Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: How long has Mick McCarthy got ?

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    Pity you didn't think of that 12 or 13 posts back when you childlishy nitpicked someone's post to highlight a point that had no relevance to the topic at hand.

If you think that half a day later you might actually not give a crap about what replies you'll get then save us all the bother of trawling through this off topic sh*te and don't comment in the first place.
    eh, I think you'll find that this thread went off the topic a while back when PP attacked me and De Town for being kids. People were talking about Keane/McCarthy in Saiipan before I mentioned about Mick's nationality so it's not my fault this thread has gone off-topic!

Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude
    My sister gave birth to her son on holidays in Spain last year, I suppose that makes him spanish???
    Can you answer my question????

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Ok:

Paul McGrath-Where was he born then I'll answer it
    David O'Leary-Same as McGrath
    Roy Keane's children born in England-English, obviously.
    The children of Nigerian immigrants born in Ireland-Irish, obviously too.
    Paul McGrath - born Greenford, Middlesex - 4 December 1959
    returned to live in Dublin when 2 months old
    David O'Leary - born Stoke Newington, London - 2 May 1958
    returned to live in Dublin when less than six months old.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

eh, I think you'll find that this thread went off the topic a while back when PP attacked me and De Town for being kids. People were talking about Keane/McCarthy in Saiipan before I mentioned about Mick's nationality so it's not my fault this thread has gone off-topic!
    Saiipan while done to death on foot.ie at least gives an insight into a facet of Mick's managerial skills or lack there of. His nationality on the other hand and the subsequent tripe on Irishness, is completely irrelevant, argumentative and off topic
    Last edited by Karlos; 05/01/2006 at 8:30 PM.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Can you answer my question????
    I think you answered that one yerself so I didn't feel the need to.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Well both are English then, however, they do sound Irish so it's not as obvious as McCarthy

I think you answered that one yerself so I didn't feel the need to.
    Thank you o wise one, a friend of mine was born on an airplane somewhere over the atlantic, I must break the news to him that he is a creature of the sea/sky?(help me out sligo).. Does the Atlantic ocean have a national team?

Well both are English then, however, they do sound Irish so it's not as obvious as McCarthy
    So there you have it lads, Paul McGrath and David O'Leary, two english tossers posing as Irishmen. The cnuts, they fu**ing hoodwinked us for all these years. It was those Irish accents that fooled us.

Thanks Sligoman for putting us right on that.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Um, hardly. You came out with some puerile comment about how you were glad Mick McCarthy was having a hard time at Sunderland and I chastised you for it. Remember this?

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Your profile states that you're 17 years of age. Your comment was one I'd expect from a callow yoot. You can have no complaints.
    Nothing I have seen from you since changes this opinion one bit. Accept the fact that you've made a right tit of yourself when posting on this thread. Then do yourself a favour and grow up.

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 05/01/2006 at 9:07 PM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Thank you o wise one, a friend of mine was born on an airplane somewhere over the atlantic, I must break the news to him that he is a creature of the sea/sky?(help me out sligo).. Does the Atlantic ocean have a national team?
    Jaysus Mattitude, you know a lot of foreigners.

Um, hardly. You came out with some puerile comment about how you were glad Mick McCarthy was having a hard time at Sunderland and I chastised you for it. Remember this?
    That was my opinion, for you to call it a "purile comment" is just stupid just cos you don't agree with it.

So Sligoman if you ( and it isnt beyong the realms of possibilty) meet a nice girl one day and you are very much in love and nature takes its course and nine months later a little baby is born but lo and behold your job requires you to move to England for a period of time so your kids are born there then a year later you move back . what nationalty are your children then?

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    So Sligoman if you ( and it isnt beyong the realms of possibilty) meet a nice girl one day and you are very much in love and nature takes its course and nine months later a little baby is born but lo and behold your job requires you to move to England for a period of time so your kids are born there then a year later you move back . what nationalty are your children then?
    Obviously English. I wouldn't want them to be, but there is feck all I could do about it if that happened.

Lads, ye can throw any amount of possible scenarios at me, but none of them will change my opinion on the matter. Theirs not much else to say on this subject.

Jaysus Mattitude, you know a lot of foreigners.
    Yeah my nephew, he's like the black sheep of the family now because of you, he insists on paella for dinner, he wants a bull instead of a dog etc, etc.. All because he popped out near a holiday resort in the costa del sol. I hope he doesnt get deported back to spain!!!!

But seriously sligoman, your views make a mockery of our ancestors that had no choice but to leave their beautiful country.
    Last edited by M@ttitude; 06/01/2006 at 6:40 AM.

Lads, ye can throw any amount of possible scenarios at me, but none of them will change my opinion on the matter. Theirs not much else to say on this subject.
    Oh yes there is. I'll leave it to Joe Horgan of the Irish Post, though, and the words of his Christmas column a fortnight back. I've had enough fun making you and your "opinion" look daft.

Over to Joe:

"James Connolly, signatory to the 1916 Proclamation and one of the main political thinkers behind the uprising, probably didn’t visit Ireland until 14 or 15 years of age. When he did so it was as a member of the British army. He was executed by the same British army while strapped to a chair in the grounds of Kilmainham jail. Born in Edinburgh. Plastic Paddy.

Tom Clarke, first to sign the 1916 Proclamation. Active in the cause of Irish separatism for over 30 years prior to the Easter Rising, he served 15 years hard labour in England for his part in a bombing campaign. Born on the Isle of Wight. Plastic Paddy.

Éamon de Valera, the last commander to surrender in 1916. Hugely influential figure in the War of Independence, the civil war after the signing of the treaty and Irish life up to the 1970s. He was President of the Irish republic from 1959-73 and had such an impact that the country became known as “de Valera’s Ireland”. Born in New York. Plastic Paddy.

James Larkin, who was credited with founding the Irish labour movement. He led the workers in the 1913 lock-out and was a hero to the Dublin masses. He was a Labour TD up until the 1940s. Born in Liverpool. Plastic Paddy.

Peter Monahan, a member of Tom Barry’s flying column in West Cork, was part of the guerrilla forces that are credited with bringing Lloyd George to the negotiating table after inflicting heavy losses on British forces. An explosives expert who died at the famous Crossbarry ambush, he is buried in the republican plot in Bandon. Born in Scotland. Plastic Paddy.

Sean Phelan, Sean and Ernie Nunan, Johnny O’Connor, Desmond Ryan, Margaret Skinnider, Desmond Fitzgerald, Joe Good, Arthur Agnew, Paddy Moran, Peggy Downey, Liam Daley, Piaras Beaslai and Liam Mellows. All were active in the rising of 1916 and had cockney, scouse and Scottish accents. Every last one of them born in Britain. Plastic Paddies.

St. Patrick, credited with founding the church in Ireland. Patron saint of the country. Born in Britain. Plastic Paddy.

Liam McCarthy, after whom the all-Ireland hurling trophy is named. Born in England. Plastic Paddy.

Seán Óg Ó hAilpín, the Cork captain who this year lifted that very trophy and gave his entire acceptance speech in fluent Irish. Seen by many as the modern embodiment of the GAA’s sporting ideal. Born in Australia. Plastic Paddy.

Paul McGrath, probably the finest player of the era when an Irish soccer team finally went to a European championship and two World Cup finals. This sporting success is seen by many as helping to kick-start the birth of a new, confident Ireland. Born in London. Plastic Paddy.

David O’Leary, who scored that famous penalty against Romania, and Ray Houghton, who scored those goals against England and Italy. Born in Britain. Plastic Paddies.

The Edge and Adam Clayton of U2, the band said by many to be the best in the world. Acclaimed as being the first to put Irish rock music on the world scene as a credible enterprise. Entwined in the whole concept of modern Ireland and Irishness as something cool and hip. Born in England. Plastic Paddies.

Shane MacGowan, sometime lead singer with the Pogues. Generally acclaimed as one of the finest songwriters of our time. His songs encapsulate much of what it is to be Irish and he wrote the greatest Christmas song ever. Born in Tunbridge Wells. Plastic Paddy.

Ronan Bennett, critically lauded Irish novelist. Imprisoned in Long Kesh and in England on suspicion of republican activities. Born in Oxford. Plastic Paddy.

Pearse Hutchinson, poet writing primarily in the Irish language. Born in Glasgow. Plastic Paddy.

Cyril Cusack, actor and father of the famous Irish acting family. Born in Kenya. Plastic Paddy.

Jack Butler Yeats, brother of the poet and renowned in his own right as one of Ireland’s finest painters. Born in London. Plastic Paddy.

Thousands of the children and grandchildren brought up in Irish families in Britain , with Irish names and Irish ways. With accents and lives in Britain. With their Irish faces on British streets. Every last one of them born in Britain. Plastic Paddies. Plastic Paddies everywhere."

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 06/01/2006 at 10:26 AM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Sligoman I think the main problem is that you are confusing place of birth with nationality.

For you place of birth is the be all and end all to nationality but this is not the case legally or culturally. There are many ways to judge a persons nationality. You say its your opinion however its not something that is open to peoples opinions its a legal thing. People are Irish when the hold an Irish passport. It is also possible to have dual nationality also. You simply arguing saying this is my opinion is simplistic and facile.

As I said before place of birth is one of the contributary factors in a persons nationality but its not the only factor. This is not opinion but it is fact.
    In Trap we trust

229 Posts
    where is Lopez these days? he would have had a field day with this one

Nice post PP!!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

229 Posts
    where is Lopez these days? he would have had a field day with this one

Nice post PP!!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Ray Houghton, who scored those goals against England and Italy. Born in Britain. Plastic Paddies.
    Whoever he scored against, he has no place on that list. The "still consider myself scottish" untc.

Some born to irish parent(s) feel and are and consider themselves Irish, other's don't take on any of that and consider themselves English (or whereever). McCarthy would be in the former, the likes of Morrison and Holland most definitely the latter.

I don't see why it's so hard to see the difference between people who just use their parents/grandparents when they need something (Something I really think both sides of the arguement need to take account off before the jump to the defence/ to attack people).

Some of the younger generation should remember that it wasn't always "cool" or acceptable to be irish in the UK, and not even that long ago.

I don't care where any Irish player is born if they consider themselves Irish. The likes of Kilbane and McGeady consider themselves Irish, former internationals like Alan Kelly and Mick McCarthy consider themselves to be Irish. Fair play to them.

Clinton Morrison, Jason McAteer, Ray Houghton etc do not. If Ronaldinho, Zidane, Rooney, Henry and Eto'o were eledgible to play for Ireland and wanted to play for Ireland to further their careers rather than them believing themselves to be Irish, I wouldn't pick them.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast