Thread: Cheerio FAI Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    17th of September. Can't wait
    Well you'll have to wait. We have a big UEFA cup game in Prague on the 15th so the Longford game will have to be postponed but of course it's say for you to forget about all things European when you follow a club like Longford!
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    Regarding a scorer, it is not just important that you get one to capitalise on your excellent defensive display. It is also important to make your style of football more attractive. I can only comment on the games ye have played against CCFC in Turners Cross over the last two seasons, and the one at Flancare around last April. In those games, especially this season, it was not pretty. Turns people off going to football matches if the attitude is to come looking for a point, when three are there for the taking.

No now that is where you are wrong. The football each week in Flancare is top class rivetting and sintillating hoofing synonymous with Alan Matthews. Dont be giving out about the football from the best manager in the league.

Not half as sad as blowing it! And watching those 'puny little nothing clubs' turn your season into a train wreck.

BTW Bring it on. Gimme your best choker boy.
    You've been blowing off all over this forum for the last while. It's extremely tedious to read the same drivel from you over and over again. Get this straight - I like Longford, it's fans, it's ground etc. What I don't like is the shíte spouted by you and 1 or 2 others who give your fans a bad name.
    Be careful about making predictions that might come back to bite you in the arse.
    If you wanna give it you gotta take it.... and you can't take it.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    Im delighted Longford are out too...

Nothing agounst your club but Alan Matthews does not deserve to have another shot at the UEFA Cup. If he is going to send teams out to lose to Swiss 2nd division and Carmakers from Wales then the coefficient will never rise!

Only problem is now that it could be UCD in the UEFA Cup
    Im sorry longford but Im happy too.

539 Posts
    im gutted that our good form in the cups has gone and we are out! very disappointing but what goes around comes around! we have being blessed in cup competiions over the last two seasons.

whats killing us is not having a pacy striker , before barrett got injured he was approaching his best form and we have lacked pace up front. Baker was very impressive last night why does he not play like that earlier in da season and dislodge that waster myler who doesnt do nothing up front! fair dues to sponge ball square pants(keego) who has being excellent this season but we do miss a quality goalpoacher like mr francis a few years ago. we always sign players that are slightly pass their sell by dates!

murph has being a big loss he made some great runs from defence and gough is not a patch on him-imo i think he is a panic buy from matthews!

matthews should cast his net over the scottish ,northern ireland markets,welsh markets. Ye all saw ivan sproule scoring a hattrick against rangers at the weekend and he was signed from institiute by hibs! felix healy befoe he got sacked tried desparately to sign him! he would have being the perfect player to sign for us!

i think a few players will have to move over the coming season and start again from scratch and learn to appreciate the jersey! davy byrne should never have signed for us and why tinker the team too much?

heres hoping for a good end of season anyway in the league and please may we score more than one goal on friday as I am rapidly losing patience.

no wonder the good soccer public in longford are staying away at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    Only problem is now that it could be UCD in the UEFA Cup
    Have a check on our European record.

Just imagine the team if we still had Garto, Francis and Murph !! (and Barrett fit.) Its a pity our luck in the cup ran out & I'd say the revenue from the UEFA will be badly missed - we might still qualify for the Setanta via the league.
    We shouldn't lose perspective here though. We haven't lost in the league at home since the defeat to Shel$ on April 19th. That is a fantastic achievement, if only for the fact that we have cured our disastrous perennial home form. We are facing the last series of games sitting pretty in fourth. What we need to do now is throw all caution to the wind and go for it. We have nothing to lose. The worst we can do is finish mid-table. So Matthews should throw off the shackles & give Mooney, Baker & Keego their break & go for it. We cannot sit back & defend now - Barry might be out for the rest of the season with a broken wrist & after his schoolboy error the other night I have absolutely no confidence in Gough.

If any of you guys honestly think matthews is going to throw caution to the wind in games you are even more braindead than i thought. We will always be a second rate team under his guidance. The main reason we are not scoring is simply because we defend far too deeply in gamees and are expected to break/counter attack quickly. This is not working and never will you need pace up front which we dont have in myler keego or baker and whether you like it or not those three are not good enough and were all signed from matthews.