Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: How long has Mick McCarthy got ?

Its a terrible shame that so many idiots have to go back to the age old argument of who's Irish and who isn't. Its all been said before and gets tiresome when some narrow-minded individuals can't make a valid case as to why some player isn't classed as Irish, when what it says on his passport is:

Nationality: Irish

As regards Mick's position at Sunderland, he definitely over-achieved last season and didn't have adequate funds to build on what he brought up. It was a double-edged sword in a sense, as if he hadn't gone up people would have thrown up the same tripe that he couldn't cut it. Now that he has come up, and is struggling with an awfully weak squad, people are still sharpening the knives. Wigan and West Ham strengthened with international players like Camara and Benayoun to name two, and it has certainly born fruit. Sunderland had to make do with has-beens and never-beens, like Alan Stubbs and Andy Gray. Mick deserves to see out the season and, hopefully, put up a good fight, regroup and bounce back even stronger the following season.
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 04/01/2006 at 11:21 PM.
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    Its a terrible shame that so many idiots have to go back to the age old argument of who's Irish and who isn't. Its all been said before and gets tiresome when some narrow-minded individuals can't make a valid case as to why some player isn't classed as Irish, when what it says on his passport is
    Yes, I'm an idiot and narrow-minded for thinking that somebody from England is English.

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    This thread went off-topic long ago so I don't mind continuing on about this.

Ye are both missing my point, I never said Mick never gave his all when playing for Ireland, all I'm saying is Mick was English, and still is, regardless of who he won caps for. Football is only a game at the end of the day and games don't change your nationality!
    Sligoman, I am like hundreds and thousands of Irish who lived in the UK for several years through economic necessity and whose children were born in the UK. Not only do my children consider themselves to be Irish but the great nation of Ireland also considers them to be Irish and has issued them with passports to support their Irish nationality. The fact that they were not born in Ireland does not make them any less Irish than had they been born in my home town or anywhere in Ireland.

Your comments on this thread about this subject are offensive to any Irish person who through circumstances were born outside Ireland to Irish parents in an Irish home environment.

I hope your comments were made out of ignorance rather than out of small mindedness.

BTW, about 10 years ago I knew a fellow countyman of yours whose job brought him to Dublin for three months after which time he returned to Sligo. While living in Bray, his wife, who was also from Sligo, gave birth to their third child (the first two were born in Sligo). I don't suppose for one minute that young lad has ever considered himself to anything other than from Sligo. By your reckoning I suppose you would consider the boy to be a Wicklowman!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Sligoman, I am like hundreds and thousands of Irish who lived in the UK for several years through economic necessity and whose children were born in the UK. Not only do my children consider themselves to be Irish but the great nation of Ireland also considers them to be Irish and has issued them with passports to support their Irish nationality. The fact that they were not born in Ireland does not make them any less Irish than had they been born in my home town or anywhere in Ireland.
    I don't buy into this craic of I'm Irish cos I have an Irish passport kind of thing. Your kids were born in England so therefore are English in my opinion, you don't have to agree with me on that but you're not going to change my opinion of it(I'm not trying to change yours either btw)

Your comments on this thread about this subject are offensive to any Irish person who through circumstances were born outside Ireland to Irish parents in an Irish home environment.

I hope your comments were made out of ignorance rather than out of small mindedness.
    I don't understand how anyone could be offended by what I'm saying here but if they are then that's their own problem

BTW, about 10 years ago I knew a fellow countyman of yours whose job brought him to Dublin for three months after which time he returned to Sligo. While living in Bray, his wife, who was also from Sligo, gave birth to their third child (the first two were born in Sligo). I don't suppose for one minute that young lad has ever considered himself to anything other than from Sligo. By your reckoning I suppose you would consider the boy to be a Wicklowman!
    The first two are from Sligo and the third is from Wicklow.

Just joking, I'm not really debating what part of a country people are from, it's what country they are from that I'm talking about. Weather you are born in Sligo, Cork or Dublin, you are still Irish. Just like if you're born in London, Manchester or Dover, you are still English

Yes, I'm an idiot and narrow-minded
    I am glad we agree on something. Add 'and an ignorant gob****e as well' and you have the finished article!

Yes, pity you didn't quote the rest of what I said though. Truth hurts doesn't it?.

Your kids were born in England so therefore are English
    My sister gave birth to her son on holidays in Spain last year, I suppose that makes him spanish??? pleb!

Nationality is a sensitive and complex issue so for somebody to come on here and post messages about in black and white terms in what is a very grey issue can lead to offending people. Paul Mc Grath David O Leary were all born in England but are as Irish as me or you. As M@ttitude says there are circumstances when somebody is born in a country that in the future and in the past they have no allegiance to and just cause they are born there it does not make them Spanish. There are many things that go into someone nationality. You are choosing one aspect which is place of birth, but parents nationality, culture and many others also contribute to where somebody is from. All you have to do is look at the 2 different ways that Germany and France regard nationality to see this. If you are Turkish in Germany, you could nearly be 3rd Generation German at this stage and not be regarded as German.
    In Trap we trust

In relation to Mick Mc Carthy, I said ages ago on this forum that Sunderland would go down with the lowest points total ever in the Premiership and I was laughed at by a few people. I stand by my original post and I think they have one of the poorest teams the top flight has seen in ages. They may have a go and play decent football but they cant do the 2 basic things in football which is score and keep the ball out. I thought during the close season that Mc Carthy went for quantity rather than quality and he is paying the price for it now. How many average strikers does he have.
    In Trap we trust

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Sligoman, how would you classify the following nationality wise and why ?:

Paul McGrath
    David O'Leary
    Roy Keane's children born in England.
    The children of Nigerian immigrants born in Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Nationality is a sensitive and complex issue so for somebody to come on here and post messages about in black and white terms in what is a very grey issue can lead to offending people. Paul Mc Grath David O Leary were all born in England but are as Irish as me or you. As M@ttitude says there are circumstances when somebody is born in a country that in the future and in the past they have no allegiance to and just cause they are born there it does not make them Spanish. There are many things that go into someone nationality. You are choosing one aspect which is place of birth, but parents nationality, culture and many others also contribute to where somebody is from. All you have to do is look at the 2 different ways that Germany and France regard nationality to see this. If you are Turkish in Germany, you could nearly be 3rd Generation German at this stage and not be regarded as German.
    Illustrates perfectly the point I was trying to make to Sligoman. Ironically, my own two were born in Greenford, where Paul McGrath was born. I would like to see Sligoman convincing not only my kids but also the Paul McGraths and David O'Learys of this world that they are not Irish at all, but they are really English!

3,489 Posts
    Phil Lynott - Brit
    Steve Heighway - true Irishman (born here on holidays; never set foot in the place until his debut)
    Paul McGrath - British *******.
    Kyran Bracken - Irishman through and through.
    Roy Keane's children - Brits, the lot of them.
    The grandparents of most people on this forum - Brits

Can't believe how ignorant some people can be...

Time to cut him some slack, sure he's only a kid...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy

PP
    Yes, a kid that is the only one who has stated the truth. How can ye honestly say Mick McCarthy is Irish when (1.) He was born in England, (2.) Probably lived in England while managing Ireland(open to correction on this), (3.) Now works in England and will probably rarely return to Ireland cos he has no reason to and (4.) speaks with an English accent. Yes he worked for Ireland(as in the national team) but that doesn't make him Irish.

I've had enough of this now, I don't give a crap weather ye think he's Irish, I know he's not. I don't like repeating myself but saying as nobody seems to have took on board what I said, I'll say it again-FOOTBALL IS ONLY A SPORT, IT DOES NOT/CAN NOT CHANGE A PERSON'S NATIONALITY!

3,489 Posts
    Dig dig dig dig...

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Dig dig dig dig...
    and again your avoiding my point.

3,489 Posts
    I'm not avoiding it at all. You don't have one. You're simply digging a hole for yourself. Look at the list of people I posted - are they English or Irish? Did you listen to the song I recommended? Is Gary Breen Irish or English? Born in England, English accent, wore an Irish jersey to school the day after the Euro 88 win. Address my points before you accuse me of avoiding your idiotic one.

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy

PP
    Before cutting him any slack would love to hear his response to OwlsFan's question?
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Sligoman, how would you classify the following nationality wise and why ?:

Paul McGrath
    David O'Leary
    Roy Keane's children born in England.
    The children of Nigerian immigrants born in Ireland.

Before cutting him any slack would love to hear his response to OwlsFan's question?
    Ok:

Paul McGrath-Where was he born then I'll answer it
    David O'Leary-Same as McGrath
    Roy Keane's children born in England-English, obviously.
    The children of Nigerian immigrants born in Ireland-Irish, obviously too.

I've had enough of this now, I don't give a crap weather ye think he's Irish, I know he's not.
    Pity you didn't think of that 12 or 13 posts back when you childlishy nitpicked someone's post to highlight a point that had no relevance to the topic at hand.

If you think that half a day later you might actually not give a crap about what replies you'll get then save us all the bother of trawling through this off topic sh*te and don't comment in the first place.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast