Cork for me. Play good football, hopefully will be seeded in CL and therefore have the best chance of increasing the co-efficent.
Stephen Kenny made Longford Town FC. Took them from complete obscurity to competing in the Premier Division, FAI Cup Final and UEFA Cup in a short period of time.
Left for Bohs, turned around a club which was in disarray, and won a championship in his first full season. Unfortunately things didn't work out after that at Bohemians.
Turned around Derry City's fortunes spectacularly, to the extent that they are challenging for a league title already.
Anyone who thinks that Kenny is a "hoofing" manager is talking bull, and is either crazy or has an axe to grind with the man. The guy was committed to playing football, so much so that if anything it was a weakness because at Bohs his teams lacked the other characteristics required by a top side.
As for Richardson, I like him anyway. I think the whole "bottler" tag is a bit unfair, and an inaccurate summary of his previous jobs when you look at the circumstances, particularly of his previous stint at Cork.
I don't really mind who wins, as long as Bohs are non-runners it will be nice to see a club from outside Dublin win (long overdue). I suppose I'd like to see Derry win if I had to choose, because I like Kenny, while I thought we made the right decision at the time I am becoming inreasingly of the opinion that we should have allowed him one more chance to see out the season considering his previous work for us, and I have no doubt that we handled the situation very poorly. As Kenny said, Bohs humiliated him, and I think that is true.
Last edited by ThatGuy; 01/09/2005 at 4:12 PM.
Cork for me. Play good football, hopefully will be seeded in CL and therefore have the best chance of increasing the co-efficent.
He didn't win anything with Longford?????????? FFS he is not Gandalf the White, he has no magic powers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FFS lads, stop filling this thread with sh!t! There is only one question been asked and it's a simple one-Cork or Derry? If ya want to debate about managers or anything else set up a new thread about it!![]()
Thanks.![]()
Sligoman the discussion about Kenny/Richardson is clearly relevant to the topic in hand as it is a motivating factor in which way people have voted. The simple topic at hand, "cork or derry" is resolved in the poll alone.Originally Posted by sligoman
Your constant jibes about people's postings are becoming very tiresome at this stage.
WTF?Originally Posted by ThatGuy
You have absolutely no idea, sad very sad.Originally Posted by RedX
Harps!![]()
Daddy or chips, Daddy or chips![]()
Originally Posted by Cop on
You know nothing about football FACT. Yeah Kenny was the man who brought hoofing to town you loser.Is that the football that has derry riding high in the league and that won a league title with bohs. I suppose monkies would have Derry challenging for the league this year. I suppose monkies would have got longford town from almost extinction to european football and mid table and with what MONEY exactly. NOTHING thats what. Go back to whatever hole you climbed out of. I for one apprechiate what the man did for us. After all any old monkey can win an fai cup beating who exactly. Oh ye 1 Tolka rvs limerick waterford galway and a pats team that lost el keybr and mbabazi livingstone the week b4 the cup final. 2 Leeds shams drogs waterford and the other team is so crap ive forgotten who they are. Dont even mention l cups longford are the only team givin a fiddlers about that until the setanta cup place this yr. Matthews and kenny hands at europew lets look at them shall we. Kenny 1-1 against a top bulgarian side and going down to 2 late goals after playing there hearts out. Matthews lets not even embarrass the man. If we were all to apply your logic any MONKEY would baet Carmarthen Town after a 2-0 home lead and 1-1 at ht away. You and the rest of the ltfc begrudgers are jealous. You dont like to admit it but you are. You make me sick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited by Sonic; 01/09/2005 at 8:03 PM.
cork city we deserve it played the best football(so far)
Guess that makes two of us thenOriginally Posted by thejollyrodger
Originally Posted by Colm
Love it...love it![]()
Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach
Don't really care once Derry win the League Cup, Cork the FAI Cup, they finish top 2 and Longford finish at least 4th![]()
Well they had their chance when we played them at the Cross earlier on in the season, and they didn't bring too many then.....Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
Still it's more than most Dub clubs bring down...
Derry City.![]()
"tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!
To go back to the poll I can't decide, have always had a soft spot for both clubs - I obviously prefer Kenny to Rico because of what he did for the Town and because of Ricos famous "tough draw for Cork in the second round" line from 2001, prior to replay in Turners Cross. Player for player I'd say Cork are better, but Derry now have McCourt, who is a super player, and Farren banging in the goals. But I think Cork are more capable of putting 3 or 4 league wins in a row than Derry so I think they will win it.
I voted for Cork, 'Cos i'm from there, likebut it'll be great NOT to have the Dubs win it.
If Derry win it, i'll be shattered but fair play they're a good side.
G'wan City!![]()
When Johnny goes marching down the wing...HURRAH! HURRAH!
Cork City because they are technically the best team in the Premier Division, and they play a great passing game. Fair play to Derry also though for breaking the stranglehold of the Dublin clubs in challenging for the title!
The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
Muhammad Ali
Roy Keane is still a pri*k!
I'd like to see Derry win it because they have came from nowhere this season and that is a true reflection of a managers ability.Kenny done great things for Longford and is well liked by most people down here.Cork have been superb this season and play the game the way it should be played but i hate Rico and he inherited a very strong squad who would have been pushing for the league anyhow.
Although Kenny done a great job at Longford we also gave him his chance in Football so that works both ways.He made some bad remarks towards the club and the people who run it so shame on him but i think he has learnt a lot from his time at Bohs and he is a better manager and person because of it.
I know it's off topic a bit but i had to mention it anyways because of the bitching that has went on before hand.Like it or not Mathews has done a great job at this club.4 finals with 3 trophies in 2 seasons is a great achievement given the fact that the club is part time and the budget is small.We had luck on the way to all of these finals but you need it.Everyone is aware that we fcuked up in europe and it still cuts to the bone but it's over now so it's time to move on.We have a great ground,good team and a sound set up and we are moving forward each season so how some idiots can come on here and bitch and complain about the club and Matthews is crap and these people should look at themselves and their club and see where they are going before casting stones at other clubs.
"At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill