Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Orleans disaster

New Orleans disaster

has anyone been watching this? the yanks must have no cop on at all, did no one think of stacking up with food and necessary supplies when they were warned of this storm approaching. no one seems to have filled up the tank either.

i mean they are saying noo one has food?!?!

Screw 'em. They've plod aroung the planet making an envinronmental, political and cultural balls of the world and now they expect sympathy. They're getting what they deserve and I have no sympathy for them. "we have nothing." Maybe if your government wasn't spending billions on a war on the other side of the world based on a personal vendetta, you' have had better flood defences. Tough **** USA

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Screw 'em. They've plod aroung the planet making an envinronmental, political and cultural balls of the world and now they expect sympathy. They're getting what they deserve and I have no sympathy for them. "we have nothing." Maybe if your government wasn't spending billions on a war on the other side of the world based on a personal vendetta, you' have had better flood defences. Tough **** USA
    The Government are to blame for not preparing enough and reacting to the event quick enough to stop looting and rescue people. Éanna, I think you are being a bit harsh on the ordinary Joe Soap American who can't afford to go stockpiling food in case of such an event. Remember there is probably about 1,000 people dead because of this hurricane.

They voted for Bush, or at least 50% of them did. And the ones who didn't vote are even worse. The total ignorance and sheer stupidity of "the ordinary Joe Soap American" is the reason that the USA is run by money-crazed maniacs and has been for years. Screw 'em. ya reap what you sew, and they're getting what they deserve.

Despite the fact I fully agree with all this above....there is something almost grossly enticing me to watch the sheer enormity of the fall out from this...It wasn't supposed to be *that* strong a hurricane and yet a 'normal' American city is being descended into such a state - it's almost neanderthal - wasteland and survival of the fittest - no sense of society or cohesion to it all, imo.....
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

They voted for Bush, or at least 50% of them did. And the ones who didn't vote are even worse. The total ignorance and sheer stupidity of "the ordinary Joe Soap American" is the reason that the USA is run by money-crazed maniacs and has been for years. Screw 'em. ya reap what you sew, and they're getting what they deserve.
    So because they believe what their told they deserve to die of starvation?!? Get a ****ing rality check Eanna.

Oh and BTW the vast majority of those affected are Black and from the poorest parts of new Orleans and all the towns affected. Chances are they eiher didn't vote or they voted Democrat. Either way it doesn't matter
    Last edited by Dodge; 01/09/2005 at 11:41 PM.

52 Posts
    F you Eanna, I suppose the Tsunami victims had it coming to them too. So the 900 or so Iraqis who were kill the other day at the Shia stampede. I hate that idiot Bush but to say that all this is his fault smacks of ignorence and spitefulness. There were plenty of warnings for people to get out some went, others didnt. Stock piling food would not do any good if your house if completely under water.

The recovery effort is being mismanaged so far but I don't think anyone could have predicted how bad this has turned out to be.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars
    The recovery effort is being mismanaged so far but I don't think anyone could have predicted how bad this has turned out to be.
    Might of helped if the other half of the Louisiana national guard was in the state, not iraq.

There were plenty of warnings and time enough to evacuate, if the USA actually gave a shít for the prodominantly black poor. They didn't help the evacuate before, they're not trying to get them out now, they're just leaving them to die.

They had over two weeks warning about Katrina.
    They had been warned for years that the city was in danger from a category 5 storm but additional funding was denied because it was needed for the war on terror.
    Much of the city is reclaimed land and below sea level.
    The scale of the destruction is no surprise.

It's the attitude of the people that sickens me.
    They're so materialistic that they're looting everything and anything, rather than uniting to care for each other.
    One black woman interviewed last night was crying that she hadn't eaten for 3 days. She was at least 25 stone. How could anyone pity her!? I read one report of a man who shot and killed his sister over a bag of rice.
    Can any of us comprehend this?

The True American Spirit is being shown up for what it really is.
    The greediest nation in the world!

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Jesus, the Anti-Americanism on this forum is sickening. You all seem to be forgetting that probably thousands of people are going to die. Bet you weren't all so anti-american when you were all going over in the 80's looking for your jobs, or when you were traveling to WC1994.

Quote from Eanna:
    The total ignorance and sheer stupidity of "the ordinary Joe Soap American" is the reason that the USA is run by money-crazed maniacs and has been for years. Screw 'em. ya reap what you sew, and they're getting what they deserve.

You are a prize 1 *****..

So we're probably simialr since we voted in the haughey Muppets in the 80s who screwed us over for years, and are still doing it. Take your ****en blinkers off you muppet!

exactly, dumb ass americans and all their fake friendliness of how we are united etc, its all a load of ****e.

every man for himself in america it always has been.

saw a funny picture on the metro though, a guy being arrested for looting a crate of beer, a crate of beer fair play to him he has his prioities right.

metrostaars, the people i saw interviewed, their houses werent submerged underwater, there houses were fine but none of them had both any food for the weeks ahead.

60 Posts
    You have gone down in my estimation mate. Can you imagine how the children and old people are affected by what happening over there. People who gloat at such misfortune are obviously lacking in humanity. The fact is, the area affected is probably the poorest part of America and the people most affected are the poorest of that area. It reminds me of a Mad Max movie. I think this tragedy will cost George Bush dearly. I think the situation has been handled very badly by the authorities in the US, but I certainly won't be one of those sitting on a barstool tonight gloating at the ordinary people misfortune. Shame on you.
    Always look on the bright side of life

521 Posts
    Éanna, how would you feel if you were in the same situation and Americans were commenting on web forums that it was your own fault, because you elected Fianna Fáil and the PD's, because the Irish are all drunks? Your comments are an embarrassment.

Last edited by dahamsta; 02/09/2005 at 8:42 AM.

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    If this was happening in New York, Chicago or Boston where there is a large Irish population.....

For **** sake thousands will die in this disaster, just look at the photos above.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Eanna,
    Innocent people, guilty only perhaps of where they live, are dead. Thousands of them probably. And you say its their own fault. Hurricanes are 'natural disasters' if you didn't already know. To call you an immature, ignorant idiot would be too lenient. You are a sad sad pitiful excuse for a human being, and I'm presuming that you're only trying to wind people up her with this, which is worse.

By your rationale, Londoners deserved to die in those bombings because of their association with the US, and 9/11 deserved to happen too.

[Enough with the namecalling. --adam]
    Last edited by dahamsta; 02/09/2005 at 9:23 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    They're so materialistic that they're looting everything and anything, rather than uniting to care for each other.
    One black woman interviewed last night was crying that she hadn't eaten for 3 days. She was at least 25 stone. How could anyone pity her!? I read one report of a man who shot and killed his sister over a bag of rice.
    Can any of us comprehend this?

The True American Spirit is being shown up for what it really is.
    The greediest nation in the world!
    So that’s 2 Peader. What about the other 260 Million Americans. TV will always focus on the exceptional person rather than a normal person. (the musl;im extremist being the prime example)20Its just the way it is. It doesn't mean every ****ing American is 25 stone. And even if they are, so ****ing what? If the worst thing a person does is eat to excess they're alright with me. Stop with the generalisations, it makes you look extremely stupid...

If it was me and I needed to eat, and there was nowhere to buy food, and no aid coming into the city. Damn right I'd loot. What other options are there?

Politically speaking this could be the thing that kills Bush. Good article in the English indo today about how much the Sea Defence bedget has been cut in recent years in order to fund other areas of "defence". The lack or urgency being shown has been massively criticised by even moderate commentators in the US.

I'm not going to comment on Eannas posts as only gives more attention to it.

I must say i only started paying attention to the floods yesterday. I saw something on the news about big storm but they have a few of them every summer so didn't warrant attention.

New Orleans looks like will under water for months to come. I loved the way Bush waited for a few days before interrupting his HOLIDAY & seems to be almost no emergency forces on the ground. Most of the people I saw on the news looked like could survive without food for weeks.

I think to compare with the tsunami is unfair to the asian people. Seems this was meerly extremely bad planning as knew storm on its way & knew more or less where it was going.

BTW taking food or even beer from a shop is hardly looting - its a bit different that taking a big TV.

I think Bush will get crucified in the polls as he clearly couldn't care less. Maybe the US will refocus its priorities now?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    If it was me and I needed to eat, and there was nowhere to buy food, and no aid coming into the city. Damn right I'd loot. What other options are there?
    Watch the news, read the papers Dodge, it's not just food they're looting, it's anything which isn't nailed down.
    Reports today suggest that even the police are looting.
    They're behaving like wild animals!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Watch the news, read the papers Dodge, it's not just food they're looting, it's anything which isn't nailed down.
    Reports today suggest that even the police are looting.
    They're behaving like wild animals!
    And do you not think the same thing would happen over here? During disasters anywhere in the world looting happens, and will always continue to do so.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast