competition.. ..are all Bray fans this miserable that they would want to deny Sligo a live game?..between you and Superfrank you really give the Bray fans a bad name..

Harry Crumb...On the other point i think(maybe i am wrong)but it was Oriel Park that the recent Dundalk/Drogs game was on..it looked well on TV..United Park does not look great with the billboards really..
    Yeah 6th in the league is really the worst team.......Jesus you caaaaaaaawk lads have some special way of thinking

Who said i care about Drogs or Bohs ? I think it'll be a better game than the caaaaaaaaawk Vs. Sligo, thats why i think they should have showed it, no other reason. What are you talking about, deny Sligo a game on TV ? Games are'nt put on TV to be nice to clubs

I give Bray fans a bad name ? explain.......

And i would agree with Harry Crumb, United Park always looks well on TV.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Ah sure, they think fourth is mid-table. And they think they don't have goal scoring problems because they stuck SIX past mighty Middleton. Yet they failed to score against the high-flying Harps in ninety minutes at the Cross. Sure we're the Total footballers, like, from the real capital, like, biy.
    The jealous pr!ck is back talking sh!te again I see.

Put it this way Cop On, the Rebel Army will have more fans in Prague next week than you had at your HOME game last week. Think about that before you make your next idiotic post.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    The jealous pr!ck is back talking sh!te again I see.

Put it this way Cop On, the Rebel Army will have more fans in Prague next week than you had at your HOME game last week. Think about that before you make your next idiotic post.
    So personal abuse is game ball now yeah

It's the truth, he is a jealous pr!ck!!
    Adam has already sent him a warning about his behaviour in this forum so he's lucky he's not banned from it yet.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Merely stating the facts. You DID put six goals past Middleton. You DID NOT score against Harps in the Cross.
    Jeez, you are a touchy lot. I'd hate to see your reaction if you lost.
    I was also merely stating facts when I pointed out that we'll bring more fans to Prague next week than your club has had at any of it's recent home games!
    Champions!

20 Posts
    Right both of you GROW UP.

I'd hear more reasoned debate from a student politician than the clatter that's been in the last two posts.

You both know better than to act the way ye have been and this "I was merely stating the facts" malarkey that both of ye have done is very similar to "But Sir, he started it."
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Right both of you GROW UP.

I'd hear more reasoned debate from a student politician than the clatter that's been in the last two posts.

You both know better than to act the way ye have been and this "I was merely stating the facts" malarkey that both of ye have done is very similar to "But Sir, he started it."

I know I shouldn't react to the jealousy but ineveitably I do!
    Champions!

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    As a neutral I think the Drogs vs. Bohs game would have been a better choice, they may not be in the top 3 but they are definitely two of the bigger clubs around.

As I said before, the Sligo match would have been a lot more appealing if it had been at the Showgrounds, as there would have been a genuine chance of an upset and a real cup-tie atmosphere. I suspect Sligo will probably put 10-men behind the ball at Turners X though and hope for a 0-0 draw.

Put it this way, Drogs vs. Bohs would be akin to something like Aston Villa vs. Spurs in the FA Cup while the Cork game is like Chelsea or Man U (Top of Prem) at home to Sheffield United (Top of Champ).

Surely Cork and Sligo fans agree that the Villa vs. Spurs game would be much more appealing for a neutral, although maybe not if the Chelsea vs. Sheff U game was at Brammel Lane?

tg4

well thanks roo69 and harry crumb and dee75.
    our games v bohs are always great....1-1 a few years back....2-2 and 3-2 this year.
    but i do think showing games that fans cant get to either is good.
    rovers fans can see them v derry and sligo in cork.
    TG4 are great at whatever they do...always well produced tv. and the weather girls woo-hoo...
    but i think generally the media love cork and always want to show them and i suppose they always have full grounds ish...
    united park always look as though there is no home fans...camera does be over us.
    the tv coverage adds to the cup weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by TheOwl
    I suspect Sligo will probably put 10-men behind the ball at Turners X though and hope for a 0-0 draw.
    No this wont happen. Typifies the attitude towards First Division teams. But that's not a dig, because if Sligo Rovers were in the prem i'd have no interest in the first division either.

No we will go the turners cross and play football. I know it's been said that we'll get beat if we try that, but i genuinely believe Sligo Rovers will want to express themselves and play good football in front of the cameras. If we get beat then we'll be happy to have tried and played good football.

With the game being on Friday and on TV i cannot see a large Sligo crowd down to watch it, which is extrememly dissapointing. I'd say we'll have a couple of hundred down at it.

Of course it would be more appealing if we were at home, but in cup football you never know. Our game against shels in tolka a couple of years ago wasnt live and look what they missed out on

Will be a great event for us in cork anyway and of course i'd end up missing it.
    Last edited by garykelly; 06/09/2005 at 2:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by mandrake
    TG4 are great at whatever they do...always well produced tv. and the weather girls woo-hoo...
    Maybe the weather girls could presenter Sacar Beo?

I give Bray fans a bad name ? explain.......

Another jealous one....

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    You know well what I mean . It's EL teams in it!
    im not trying to be pedantic, but people are making the assumption that the 4 channels who have a deal to show el matches also have the rights to the cup. it aint that simple.