Swiss v Israel....score

Swiss 1 nil up eh....nice one

what is the ideal result for Ireland in this one ? At a guess I would say a draw and keep the stalemate in the group going ?

an Israel win would be bad for us.........

1-1 now.
    My other posts are intelligent and witty. This one is an exception.

www.kerins.org

Playstation Network: DanK_SFC

1 : 1 These feckers are hard to get rid of.

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    an Israel win would be bad for us.........
    Draw is the best result.
    After that a Swiss win is more preferable as both we and the French have chances to nullify that win.
    An Isreal win will, I believe, gauruntee them at least 2nd place in the group (taking for granted they beat the Faeroes twice in their remaininig matches, of course), so that's not so good.

Israeli equaliser - 20 mins - 1-1
    JERRY: But are you still master of your domain?
    GEORGE: I am king of the county. You?
    JERRY: Lord of the manor.

Quote Originally Posted by Volcán Masaya
    Draw is the best result.
    After that a Swiss win is more preferable as both we and the French have chances to nullify that win.
    An Isreal win will, I believe, gauruntee them at least 2nd place in the group (taking for granted they beat the Faeroes twice in their remaininig matches, of course), so that's not so good.
    Thanks lads. On one hand I would like to see the Swiss reeally batter them, but I think you are right a draw is the preferable result

3,220 Posts
    Israel's last two games are against the Faroes, so if they win, they'll be in with a good chance of qualifying.

Either way, I think we have to beat either France or Switzerland ourselves.

70 Posts
    How did the fixture list end up giving them back to back games against the Faroes?

3,220 Posts
    They chose the fixtures; we all agreed, I suppose.

Game is live on Setanta, incidentally.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    It's 1:1 at the moment, after 37 minutes, I assume we should hope
    it stays that way.
    All the games between the 'big 4' have been draws so far so it would be no surprise this is one too.

By the way you can get 16-1 on the Faroe Islands getting a draw in
    France (80-1 for a win ), would be great if it happened, France are 50-1 on.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    They chose the fixtures; we all agreed, I suppose.

Game is live on Setanta, incidentally.
    I'm sure when the fixture list was drawn up that Ireland/France/Swiss all thought they would have put the Isrealis out of the running by then.
    Even six months ago I'm sure we all thought they'd never be in such a good position. They're one poxy team.... or tenacious team, depending on your point of view.

70 Posts
    I take it we have no chance of being the/one of the best runner(s) up?

Didn't catch the first half. How is the match going?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I'm pretty sure that's going to be the Polish, according to what someone said to me the other day.
    My other posts are intelligent and witty. This one is an exception.

www.kerins.org

Playstation Network: DanK_SFC

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    No, no one in this group has a chance of that after all the draws between the top four.
    Which is why I think the whole idea of best runners up is a load of ******, some groups are easier than others in that regard. Look at the Poland/England group, whoever finishes up in 2nd there is almost gaurunteed a WC spot.
    If all 2nd places teams go into a play-off, like has happened in the past, then that's cool, but giving some preferential treatment is cobblers.

Hows the game going...who's in control...etc. I'm in work and I ain't got no TV. or min by min updates????????????

C'mon, give us a recap of the 1st half. I'm off to watch the 2nd.

According to Cascarino this is the best he's seen Israel play. They really took the game to Switzerland in the last 20 minutes. Seriously, if nobody has seen Israel's games at home to Switzerland and France or this game here they have to right no critise them. Extremely underrated team.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast