Thread: Athlone Town v GUFC

Athlone Town v GUFC

Hopefully the lads will be well rested for this match after there break and should win this one! hope I dont put a ginks on it !!

Prediction: 2-1 to United, Moran and Clery (due a goal)
    Last edited by Terry; 29/08/2005 at 11:16 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    Hopefully the lads will be well rested for this match after there break and should win this one! hope I dont put a ginks on it !!

Prediction: 2-1 to United
    I'll go with 2-1 to us as well, Moran & Lavine
    Last edited by galwaygirl; 29/08/2005 at 11:28 AM.

I'll agree with Terry and Galwaygirl....2-1 United.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

What school are you at, Vinny ?

In my youth, we were let off home at 4.00pm. It seems very harsh to keep students in after 5.15 pm

This sounds like one of galwaygirls "I'm cleaning my bathroom" or Eire06's "I've a feeling traffic will be bad" excuses

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    This sounds like one of galwaygirls "I'm cleaning my bathroom" or Eire06's "I've a feeling traffic will be bad" excuses
    i've never used an excuse like that PD
    and did i not say to you last week to definitely put my name down for goin??
    i'm even workin through my lunch tomorrow to get off early

Quote Originally Posted by galwaygirl
    i've never used an excuse like that PD
    and did i not say to you last week to definitely put my name down for goin??
    i'm even workin through my lunch tomorrow to get off early
    you mean surfing through your lunch ???

In my youth, we were let off home at 4.00pm. It seems very harsh to keep students in after 5.15 pm

The traffic was bad and I was coming from dublin and it happened once..
    Not all of us can wander in and out of our jobs when we feel like it ya brat ya

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Not all of us can wander in and out of our jobs when we feel like it ya brat ya
    Ironically, if everyone had a job PD would be out of one !!

Good one Terry

Hee hee

Thumbs down Excuses Excuses...

Nice 1 haha I cant go to Athlone cos I'm stuck in a hell hole called Dublin FFS FFS! I predict 2-0 United C'Mon United-ah forget it

75 Posts

Cool Or patrick Dunnes

"let them use Public Transport" It will be interesting to see which Galway United team turns up "Jekyll or Hyde".

Quote Originally Posted by Vinny
    I predict a 3-1 victory, can't make the match now unfortunetly, school etc
    Come on Vinny,get the finger out,I have school the next morning aswell
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Come on Vinny,get the finger out,I have school the next morning aswell
    Feck off cup

Teamnews:: Athlone Town v Galway United

http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/

United travel to play Athlone in Golden Island Park on Tuesday evening. Absent from the United squad will be Mixie Harty who is serving an automatic one match ban for his recent red card in the game against Dundalk.

ko:: 7.45pm, Aug 30th, Golden Island Park

Previous meetings this season
    >> League:: drew 1-1 (home) March 15th
    >> League:: won 2-1 (home) July 28th

From Athlone Town Fc website::

ATHLONE TOWN welcome Galway United to Golden Island
    Park tonight in a re-arranged First Division game.

Town are still looking for their first win under John Gill, but
    recent performances suggest that it isn't far away. Galway
    ran out 2 - 1 winners when the sides last met in what was
    Gill's first away game in charge. The sides will meet again
    on Friday September 30th, again in Golden Island Park.

Kick-off on Tuesday night is at the usual time of 7:45pm.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Quote Originally Posted by Vinny
    I got away and im able to go to athlone this evening, all see ya at fibbers
    I have to work till 6.30

But I do predict a 1-0 victory to us with moran with the only goal

2-0 to the home side, with Levine sent off.

Can we now hereby ban all predictions in this forum. LAst couple of nasty defeats have followed some foaming at the mouth by some of our fans ... well intentionned, but defeats coinciding too often with the more optimistic predictions.

else only allow people to forecast us getting slaughtered. that way if our predictions are so far out, then at least we will all be happy.

Athlone 2 Galway 0

Pure rubbish. Paid dearly for not taking earlier chances and the sending off of Lavine. A morale boosting win for Athlone. We now have been beaten the three worst teams in the country.

Amateur behaviour

In each of our last three games, a player has been sent off.
    Players deciding to take holidays in the middle of the season.
    No training.
    One player who started last night was seen out drinking on Sunday at 3.00pm, 7.30pm and 12.00pm. Less than 48 hours before a match.

I am disappointed at the supporters applauding Eric off last night. His lack of discipline, like Mixie the week before, cost us the game. Both himself and Colin Fortune are missing for Friday nights game. More fines for the club, more players on ther sideline.

The current situation is totally unacceptable. Our wage bill is twice the size of Athlone Town. Our "professionals" are a joke. Radical change is needed.