Thread: signings?

signings?

Read in the sentinel yesterday that we have 2 19 year olds training with us from Manchester City, anybody here anything else on this matter?

Apparently, they have signed

Was told last night that they were recommended by Phillip O'Reilly, who was at Manchester City before joining Stockport and then GUFC.

his mates so?

No, Terry ..

.. he was just with them at Man City. He told me himself that he hates them.

Formerly: wild rover
    barry o dwyer[cb] and sean purcell[rb] could be joining ye soon too

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    barry o dwyer[cb] and sean purcell[rb] could be joining ye soon too
    hear this from a good source did you?

any good? dont think we need players in those positions!

Please don't take offence, lads ..

.. but the day of United taking on rejects from surrounding clubs has to end.
    Last night we had David O'Dowd on the bench. He was released by Sligo Rovers as he was deemed surplus to requirements there, so he arrived at Galway. He has shown nothing this season to indicate he can contribute anything to future promotion challenges.

The likes of Frawley, O'Dowd have no place at the club. Better to have one professional player from Dublin who will deliver the goods than two sub-standard locals.

Few players are good enough......

...on our team to challenge for promotion next year.Goughie,Mixie and Willaimson(we let him go to Dublin) are the only players on or team who could seriously aid oor promotion hopes next year.Frawley,Lavine,Cleary etc are all a waste of space.We need to get rid of all them aswell as the likes of Jim Noone and re build for next season asap before we get stuck in this **** hole that is the 1st Division for a long time to come.Cobh,Sligo etc have all went from mid table ist division clubs to promotion challlenging sides,so can we.The club is moving forward,it's about time the team started doing so aswell.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

re:: Few players are good enough

Have to agree with the posting of Conor H,
    we should get tough and have a total clear out, too many passengers for
    too long. Our current squad have had too many chances and have it too easy.

Gough and Harty deserve to stay, probably would keep Moran and give Rojas and O'Donovan a chance.

Eventhough O'Dowd is an average player he at least tries his hardest which
    cannot be said about most of the others.

24 Posts

Thumbs down players no leadership

last nights performance has to be on of the most dis orgainised i have seen in years from a galway side.time to say goodby to o*brien he cant pass or cross a ball had a great chance late in first half sent the ball out of the ground from 6yds just not up to it at this level.cleary,casey,frawley,are others not putting it in.our passing last night was childish and out set pieces wer non existant no one knew what was happening.
    its time now for a clearout and start getting the basics right for next season everyone else in the club are working hard lets see some players take soime responsablity now

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    hear this from a good source did you?
    you know the source

United have signed two English youngsters during the week. Manchester duo Tyrone Grant and Dean Sellers joined the club for the rest of the season.

no new signings

United have not signed any new players, they did try to sign
    the two Man City players but due to some paperwork problems (I think) they were not signed.

75 Posts

Well thats news to me

but nothing would surprise me anymore.

The 2 lads were at friday's game though.Was the deal not finalised on thursday?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    you know the source
    Who would that be then? . The Stars, pm me