Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: How long has Mick McCarthy got ?

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Yet another last minute goal conceded by Mick's team . Anyone see him at the end of the Everton game - just standing stunned looking at the pitch. Moyes cames from behind and offered his his hand and Mick was barely aware of his existence.

I don't blame McCarthy for Sunderland's predicament - they punched well above their weight in obtaining promotion last season. This time around, the old adage springs to mind; you can't polish a turd. Not even Mourinho would have been able to keep them from relegation this year IMHO.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

42 Posts
    I feel sorry for Sunderland.They've only 6 points from 19 games and left in another last minute goal.It looks like they could in trouble to beat the lowest points total they set the last time they were relegated from the Premiership.

According to one of the Sunday's they've been sounding out Keegan for a return to football.

You have to feel for McCarthy, but his position is getting untenable to say the least. They have the worst squad that's ever been assembled in the Premier League. There's no point in spending during the window as the team's doomed, but when you sit the team down and say this how are they meant to feel? It's a no win situation.

I don't feel one bit sorry for McCarthy. I'm delighted for him TBH. Hope they lose every game they've got left.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    I don't blame McCarthy for Sunderland's predicament - they punched well above their weight in obtaining promotion last season. This time around, the old adage springs to mind; you can't polish a turd. Not even Mourinho would have been able to keep them from relegation this year IMHO.

PP
    Absolutely spot on. Amazing job to get them up, should be kept in the job and start re-building for next season in the Championship, a la WBA, Charlton, Man City and many others - bounce back stronger for the experience.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    Absolutely spot on. Amazing job to get them up, should be kept in the job and start re-building for next season in the Championship, a la WBA, Charlton, Man City and many others - bounce back stronger for the experience.

But would you not agree that those clubs had much stronger foundations to build upon? Sunderland, although winning at the minute have nothing really to shout about this season at all.

Quote Originally Posted by De Town
    I don't feel one bit sorry for McCarthy. I'm delighted for him TBH. Hope they lose every game they've got left.
    I like your style of thinking.

Another defeat for Sunderland today:

Fulham 2-1 Sunderland
    John 43,61-Lawrence 7
    -----------Caldwell s/o 57

See ya Mick, have a nice life!.

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman

Fulham 2-1 Sunderland
    John 43,61-Lawrence 7
    -----------Caldwell s/o 57

Thats him gone I'd say. Delighted for him

Former Waherfur Utd striker Daryl Murphy got 30 minutes or so for all the eL fans that might be interested.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twoenz
    But would you not agree that those clubs had much stronger foundations to build upon? Sunderland, although winning at the minute have nothing really to shout about this season at all.
    I assume they've still got massive debts, which a season in the Premiership would take a big bite into, so they'd be much more able to build next year.

Think it's quite sad that, three years after he left the Ireland job, people still actively want to see him lose...

I think thats a pity, Mick should be at least respected by fans of the Irish national team.

Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude
    I think thats a pity, Mick should be at least respected by fans of the Irish national team.
    Agree. Mick was a great servant to Irish football both as a player and a manager. Cannot understand why anyone would want to see him fail, apart from those who, for some reason that I will never understand, thought that in Saipan RMK was right and Mick was wrong!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    apart from those who, for some reason that I will never understand, thought that in Saipan RMK was right and Mick was wrong!
    I am one of "those", and I will never understand how people think Roy was wrong and Mick was right. See, it works both ways!.

I am also one of "those"

See ya Mick, have a nice life!
    Quote Originally Posted by De Town
    Thats him gone I'd say. Delighted for him
    Just the kind of responses I'd expect from a couple of kids. No offence, lads, but when you grow up a bit you'll hopefully learn to view Saipan and its aftermath in proper proportion. No, we didn't win the World Cup last time out but time moves on and - when all's said and done - it's only a game we're talking about. Lose the bitterness; life's just too short.

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 03/01/2006 at 7:02 AM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Think it's clear where I stood on Saipan, but not really interested in bashing McCarthy over this as I still do respect what he did as a player (as oppossed to what he did as manager).

However, I am delighted for elements of the English press that used Saipan to have another pop at the Irish. They just entrenched the situation further, and have to laugh at their efforts to exonerate McCarthy of any responsibility now just so they can keep the pretence that they were right all along.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    I too am confused. What exactly did Mick do wrong in Saipan ? He wasn't responsible for the gear turning up a day late or the pitch being bumpy. His star player then was going home in a huff but changed his mind and then went to the press to attack him and others. They had a clear the air meeting with the team and Mick dared to criticise Keane got the most vitriolic personal attack from the team captain in return. And before anyone says the criticism of Keane should have been in private, wasn't it the latter who went on Man U TV and attacked his fellow players Keane had to be sent home - it couldn't be any other way.

I wasn't McCarthy's biggest fan as a manager and some of his decisions irritated the hell out of me but he gave the job 100% and qualified us for a World Cup in Korea/Japan and we acquited ourselves well there without our best player. I don't understand how any genuine Irish supporter could wish him ill at Sunderland

I don't want to get in the Saipan thing again, it's been done to death.

However, I don't think McCarthy himself has tried to pass the buck on the facilities in Saipan - it was whether they were adequate or not that was the issue.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    However, I don't think McCarthy himself has tried to pass the buck on the facilities in Saipan - it was whether they were adequate or not that was the issue.
    "Adequate for what" was the issue, though. It was never intended as the base training camp - it was intended as a place to get away from it all for couple of days, have a break, charge the batteries and then start the serious training. The training camp in Japan was superb. Saipan was grand for what it was supposed to be.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    "Adequate for what" was the issue, though. It was never intended as the base training camp - it was intended as a place to get away from it all for couple of days, have a break, charge the batteries and then start the serious training. The training camp in Japan was superb. Saipan was grand for what it was supposed to be.
    Well that depends on where you are on the arguement, which I didn't want to get into. Owlsfan said McCarthy wasn't responsible for the training pitch or training gear - it's clear he was responsible. That's as far as I'll go on this, as I really don't want to get into this debate again, so I'm not.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast