Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Paul McShane

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    The eleven-a-side article does not mention a fee being agreed yet.

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrosst...p?newsid=28201

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Seems like McShane will be a Sunderland player before the weekend. Fee has been agreed with West Brom.
    Great move, Keane has always shown a keen interest in and being impressed by McShane from the time he arrived as a trainee at Old Trafford.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

great move for him and for us... hell have a chane to really establish himself
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Been inpressed by him at centre back with Ireland. Type of player we love up here in the North East. He gives 100% & rarely does anything wrong. Does anyone know the fee? Also heard Keane has made a bd for Stephen Carr.

2,796 Posts
    I met Robbie Keane 2 years ago & told him McShane was good. He'd never heard of him!

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SunderlandBohs View Post
    Also heard Keane has made a bd for Stephen Carr.
    From http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...rd-798096.html
    And Keane's green-fingered dealings won't stop there as the former Irish international is pursuing Newcastle's unsettled full-back Stephen Carr as he looks to assemble a squad at the Stadium of Light capable of prospering in the top flight.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    I've heard the Carr story is a journo make up but could be wrong. The player I believe Keane is switching his intentions to is Kevin Doyle. Thats only if Nugent decides to stay on at Preston and wait for Everton to come in for him. Lita is "only" being offered 20 grand a week. So Doyle must be on something close to that figure. I'm sure sunderland can better that.

2,796 Posts
    Regarding Nugent, and Elliott going to WBA:

Last season David Nugent scored 15 goals in the Championship & was credited with 5 assists from 42 starts, 1 sub appearance.

In 2004/5 Stephen Elliott scored 16 goals in the Championship & was credited with 5 assists from 29 starts & 13 sub apperances.

Why is one worth £6 million, the other £1 million?

cos that was last season and elliot has been injured on and off for 2 seasons?!?!

or are you alluding to the english thing again stuts, i dont think it can be in this case....

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Regarding Nugent, and Elliott going to WBA:

Last season David Nugent scored 15 goals in the Championship & was credited with 5 assists from 42 starts, 1 sub appearance.

In 2004/5 Stephen Elliott scored 16 goals in the Championship & was credited with 5 assists from 29 starts & 13 sub apperances.

Why is one worth £6 million, the other £1 million?
    I agree! When Sleeves is fully fit he's top class. The reason one worth £6m & the other is worth £1m is because one is English the other isn't. If Keane is to pay big money on a forward I'd rather it was Doyle. Doyle is only valued at £8m. That's a bargain for proven prem striker!

2,796 Posts
    I'm not blind to Elliott's injury record, but I think if a young English lad did what Elliott did 2 years ago Premiership clubs would pay an arm and a leg for him.

I'd like to hear what the Sunderland watchers (the old ones like Zinedine) think of Elliott. I saw him once last year - at Loftus Road against QPR - and he worked his socks off out of position on the right & was arguably Sunderland's best player, behind Leadbitter anyway.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 27/06/2007 at 4:20 PM.

Elliott wasn't our best player last year. I can think of at least 6 players who were better. But the previous 2 season was by far our best player along with Deano. Even this season when he was fit he showed he good he was. Chipping in with a few vital goals. But that's the lads problem. He can never get a run of games because he always seems to pick up injuries to often.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Elliott wasn't our best player last year. I can think of at least 6 players who were better. But the previous 2 season was by far our best player along with Deano. Even this season when he was fit he showed he good he was. Chipping in with a few vital goals. But that's the lads problem. He can never get a run of games because he always seems to pick up injuries to often.

ANother problem is that he is a midget. Not too many major vertically challenged forwards succeed (Maradona apart) at the top level.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    ANother problem is that he is a midget. Not too many major vertically challenged forwards succeed (Maradona apart) at the top level.
    True! Over looked that part!

I agree! When Sleeves is fully fit he's top class. The reason one worth £6m & the other is worth £1m is because one is English the other isn't. If Keane is to pay big money on a forward I'd rather it was Doyle. Doyle is only valued at £8m. That's a bargain for proven prem striker!
    The reason is that he is injury prone and hasn't been playing regular football recently.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    The reason is that he is injury prone and hasn't been playing regular football recently.
    That's the main. I haven't gone away from that. My point is when Elliott is fully fit he is just as good as Nugent. Either is worth £6m, far from it. But if Sleeves can get fit & stay injury free he can be a bargain at £1m. Any this is Paul McShane's thread not Elliott's.

2,796 Posts
    A midget who scored 16 goals in 29 starts in his first season, many of them crucial, not the 4th or 5th goal in facile wins.

Those 16 goals included goals of all types, distance, poachers' tap ins, headers, 1-on-1s, the lot. In fact he may be a shortarse but he can head a ball. Robbie take note.

Sunderlandbohs, there was a crucial game late in the 2004/5 season (Ipswich away?) where Sunderland were 2-1 down late on. Do you remember?

A rightsided midfielder sent a deep ball to the back post to Deane (I think). I was watching Elliott, he sprinted 25 yards to the other post. Lo & behold Deane headed the ball into space across the goal where Elliott headed it in to equalise. They went on to win. That was pure goalscorer's instinct. It looked like a tap in but there was far more to it than that.

If fit & if trusted, he'll score goals for anyone. I'll post FIFA's description of him after UAE 2003 again if anyone wants.eirebhoy had Richie Patridge & I'll be singing Elliott's praise for a long time to come.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 27/06/2007 at 8:58 PM.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Sunderlandbohs, there was a crucial game late in the 2004/5 season (Ipswich away?) where Sunderland were 2-1 down late on. Do you remember?

A rightsided midfielder sent a deep ball to the back post to Deane (I think). I was watching Elliott, he sprinted 25 yards to the other post. Lo & behold Deane headed the ball into space across the goal where Elliott headed it in to equalise. They went on to win. That was pure goalscorer's instinct. It looked like a tap in but there was far more to it than that.
    Was it this game - http://www.soccerbase.com/results3.sd?gameid=450008
    Finished 2-2, Ipswich went 1-0 up, only for Elliott to equalise minutes later. Robinson then put them 2-1 up, and Darren Bent equalised late on for Ipswich

That's the main. I haven't gone away from that. My point is when Elliott is fully fit he is just as good as Nugent. Either is worth £6m, far from it. But if Sleeves can get fit & stay injury free he can be a bargain at £1m.
    I agree that neither is worth £6m. Nugent's price has gone up because a number of clubs are after him.

The last time I saw Elliott play he was the best player on the pitch. Against Southampton. Think he went off injured at half time though.

Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast