Excellent result for yis lads, congratulations. Hopefully we'll be joinin' ye in the final!!
I think I am entitled to be excited given the brand new importance this competition has undertaken since this afternoon. One game away from the Setanta Cup! Linfield and Glens are quaking in their boots.I had an exciting 5 minutes with aertel (never thought I'd say that). After the game was over it showed Shels were winning 1-0 with a Hawkins 86th min goal. A refresh later and it showed we'd equalised. Another one and we'd taken the lead in the 92nd minute. I assumed it was extra time. Another one showed it was a final result! I hope it was an U-21 team against their seniors.
Excellent result for yis lads, congratulations. Hopefully we'll be joinin' ye in the final!!
Well done, when I saw 1-0 to shels I nearly fell from the seat when I checked again and saw 1-2!
First time UCD has made me happy....![]()
well done pete mahon doing a super job at u.c.d. What kind of a team had shels got out.![]()
stick with me i"ll make you wich
[SIZE=7]Brilliant[/SIZE]![]()
Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!
Well done lads - well deserved!
Good luck in the Final!
Kom Igen, FCK...
Good game lads. On the basis of last night, Shelbourne wouldn 't have deserved to have gone through.
Two defensive errors for your goals, caused by lack of concentration. All night, not a single player seemed to give a damn. Infuriating.
Best of luck in the final, I for one am rooting to see ye in the Setanta Cup!![]()
God
What a fantastic result!!!
Absolutley thrilled, I think we did about three minutes worth of Pete Mahon's blue and drunk army after the final whistle.
Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com
well done...you now have the chance of joining the list of great sides to have won this competition since the turn of the century....![]()
I nearly cared towards the end.![]()
In fairness had it not been for the finish, it would have been a really boring match. As someone said above, the players didn't seem to care too much. Shels had a full strength team out (no game this weekend anyway) and we had a few changes from the Rovers game: Quigley; Mahon, O'Donnell, Shorthall, McNally; Gannon, McWalter, McDonnell, Dicker; Dupuy (someone!), Harte (Martin).
Robbie's winner was great. He took about a minute to put the ball in after rounding the keeper.![]()
It would seem Pineapple is still in shock from last night so there is a link to an extensive report on the match below for anyone interested.
http://www.irishfootballonline.com/n...hp?newsid=3448
Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!
Lads dont forget to start the cheering for Derry
as if they win you are in the Setanta cup either way
as Derry will get in by finishing second!
To the best of my knowledge that's wrong. If Derry win today and win the final we get feck all and 3rd place in the league gets into the Setanta. Possibly Shels in fact.Originally Posted by hoops1
Delighted for ya's lads ! fair play![]()
That's my understanding too so I'm hoping Longford win and Shels don't get into the Setanta. If I'm wrong then come on Derry!Originally Posted by Poor Student
There's also the problem of the final most likely being held in either the Brandywell or Flansiro. It's not going to be an enticing prospect making your way to Derry on a week day. The plus side of Longford winning is an easier opponent, closer game and no Shels in Setanta. Negative is that cup finals are their turf. Only positive of Derry winning is that there's a minute possibility it means we qualify but I'm 99% certain the rules state we won't or surely will be made to be that way by the time they get around to announcing details.Originally Posted by Schumi
Yeah, but of a late night last night! In the bar in Tolka till 12:30 or thereabouts.Originally Posted by student
Will put up a report later today, though that link is a very good report alright. Love the picture of the players celebrating!
I love the look of horror on the fans behind the goal as Martin is putting the ball into the net.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
All I could think of when he was heading towards the empty goal was that he was going to miss!![]()