Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How long has Mick McCarthy got ?

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts

How long has Mick McCarthy got ?

The knives are starting to come out for Mick:

http://boards.footymad.net/mboard/fm...mid=2139125321

Away to Chelsea is the next Sunderland game (hard to see the defeat sequence being broken there but who knows - might be worth a pop at 20-1 or whatever the odds are) but unless the Black Cats get points on the Board soon (maybe next 3 games) I regret Mick might be shown the door.

I think once they break that sequence they can kick on. Portsmouth, Wigan and West Ham for the drop.

3,306 Posts
    Mick took a team hamstrung by crap signings, and finanacial mismanagement, brought in the players he could afford after having to sell the majority of the team that was there, and won the Championship in 2 seasons. Not many managers could do this. The teams that have been relegated over the past 2-3 seasons have been able to hang onto most of their big players (Ashton at Norwich, Johnson at Palace, West Brom kept their entire team the last time they got releagated). Sunderland are back to the Premiership and (relative) financial stability, even if they do get relegated I can't see him getting sacked.

779 Posts
    Hope you're right but fans and managers have short memories.

3,215 Posts
    I think the chairman has given his feck all funds to survive in the Premier - he's effectively looking for the season to pay off as much of their debts as possible and then build from next year. In that case, he should be safe.

Watching them yesterday they looked kinda lost on the pitch. Maybe it was Chelsea but they looked very easy to open up.

I never liked Mick though, I've always disliked him. But don't get me wrong I dislike Keano too.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Think he did very good job to get promotion but still released experienced players as clearly doesn't have much of a wage or transfer bill.

They've already played Chelsea & Liverpool away so no hope of points there although i'm sure they expected something from Wigan game.

Team looks like collection of has-beens & young inexperienced players. Would be suicide for Sunderland to sack McCarthy.

779 Posts
    Memories of Macedonia as WBA score a last gasp equaliser from a corner against Sunderland. I really feel for the guy.

Didn't see it - hope Breen didn't lose his man like he did in Macedonia.

Your man who got it got in between two lads for it.
    Extratime.ie

3,306 Posts
    total sickener, you've got to feel for the guy after that.
    Probably his best chance of a win for a while, next 2 games are boro away and west ham at home before the october break for internationals.

779 Posts
    Boro - local derby and not world beaters. Chance there and West Ham's bubble will burst soon (get there before the Sun banner writers do).

I just found this on eleven-a-side.
    Extratime.ie

I think to be fair to him he is been found out at this level. Nice guys dont become winners I think and this certainly fits the bill here. It says it all that they finished well above West Ham last year as West Ham players behaved like Premiership players and got beaten as a result in the lower league. Now they are in the big time there style of football suits the Premiership whereas Sunderlands work horses are exposed and Breen and Stubbs are terrible as a centre back partnership.
    In Trap we trust

779 Posts
    Delighted to see the Sunderland run without winning a game in the Premiership come to an end. I said there was a good chance in a previous post that they'd win that and with a game against West Ham next could be 2 on the trot. Nice to hear the fans chanting his name.

No goal by Elliott so maybe everyone should put that one to bed (him playing up front for uz) for a while. Personally I dont care where Mick finishes but i just hope the Irish lads stay up for EPL football next season.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Delighted to see the Sunderland run without winning a game in the Premiership come to an end. I said there was a good chance in a previous post that they'd win that and with a game against West Ham next could be 2 on the trot. Nice to hear the fans chanting his name.
    West Ham beat them at the SOL last season. 2-0 if I recall correctly.
    Extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    No goal by Elliott so maybe everyone should put that one to bed (him playing up front for uz) for a while.
    Finally, someone who agrees with me!!
    Extratime.ie

I thought Elliot played well for Sunderland and he won the free kick that set up the 2nd goal too. It was a lovely touch past Southgate so I would have no problem him playing against Cyprus. Maybe himself and Keane woudl be a little too light though as a front pairing. Mick is in no danger at Sunderland as even if they go down he will keep his job there. He is a hero up in Sunderland as far as I can see.
    In Trap we trust

2,690 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    No goal by Elliott so maybe everyone should put that one to bed (him playing up front for uz) for a while.
    As everyone predicted at the start of the season he's finding it tough because he's in a team that has to work really hard to get possession, let alone make any chances. Elliott has almost been playing wide right at times too. He's barely had a chance to miss this season.

But in an Ireland team against Cyprus he'd have more opportunity. He had an awful first 45 in Faroes but played great in the second. I remember one run when he ran at 3 or 4 defenders only for the 'keeper to make a good one-handed save which I thought was something we lack even from our first choice strikers, and he was unlucky not to score with his first touch against Italy.

I'd have no worries playing him against Cyprus. I'd certainly prefer it to playing Duff upfront again. If Kerr doesn't go with Duff, it'll presumably be either Elliott or Connolly and I've a personal preference for Elliott. It's hard to contend that Connolly is on better form with one Premiership goal.

I think the people that are slagging off elliott here obviously havent watched the games he has played for sunderland .. against boro on sunday only the second game he started in a 4-4-2 up front he was excellent . chased everything and worked his arse off .. Its not like in the championship now he is feeding on scraps but doing very well .. At this stage it should deffo be elliott and robbie against cyprus where he will be playing against a dodgy enough defence ...

779 Posts
    Agreed.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast