Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Belgium - Saturday, 23rd March 2024 - Friendly

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    871 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    C'mon Razor, you have a Will Keane poster on your bedroom ceiling. Well, I've heard anyway.
    Ive told your Mrs not to be telling stories again! (sorry couldnt resist )
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,657 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    Will Keane? Won't Keane?

Questions that will plague the Irish national side forever apparently.
    First Roy, then Johnser, now Will.

569 Posts
    This is a stupidly attacking team but **** it.

This is the team I’d start against Belgium:

Kelleher

Doherty
    O’Shea
    Collins
    Ebosele

Cullen
    Knight

Ogbene
    Szmodzics
    Johnston

Ferguson

-
    Probably makes more sense to play Coleman instead of Festy and moving Matt Doherty over to the left. But could see Doku rinse Coleman pace wise. The lack of game time after the injury worries me…

903 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Direct Quote: "Marco Rossi is nothing bud-a-pest"

I'm here all week.
    Don't know whether to laugh Orbán you.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

403 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    This is a stupidly attacking team but **** it.

-
    Probably makes more sense to play Coleman instead of Festy and moving Matt Doherty over to the left. But could see Doku rinse Coleman pace wise. The lack of game time after the injury worries me…
    Yes we will Count Doku's goals I'm afraid.
    The dark side of things.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Absolutely, but it usually spirals into a faux outrage and the manager doesnt know what hes doing. Discussion is one thing, but the guy being left out always seems to be the messiah
    Absolute nonsense. I made a case for a player, provided facts and figures. Trying to do the right thing. Suddenly we're in your bedroom with Crosby's missus and a mirror on the ceiling. Chrissakes.

871 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Snapshot View Post
    Absolute nonsense. I made a case for a player, provided facts and figures. Trying to do the right thing. Suddenly we're in your bedroom with Crosby's missus and a mirror on the ceiling. Chrissakes.
    Lads not allowed make jokes now?

Keep making your case for a 31 journeyman who has less pace than my dead grandmother if it makes you happy, but remember if you are allowed your opinion so are those of us who roll our eyes at someone getting annoyed over a nothing player

108 Posts
    Lads not allowed make jokes now?

Keep making your case for a 31 journeyman who has less pace than my dead grandmother if it makes you happy, but remember if you are allowed your opinion so are those of us who roll our eyes at someone getting annoyed over a nothing player
    Another disgraceful post from you. You're out of control.
    Last edited by Snapshot; 20/03/2024 at 2:25 AM.

2,657 Posts
    Relax the cacks.

871 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Snapshot View Post
    Another disgraceful post from you. You're out of control.
    Think me and you have very different definitions of out of control and disgraceful. Jaysus, picking Will Keane as a hill to die on is an odd one, even by this forums standards. But fair play, keep fighting the good fight, its funny at least

3,334 Posts
    Ok you two. Go to neutral corners.
    There's been pages of debate on a player that isn't in the squad, and little interest in it, outside of both of you.
    Either take it to your inboxes or let it go.

732 Posts
    Absolutely, but it usually spirals into a faux outrage and the manager doesnt know what hes doing. Discussion is one thing, but the guy being left out always seems to be the messiah
    That certainly happens, but I don't see it with Keane. I think people who mention him suggest that his goalscoring record is consistent enough that his mediocre cameo isn't enough to dismiss him as a condender for the squad. They think he might be a decent option. That's a long way from him being the messiah, or even from the manager being a very naughty boy for leaving him out of the squad.

457 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    That certainly happens, but I don't see it with Keane. I think people who mention him suggest that his goalscoring record is consistent enough that his mediocre cameo isn't enough to dismiss him as a condender for the squad. They think he might be a decent option. That's a long way from him being the messiah, or even from the manager being a very naughty boy for leaving him out of the squad.
    That's just the typical response from folk when anyone asks why isn't player A, B, or C in a squad. It was the response that was always given when people questioned why Szmodics isn't in squads.

3,267 Posts
    Exactly this.

Plus the options in the squad at his expense are distinctly mediocre too. Idah, Obafemi and Parrott have 22/23/23 senior club goals in their entire careers. Keane has 24 in the past 18 months.

And against that, you have the reasonable view put across by ifk101 that Idah and Obafemi in particular may offer something different up front, whereas Keane may be too close to Ferguson/Szmodics in style.

19. Thanks From:

871 Posts
    I literally have a fella calling me a disgrace and out of control for making light of Keane.... think thats a bit OTT no?

732 Posts
    I literally have a fella calling me a disgrace and out of control for making light of Keane.... think thats a bit OTT no?
    I think that was in distaste at the dead grandmother joke. In any case, tets has asked that that strand of the thread be taken elsewhere if it's to continue.

3,334 Posts
    Ryan Manning called into squad after recovering from injury

23. Thanks From:

162 Posts
    Game day, and it's been 25 hours since the last post on the dedicated match thread. For shame.

I'm going for a rousing 2-0 win today over a disinterested Belgium, evoking memories of Stan's win over Sweden eighteen years ago; Ferguson silencing the doubters with a good, scrappy poacher's goal, and Finn Azaz announcing himself with a Liam Miller-esque thunderbolt.

1,102 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Supreme feet View Post
    Game day, and it's been 25 hours since the last post on the dedicated match thread. For shame.

I'm going for a rousing 2-0 win today over a disinterested Belgium, evoking memories of Stan's win over Sweden eighteen years ago; Ferguson silencing the doubters with a good, scrappy poacher's goal, and Finn Azaz announcing himself with a Liam Miller-esque thunderbolt.
    But what are your views on Will Keane?

26. Thanks From:

622 Posts
    Haven't posted properly for a long time. The Kenny affair was awful in how it played out in the end.
    Neither players, manager, coaches nor fans came out of it with any credit. I'll put my hand up and say that I probably went too far in debating the merits of SK at times. I'd imagine/hope that other posters would agree they went too far in the opposite direction, perhaps not.

It would be incorrect to say that nobody would have done better. We don't know, we couldn't know, but I think it is probably fair to say that this is the weakest period for Irish football in our lifetime (or in Stuttgart's case, two lifetimes) and by some distance.

Happy to let bygones be bygones, but I'm not going to engage with the exhausting nonsense most posters on the Ireland forum engaged in over the past 3 years).
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

28. Thanks From:

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast