Thread: where to watch the game in Dublin?!

26 Posts

where to watch the game in Dublin?!

i've booked flights to come over for the ireland france came to dublin....can i have suggestions of the very best places to watch the game with a cracking atmosphere...im 10 mins drive from temple bar, so somewhere near there wud be quality..needs 2 be wild tho, wat do people think!

3,376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    i've booked flights to come over for the ireland france came to dublin....can i have suggestions of the very best places to watch the game with a cracking atmosphere...im 10 mins drive from temple bar, so somewhere near there wud be quality..needs 2 be wild tho, wat do people think!
    There's a bunch of lads meeting in Slattery's before the game, other than that the usual suspects of Doyle's outside Trinity College and Frazer's at the top of O'Connell Street spring to mind

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    Why not watch it somewhere near the ground like the beggers bush or Slatterrys, Murrys, the Lansdowne, you never know you may bump into someone that has a spare ticket if your around that area, it has happened before to people I know who went to watch the game in a pub near the ground.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    Why not watch it somewhere near the ground like the beggers bush or Slatterrys, Murrys, the Lansdowne, you never know you may bump into someone that has a spare ticket if your around that area, it has happened before to people I know who went to watch the game in a pub near the ground.
    As I am from beyond the pale I would appreciate if someone could tell me where exactly these pubs are
    I would like to go to a pub near lansdowne road!

thanks
    barbie

The submarine in crumlin without a doubt.
    huge pub with cinema like screen and a band and excellent craic

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    There's a bunch of lads meeting in Slattery's before the game, other than that the usual suspects of Doyle's outside Trinity College and Frazer's at the top of O'Connell Street spring to mind

Doyles is my local in town and I was just passed there today..it was all closed up and looks like it having renovations or something. The Sumarine Bar is ab fab for away games your not going to. Although I'm not going back there till we play someone crap and are guaranteed a win as I put a jinx on the place Basle 2003.

personally i'd defo go to the sub if I was comin from abroad. its didicated to Irish football...its where skysports/news broadcast from on match day www.thesubmarine.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Mento
    The submarine in crumlin without a doubt.
    ....... the worst type of venue to watch an Ireland game. Full of olérs and gob****es who haven't a club about the basic principles of football. Avoid it like the plague is my humble opinion
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    ....... the worst type of venue to watch an Ireland game. Full of olérs and gob****es who haven't a club about the basic principles of football. Avoid it like the plague is my humble opinion

I can see your point for sure....but ye don't have to mix with other folks....go with your own crowd and soak up a bit of the atmosphere. Coming from abroad your hardly gonna care if someone is bandwagon jumping ole oler. Your gonna be more into the crack.

Quote Originally Posted by Barbie
    As I am from beyond the pale I would appreciate if someone could tell me where exactly these pubs are

thanks
    barbie

If you get the Dart from town get off the train at Grand Canal dock the station before Lansdowne, all those pubs are at the north terrace side of the ground and will be full of life on Wednesday.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

and our players are doing what....late at nite?

Victorieux des Iles Féroe samedi au Stade Félix-Bollaert à Lens (3-0), les Bleus (photo Patrick Vieira) poursuivent leur préparation en Artois avant de s'envoler pour Dublin mardi matin au départ de Lille-Lesquin. Au programme du jour : récupération et soins dans la matinée. Vidéo et entraînement à huis-clos après le déjeuner. Mercredi, la France défie la République d'Irlande à Lansdowne Road.

From the FFF website - roughly translated as " victorious over the Faroe Islands on Saturday at the Felix Bollaert Stadium, Lans (3-0), the French team are continuing theor preparations in Artois before travelling for dublin Tues morning, leaving from Lille. The programme for the day: Recouperation and little else in the morning. A video and training after dinner. Wednesday France against Ireland in Lansdowne road...

Did I hear some of the Irish guys were on the town this weekend...some for 3 straight nites? (allegedly)

Thought you said you were going to the game?

All the pubs near Lansdowne will be jammers from about 18.00 onwards.
    Get down early.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar

Get down early.
    very sharp

We are and will have to mix it with les blues. From the posts here it seems like there is going to be a lot of green in the away section so we shouldnt be lonely

Thanks to all for suggestions

Barbie

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar

Get down early.
    hi peadar are you the green ballon guy from paris? was it you who was giving out the ballons outside O Sullivans?

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    hi peadar are you the green ballon guy from paris? was it you who was giving out the ballons outside O Sullivans?
    aye that's Peadar the Pimp!