View Poll Results: How drunk do you prefer to be when you watch your team play?

Voters
118. You may not vote on this poll
  • Stoney Cold Sober - The football is good enough for me.

42 35.59%
  • A Little Tipsy - A few looseners to get me singing, but I'm still in control.

63 53.39%
  • Mickey Monk - You don't expect me to watch that sh!te sober, do you?

9 7.63%
  • Thrashed - Enough pints inside me to shag Anne Doyle.*

3 2.54%
  • Blotto - Enough pints inside me to shag Robbie Doyle.*

1 0.85%

Thread: Drinking Culture in the EL

Due to the fact that I have to drive to most games due to my location its usually no.1 for me unfortunately.But for Cup finals or European games I usually do my best to have a few pints beforehand.

Bohs Till I Die!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    For me depends if it is home or away and who we are playing but it can vary from 1 to 5 I'm afraid
    Does Robbie Doyle know?!

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Does Robbie Doyle know?!

he wont admit it,but he knows

I don't drink much at games, but like to have 3 or 4 to get me to start opening my mouth. Otherwise I'm not in any way vocal, unfortunately. So, in fact, its for the good of the team that I have some pints before the match, and at least one top up at half time!
    God

2 for me, I like a few pints in the glen after, before the mad dash for the bus, unless I'm driving... no pints then, though you'd be gasping
    Ní neart go cur le chéile...

Keith

2 for me as well although I've reached 3 (or maybe even 4 ) at some away games.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    (or maybe even 4 )
    That'll be grant week then will it?

ususally 2-but like getting locked anyway (especially away trips) but not specifically because the football is shiite

Sometimes 1 sometimes 2 on home games, 3 for away games. Depends really, I prefer an after match pint really.

Usually 2 for me.I love a few pints before the game especially in Fagans.I usually have to drive back to Longford from work at breakneck speeds to make the Bus to the away matches so the first few pints hit the spot just right.A few in Kinnegad on the way back and the mood is on me for several more beverages.Get to Longford and into the local and get as drunk as a monkey.Wake up the following morning and spend hlf the day looking for the car because i was a "cute whore" the night before and parked the car somewhere safe.It's almost a ritual at this stage.
    On a seperate note,i think it's great where most fans of opposing teams can meet in a bar before,during and after a match and have a few beers together with any bother.It's this that is great about the EL and i for one would hate to see it any other way.
    Last edited by Wiseguy; 31/08/2005 at 3:45 PM.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

101 Posts
    No. 2 for me during game increasing to a No. 3/4 after the match.

84 Posts
    No. 2 usually a few pints before the game with the opposing fans is part and parcel of tbeing a LOI fan for me.

Although I have expierenced all levels from 1-5

And depending on the result anything from 5 and up after the game
    Last edited by Neish; 31/08/2005 at 7:48 PM.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

I never knew ye all drank with opposing fans so much. The only set of fans we always do that with is Derry.
    Champions!

Don't drink with awy fans but if they're in the same pub I'll have a chat... bit like when you're in McDowells Colm

at home matches depending on the mood 2-3 with me and maybe the odd 4 after a quick nip too many! away because i drive from carrick to longford i tend to not to drink any more at away matches!

section os best moments have being when we were hammered like vaduz game and carmarthen game this year!

couple of pints before the game and a few cans of linden village from the yella house for during usually gets me up for a bit of linesman baiting

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    I never knew ye all drank with opposing fans so much. The only set of fans we always do that with is Derry.
    We had a good rip with the Cork fans this year in Finn Park for the first game of the season - before and after the match. We'd a real late one in the Junction with five or six of the Cork lads that were staying.

Rovers, Drogheda, Longford, Bohs, Derry and Cork. We've all met up for pints this season in our local when we're playing at home.

Rovers, Drogs and Derry of course are the best of craic though - the rest of yis drink like wuss's

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    We had a good rip with the Cork fans this year in Finn Park for the first game of the season - before and after the match. We'd a real late one in the Junction with five or six of the Cork lads that were staying.
    yea that was a good night alrite, we were staying upstairs in the junction and
    remember walking in after a few pints up the stairs but took a wrong turn and walked in on your supporters meeting
    had a drink with ye after we got back from bono's gig down the road for after hours in the junction..
    have dranks with bohs in dayler and drogs and longford away too
    life is random

be interesting to see how many Derry fans make it out to the Prague game....chuckle

Usually number 1 or 2 for me, depending on where the game is on. Although now that we're back in Whitehall the prices of the drink alone could have me anywhere from 3 on ...Although probably not enough for a "Doyle sandwich"